what will be your plans on Grand Final day ?

Missus is in Queensland with family (good 'cause she follows the Cats) . . sooooo, will be watching by myself with my two boys, one a Cats supporter and one a Hawk. This I don't mind too much because they both used to go for the Weagles until they woke up to their druggie culture. Cats supporting son does have soft spot for the Hawks (only 'cause he hates to see his old man upset!).

Will be settling in with an early lunch at home (footy hot dogs in buns) with the big screen and surround sound pumped, phones turned off and esky at the ready. GO HAWKS!!!!

PS one of the good things about living in the West is that we don't have to wait until 3/4 of the way through the day to watch the game - 12 noon comes up pretty quickly. Also with the cook away it means that I can sit on the couch and watch all the football goodness that leads into the game!

Grab the swag and head down to gate 2 around 10pm Friday night, join the queue and get a few hours sleep. Pray it doesn't rain too much, brave the cold morning, get the usual seat in front of the coaches box on level 2 when the gates open at 8am, then head home to make sure the 38 1/2 week pregnant missus hasn't spat the baby out. Then I'll get her to drive me in to the game around 12, have a few beers with mates and enjoy the game. If we win I will be out on the ground for the premiership party, if not, it's home to drown my sorrows in peace.

Good luck with that mate. I'm pretty precious with my sleep so I won't be aiming to arrive at the ground until about 6:30. For the 1st 2010 GF between the Pies and Saints I arrived at the same time and got seats halfway back on the top level which I'm hoping means I'll get the same or better for this game. My day for Saturday:

5:00 am: Get out of bed and catch the train to the ground. I I live almost an hour train ride from Richmond so it'll be pretty much out of bed off to the station.
6:30: Arrive at the ground get and get in the line at gate 2.
8:00-8:30: Get my seat.
9:00: arrive at a mates home close to ground, chill and charge up my phone.
10:30 Go out for brunch with the above mate.
12:00 Meet up with my brother who will be in standing room and either go back to ground for beers or to a pub. In 2008 I drank a bit more before the game than I would of liked so I'll try and limit it to about 4 stubbies or 3 pints.
14:00 be seated and take in the build up.

After the game I'm sure that I'll end up at the Casino. If we win it will be later in the night rather than sooner. I enjoyed the atmosphere at the bars and pubs around fed square after the game in 2008 so I might end up there. If I feel like staying at the ground with my brother than we might have some post game pints at the bullring bar.

Just knocked back 2 tix Level 1 Row F Section 52:( , wish I didn't come down for the first final against the Pies.
Staying home, Hawthorn mates only, sick of people wanting to catch up, this is not a social event this is serious.
Yep I am going into lockdown. Cold beers putting my legendary culinary skills to work. Knocked back heaps of party invites in '08.........best thing I did.......no distractions. Same has happened this year invited to a party which will have a thousand kids at it. Might pop over after the final siren though. :)

I will start off by being a very attentive father and spend some quality time with the 14 month old. I will let the mum sleep in and make a hearty breakfast for us and we'll all have a really nice time on Skype with her family in Canada and through all this I will not be at all distracted. Put daughter down for a nap. Fiancé and I will have a relaxed root.

By now I am the perfect father/lover/boyfriend/everything and I am off, on my way to smash it like a starving pirate, for hopefully 24 hours.

Working in the morning, watching the game at home, then going back to work later in the day. FML. I don't know if I want family around me as I watch, i'll be a mess.

Starts 930pm Friday here in Vancouver so I''ll work and head to my local footy club function at an Irish bar. Lol. If we win party into the night. If we lose drown my sorrows so I don't remember a thing...........fat chicks beware.

I will start off by being a very attentive father and spend some quality time with the 14 month old. I will let the mum sleep in and make a hearty breakfast for us and we'll all have a really nice time on Skype with her family in Canada and through all this I will not be at all distracted. Put daughter down for a nap. Fiancé and I will have a relaxed root.

By now I am the perfect father/lover/boyfriend/everything and I am off, on my way to smash it like a starving pirate, for hopefully 24 hours.

Gold.

BBQ at mates place, down a few beers and scotches (when the kids aren't about).

Unfortunately didn't get a ballot ticket but I'll make the best of the day no matter what! Go Hawks!

Flying down tomorrow after work and spending the night with the folks. Going with my Dad who used to support South Melbourne but became a Hawk convert after taking me to all the Hawks games in the 80s. Haven't been to GF since 08 and before that 91.

Been feeling pretty flat all week and putting it down to the wife who keeps reminding me how much I owe her for leaving her alone with our 16 month old :p

Can't wait for the first beer.

GO HAWKS!

Plans were to be sitting on the second level of the southern stand, on the wing.

But have Glangular fever now so my Dad is taking a mate.

Watching from my Grandma's living room!

Shit happens, had a front row seat in m18 in 2008, so I've had my fun.

Carn the Brown and Gold!

I'm in Afghanistan haha but we are going to get to watch it live here with the boys - game starts at 9:30am here so not as long as you guys to wait when I wake up which is good for the nerves!

If you're over there for reasons I think then stay safe and I'll send a big thanks to you and your mates there for your service !

I'm working til 12 noon then locking up at 12:01 ! Picking up kid and joining gf for a lovely lunch somewhere, then head home around 2pm via a bottle shop. I'll also make plans to get to Glenferrie or wherever the Sunday event is. The mobile will go off at 2:30 and I'll basically be couch bound til 6pm.

I hope everyone has a memorable day for all the right reasons. Go Hawks !!

I'm in Afghanistan haha but we are going to get to watch it live here with the boys - game starts at 9:30am here so not as long as you guys to wait when I wake up which is good for the nerves!

All the very best - hope your team wins and come home safe:thumbsu:

For those in town/going to the game, any recommendations for good pub/bar to hit up 11am-1pm.
Have seen Beer Deluxe get a tick, is the London in Richmond worth a look? Any Hawk friendly venues as it seems all neutrals are on the Swans.

Hope you have a good time over there, maybe you could let fly a few fireworks after Hawthorn win lol

Stay safe and have a good trip back

Hopefully my mum takes my kids for the afternoon cos i try to avoid them seeing me act like a raving lunatic.
Then to put some deodarent on and sit next to the missus on the couch and watch the game through the cracks of my fingers.:thumbsu:

Having a BBQ at my parents house beforehand, then handballing the baby to daddy (who's not an AFL nut) and watching the game with my brother whilst downing a few ciders, can't wait!

I'm in Barcelona. Awesome city but I'd prefer to be back home this week. There's a pub here, the philharmonic, that is opening at 6am to play the game LIVE. I've got my 2012 members scarf and I'll be flying the colours over here. By the way, there are big apartment buildings here, where every balcony has brown and gold striped shade blinds. There are whole city blocks decked out in Hawthorn colours. I'm choosing to believe that all of Barcelona supports the mighty Hawks!

what will be your plans on Grand Final day ?