What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Picklesmeoldmate said:
no problems pal, i'm here to help. so tell me, who do you think will win the lightning premiership. i still like rochester myself

Well of course mate I'm thinking South Bendigo. Haven't seen Rochy play for a few years and have never seen Echuca so am unaware up their talent or form so that should be interesting. Also have a gut feeling about Golden Square and for a smokey I'd say the Flat.

So they're my tips: South/Golden Square
And for a smokey: Kangaroo Flat

melbdocker said:
hi i am from the dvfl but have extended family who play at north kyeton footy club just wondering is it worth it to come up one weekend and check out the tigers or will they struggle?

People think they are certainties to struggle but I think they will be competetive. I know everyone who reads this will bite back but I have a close insider who is saying they will be alright.

Injury concern for Rosa
Wednesday, 22 March 2006

STAR Golden Square recruit Luke Rosa will have his hand examined next week after injuring it in the club's practice match win over Goulburn Valley Football League side Kyabram at the weekend.

Rosa came off the ground in the final quarter with the injury to his hand, but coach Darren Walsh says the club won't know the extent of the damage until next week.

'‘Hopefully, it's not a long-term injury," Walsh, who sat out the game, said yesterday.

Up until he was forced off the ground, Rosa had been the Bulldogs' best player.

Rosa was the first big signing of the All Seasons Bendigo Football League pre-season after crossing from the Warrack Eagles to Golden Square, where he will be an assistant coach to Walsh.

Golden Square beat Kyabram by four goals, despite not scoring in the final term.

‘‘We wasted a lot of opportunities and committed a lot of turnovers, but I guess that's part of playing your first practice match," Walsh said.

‘‘Kyabram provided good opposition; they had bigger bodies and were a little taller, but we played well."Along with Rosa, other in-form players for Golden Square included Stacy Fiske, Anthony Holdstock, Christian Carter and ruckman Wes Pye, another Bulldogs' recruit.The Bulldogs will play their next practice match this Saturday at home against Geelong Football League club North Shore, who finished third last year.

In other BFL news, full-forward Steven Reaper will play with Kyneton this year.

Last month, Reaper told The Advertiser it was unlikely he would line up for the Tigers during the 2006 season.

But Kyneton coach Neville Massina yesterday said he expected to get at least 14 games out of Reaper, who is also on the selection committee for the VCFL team that will contest this year's Australian Country Football Championships, to be held on the Gold Coast from July 28 to 30.

Toadfooty said:
People think they are certainties to struggle but I think they will be competetive. I know everyone who reads this will bite back but I have a close insider who is saying they will be alright.
i'm swinging a bit with you coz, i think the tigers might surprise a few. now for something different, did anyone listen to sen during last year and what they did was match two players up agaisnt each other, i.e cousins and hird, and listeners had to sms in and vote for who they would pick in their side out of the two. let's try it with the bfl, i will post a couple of different match-ups each day, and people can write who they would choose.
let's start with a rucking duel:
BRETT COOK V JOHN HARDINGE
who would you pick and why?

Picklesmeoldmate said:
i'm swinging a bit with you coz, i think the tigers might surprise a few. now for something different, did anyone listen to sen during last year and what they did was match two players up agaisnt each other, i.e cousins and hird, and listeners had to sms in and vote for who they would pick in their side out of the two. let's try it with the bfl, i will post a couple of different match-ups each day, and people can write who they would choose.

I'd have to say Cook just for his experience at the highest level

Picklesmeoldmate said:

Cook, just a very hard worker and I agree with Norfolks point, (Right on the Money:thumbsu:)

Hey I just want to write about some of the under achievers in the bfl starting off with kynetons Darren Chambers i think he will have a fair crack at the Mickolson Medal in a kyneton team that is going to struggle he will he and brett cook will kill it in kynetons best and fairest..

Also was castlemaine now south Bedigo Leigh Rees is known as a good player but people dont see him as good as what he really is and i think that he should be the favourite for the Mickolson medal.

Heres my order for the Mickolson medal

Leigh Rees
Luke Saunders
Darren Chambers

do people agree with me

:) Breaking news, boyz.
G Square asst coach. Luke Rosa will be back for Rd 1 on Easter Saturday.
Hurt his hand in an "altercation" with a Kyabrom opponent during the Doggies handy praccy match win last weekend.
So expect Rosa to be on the park for the game against Gissie in Round 1.

davis24 said:
Hey I just want to write about some of the under achievers in the bfl starting off with kynetons Darren Chambers i think he will have a fair crack at the Mickolson Medal in a kyneton team that is going to struggle he will he and brett cook will kill it in kynetons best and fairest..

