• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

My Grandma could get a kick in that league.

let alone an-ex AFL player......so he should of dominated.
Interesting you say that max, there are a few average ex grfl players now playing regular senior footy in the bendigo footy league. Shane Harvey would dominate the BFL and probably kick 50+ on your grandmother

I hear max's grandmother plays a tight, accountable brand of football and would have the pace to keep up with Shane Harvey. I think she would have his measure.

No doubt he would kick a heap....I just said so he should kick a big in that league.

Who are the ex GRFL players Sep??

NORTH CITY V GISBORNE – Gisborne by > 80 points
At AUSTAR ARENA. Whoever thinks this game will be close is either a one-eyed North supporter or a tweaker… or both.
mate if you'd seen austar arena lately or even travelled up to ballarat lately you would know that there is no chance of a blow out in the conditions the 2 sides will face tomorrow... gisborne could very well dominate the game but would still struggle to kick 80 points let alone win by that margin

Yep, u have mentioned a few former AFL players at Gissy, B-Boy but one got under the guard.
Ben Ingleton, ex-Sainter, didnt set the world on fire in 2001 Hardly got on the park if memory serves right and I think they won only 3 or 4 games that year when he was the playing coach
Gardiner Reserve was definitely NOT The Graveyard in 2001 :eek:

:confused: And during his time at Gis. Aaron James might have been kept under control by Mickey McG. He tended to be a bit like Ty Z. off the park, did he not :confused:

on the subject of ex-AFL players being good value to clubs the 2 Peters --- Bradbury and Curran --- were favourite sons at South Bgo
Ex Brissie Bears bloke Waterson did OK at Eaglehawk, too. These 3 all in the 90s, altho Bradbury did start in 1989 at South when they were r-up to the Square in the big one

I'm going to tip CASTLEMAINE tommorrow to roll Eaglehawk at the Maine and no O'Reilly and Herdman two ultra important players to the Burra line up. In addition to this I think the Burra are cherry ripe to get rolled and the Pies are playing some good footy. Castlemaine to win by 14 pts.

Other games South by 5 points over Marybrough. Bloods will find it tough work with a few out.
Sandhurst to nut Golden Sqaure by 9 points the Dragons just seem to be travelling the better at this stage.
Kyneton will pip by Flat by 3 points.
Gisbourne to beat North by 43 points in miserable cold conditions.

mate if you'd seen austar arena lately or even travelled up to ballarat lately you would know that there is no chance of a blow out in the conditions the 2 sides will face tomorrow... gisborne could very well dominate the game but would still struggle to kick 80 points let alone win by that margin

Well Blondie, I lived in Ballarat for a long time and was glad to get out of the place. I know the Roosters ground well. As for whether Gisborne will kick more than 80 points, well, we'll see tomorrow won't we?:cool:

can't see how any1 could kick a big score in the conditions that u've been describing mr blond... but obviously gisborne have proven themselves to be one of the yardsticks of the competition over the past few seasons, this contest will give the north city boys the best indication yet of where there at, but i think ur a bit optimistic blondie

Well Blondie, I lived in Ballarat for a long time and was glad to get out of the place. I know the Roosters ground well. As for whether Gisborne will kick more than 80 points, well, we'll see tomorrow won't we?:cool:
mate i said lately... atm the extremely soft northern oval surface is covered by a rather thick layer of water, which will result in an extremely poor surface by the time the reserves play let alone the seniors... obviously theres no way i can criticise this gisborne side after the thrashing they gave the city boys earlier in the year, but trust me the conditions will be the worst we have seen all year by a mile

she is certainly not that

Playing in the grfl myself , i can tell you that even though shane harvey does dominate and the coin he receives to play is massive. his attitude on the ground is very questionable. Heard with my own ears he was asked to move on to the ball from the coach, when the game was tied with about three minutes to go. he told the coach that he was not moving any where, wakool lost the next clearence and the match, not saying that Harvey could of prevented it, thus his being in the middle at this time would of made it alot more difficult for the opposition. Is it really worth spending so much money on a player that does not respect the coaches orders. Yes they won the premiership last year but they are just holding on to fourth spot by a draw this season. Also rumour flying around up there is that wakool are just about broke.:thumbsu:

Can you elaborate on how he goes Hank?

Your typical ruckman, not the smartest bloke, but has been one of the better ruckmen in the bendigo, heathcote and loddon valley leagues, could probably still be benificial to a minor league club who are in need of an old-style ruckmen.
Slow, can fire up, not a bad overhead mark, but his best work is done in the ruck as you would expect, one area where he could say he was smart!.

Your typical ruckman, not the smartest bloke, but has been one of the better ruckmen in the bendigo, heathcote and loddon valley leagues, could probably still be benificial to a minor league club who are in need of an old-style ruckmen.
Slow, can fire up, not a bad overhead mark, but his best work is done in the ruck as you would expect, one area where he could say he was smart!.

Thanks for that hank, we have signed him for the rest of the season at Narrandera in the RFL should be handy for us as long as he can put it down the throat of our midfield we will be happy and should put us in good stead for a crack at the flag.
Cheers

finally castlemaine have secured the upset they have been edging closer and closer to over the last few weeks with a win over eaglehawk... sth bendigo over maryborough by a few goals... kynetons win over k'flat may dull the calls for nev to step down... and gisborne defeated a far from disgraced north city by around 12 goals in from all reports surprisingly good conditions at the AUSTAR ARENA, u may have underestimated ur town on producing decent weather mr.blonde

BLONDIE -- Flat led all day until crunch time i.e. the last quarter.
The Flat had a 21 point lead 1/4 time, 16 point buffer at the half but back to just 4 points at 3/4 time.
Young blokes McNish and Crowe just ran out of legs in the last -- understandable given their high workrate for 3 quarters, and the Flat could not hold Ruffell (5 gls) and Cam. Tate (4 goals) up forward.
Good signs there for the Flat, tho, and our webmate Cavey should not be too disappointed.
The Talking Goat, on the other hand, will be devastated now that 1/. the Glider 2s got beaten by the Bullants and 2/. "Where's My Free Kick, Ump." Lloydie's mob got towelled by the Doggies Sat. night.

North City had a bloke by the name of Brett Goodes play for them on a permit from Dimboola yesterday, brother of Adam i believe, close to the best player on the ground in the first half until he ran out of batteries. Be a real handy pick up for Nth if they get him to play next year.