Also was castlemaine now south Bedigo Leigh Rees is known as a good player but people dont see him as good as what he really is and i think that he should be the favourite for the Mickolson medal.

Heres my order for the Mickolson medal

Leigh Rees
Luke Saunders
Darren Chambers

do people agree with me

You'd be alright Davis if you could spell!:D

Picklesmeoldmate said:
Here's another one for you fellas:
LUKE SAUNDERS V KAIN ROBINS

I'd go Robins just. Saunders is a gun, the best player i saw in the bfl last year. But with an afl pre season and a couple of years at the bombers, i'd go Robins. Keep em coming oldmate. BTW, spelling isn't exactly a pre requisite on this forum toadfish. Judging by some of your comments, i'd say intelligence isn't either. Peace out.

What are people's thoughts on Aaron Hawkins? I believe he is the most overrated footballer that has ever played in league. If there is ever a bloke to make a reputation for himself, by himself then hawks your man. He(and the teams that waste their money on him) is lucky there is a fence on all grounds to keep the sheepdog in. He is possibly the worst player to ever grace a VFL football ground and it is a blight on the coaches that picked him. I've never seen a bloke talk himself up more either.... Your thoughts?

Bowser said:
What are people's thoughts on Aaron Hawkins? I believe he is the most overrated footballer that has ever played in league. If there is ever a bloke to make a reputation for himself, by himself then hawks your man. He(and the teams that waste their money on him) is lucky there is a fence on all grounds to keep the sheepdog in. He is possibly the worst player to ever grace a VFL football ground and it is a blight on the coaches that picked him. I've never seen a bloke talk himself up more either.... Your thoughts?

Bowser I agree with you there, he is a reason they put 6 foot perimeter fences around football grounds, can't aknowledge the opposition when beaten and by the reputation he has built, (or talked about), you would think the bloke would be a star. That he isn't, he is just a middle class Bendigo footballer.

spoke4923 said:
I'd go Robins just. Saunders is a gun, the best player i saw in the bfl last year. But with an afl pre season and a couple of years at the bombers, i'd go Robins. Keep em coming oldmate. BTW, spelling isn't exactly a pre requisite on this forum toadfish. Judging by some of your comments, i'd say intelligence isn't either. Peace out.

Spokey spokey spokey?, Who are you kidding??? Heres one for you if intellegence is a strong point of your human nature- Has Damien Drum been good for Bendigo Football? Why?

Norfolk & Clew said:
Last day of work today fella's, no more Norfolk during business hours, has been swell:thumbsu:

Seeya later mate! You've been a credit to this organisation:thumbsu:

Toadfooty said:
Bowser I agree with you there, he is a reason they put 6 foot perimeter fences around football grounds, can't aknowledge the opposition when beaten and by the reputation he has built, (or talked about), you would think the bloke would be a star. That he isn't, he is just a middle class Bendigo footballer.

Oh no sorry Toad I really have to take the whole comment back as I Just got home to find that my housemate had logged on to big footy as the Bowser and tried to cause some damage. Which he did quite well. He dosen't stand by the comment and I having seen Hawk play believe he is a very valuable asset to any side. Apoligies Aaron and Big footy fans:thumbsu:

g'day fellas, weeds back. just thought i would let you all know that south bendigo have there first hit out tonight againest tongala under lights over there. should be interesting to see how they go

Dropkicker said:
Does anyone know whether Castlemaine has cleared Leigh Rees to South Bendigo yet?

According to the BFL site its in Progress but I have know doubts that he'll be playing with South in 06

had a look at squares practice match at wade street yesterday. the square boys looked pretty impressive but injuries struck again yestersday with adam bovalino breaking his arm. i think with a full side on the paddock square will be tough to beat but think depth is going to be there major downfall if more injuries occur. wes pye looks good

i also had a look last night at souths first hit out againest tongala. although they won by 15 goals they still have a bit of work to be done. but in saying that they did show glimpes of fast moving football that when all of them are firing they will be hard to beat this year in the B.F.L