• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

The Talking Goat said:
Okay fellas, what do we think were the big talking points to come out of the opening round. Obviously the ordiniary showing by North City is one, Maryborough certainly look to be on the improve with their gutsy win, I reckon Kyneton and Sandhurst result was about as expected, i reckon they will both be in the mix for the fifth spot, and i guess a big result was square downing the inaccurate gisborne. good result for square, should give them plenty of confidence going into the clash with sandhurst this week. and i suppose eaglehawk did what it had to do to get over what was a pretty reasonable effort from Kangaroo Flat on Friday.

The lack of cold beer was clearly the most disappointing aspect over the weekend - poor form..... Supporters that drink together sledge together...

The Talking Goat said:
Okay fellas, what do we think were the big talking points to come out of the opening round. Obviously the ordiniary showing by North City is one, Maryborough certainly look to be on the improve with their gutsy win, I reckon Kyneton and Sandhurst result was about as expected, i reckon they will both be in the mix for the fifth spot, and i guess a big result was square downing the inaccurate gisborne. good result for square, should give them plenty of confidence going into the clash with sandhurst this week. and i suppose eaglehawk did what it had to do to get over what was a pretty reasonable effort from Kangaroo Flat on Friday.

Win of the round to Golden Square- and also beer of the week. Cold fresh and just the way you drink it.
Loss of the round to Nth Ballarat - be careful they will improve

The Talking Goat said:

After seeing Sth last night a couple of look alikes for you

Dawson - Eithopian - He looks like he needs a feed but may challenge in the world titles later in the year. Can beat Mottram
Clark - He was on fire last night.......or maybe it was his hair
Taylor - Sensational effort after riding at Caulfield all day. The Chris Munce of Bendigo football.

Without naming names there looks likely to be a big annoucement this week from Sth in regards to a leading hair replacement firm. Say "yeah, yeah".

galloping gasometer said:
After seeing Sth last night a couple of look alikes for you

Dawson - Eithopian - He looks like he needs a feed but may challenge in the world titles later in the year. Can beat Mottram
Clark - He was on fire last night.......or maybe it was his hair
Taylor - Sensational effort after riding at Caulfield all day. The Chris Munce of Bendigo football.

Without naming names there looks likely to be a big annoucement this week from Sth in regards to a leading hair replacement firm. Say "yeah, yeah".
interesting overvartions there man who gallops like a gasometer. here is a question to ponder in the early days leading up to round 2 - does south bendigo start favourites against gisborne down at gardiner reserve this weekend. clearly the match of the round. expect gisborne to come out well and truly fired up after the disappointment of losing by a point at the weekend.

Toadfooty said:
I think this is shaping up a pretty good page with photo's etc still to come. Dunno who made it but its pretty well done.

No doubt whoever it is will appreciate all this publicity you're giving it Toad!;)

rightfoot_sloth said:
Has anyone heard about North Ballarat and anyone they have picked up ? Whats people gut feel about the likelyhood of success first year in ? :)
Hey mate, don't know how relative this is as im sure it is well overdue. I live in Ballarat and have several close ties to the club. Enormous young talent, but that's the problem, they are young. Have several gun players who will emerge in the next few years, such as Ryan Gurton (Ballarat Rebels, Vic Country) and Cameron Richardson. Biggest problem is the experience, oldest player is 23, so i doubt they will find much of the footy this year. North Ballarat is traditionally the strongest club in the Ballarat Junior Football League, so once they get a few years under their belt, and a few more players, many of whom will drop out from Ballarat Rebels and North Ballarat Roosters, they will be a force to contend with.

The Talking Goat said:
interesting overvartions there man who gallops like a gasometer. here is a question to ponder in the early days leading up to round 2 - does south bendigo start favourites against gisborne down at gardiner reserve this weekend. clearly the match of the round. expect gisborne to come out well and truly fired up after the disappointment of losing by a point at the weekend.

Gisbornes bad kicking as Barham said is bad football. South could beat most teams but will need to play well to beat Gisborne at home.
Gisborne is just as likely to come out and kick straight this week and beat Sth by 8-10 goals.

After seeing Square pre season and first game I am starting to really rate them. Prove me wrong other teams. Bulldogs top 3

galloping gasometer said:
Gisbornes bad kicking as Barham said is bad football. South could beat most teams but will need to play well to beat Gisborne at home.
Gisborne is just as likely to come out and kick straight this week and beat Sth by 8-10 goals.

After seeing Square pre season and first game I am starting to really rate them. Prove me wrong other teams. Bulldogs top 3
Man who gallops like a gasometer. I think there's no doubt golden square will be one of the premiership challengers this year and no doubt they would have gained plenty of confidence from the win over gisborne at the weekend. i certainly think square will challenge for a top-3 spot come finals time.

The Talking Goat said:
Man who gallops like a gasometer. I think there's no doubt golden square will be one of the premiership challengers this year and no doubt they would have gained plenty of confidence from the win over gisborne at the weekend. i certainly think square will challenge for a top-3 spot come finals time.

Who is the better team out of Square and South? Is it generally accepted the flag is heading to Gisborne or one of the two teams mentioned above>?

spoke4923 said:
Who is the better team out of Square and South? Is it generally accepted the flag is heading to Gisborne or one of the two teams mentioned above>?
by no means is the flag already on the way to the calder to gisborne, believe me fella, i reckon south, square and eaglehawk can really teake it up to gisborne this year

Bit hard to pick who will go well this year but early signs seem to be for the "BIG 3" Gis, Sth, GS

Gisb. have the score on the board and are the team. But have a huge bullseye on their heads and square have proved they can be beaten...inaccuracy or not

if South can play consistent footy (something that eluded them last year) then they WILL play off in that last Sat. (they have got great list & ability when they are "on")

Dunno about Sqaure yet...early signs are good but still have a lot of work to do.

kitch said:
Hey mate, don't know how relative this is as im sure it is well overdue. I live in Ballarat and have several close ties to the club. Enormous young talent, but that's the problem, they are young. Have several gun players who will emerge in the next few years, such as Ryan Gurton (Ballarat Rebels, Vic Country) and Cameron Richardson. Biggest problem is the experience, oldest player is 23, so i doubt they will find much of the footy this year. North Ballarat is traditionally the strongest club in the Ballarat Junior Football League, so once they get a few years under their belt, and a few more players, many of whom will drop out from Ballarat Rebels and North Ballarat Roosters, they will be a force to contend with.

Look out for Bill Barnes, an emerging star who is boarding at Ballarat & Clarendon College. Big, strong, strapping young man from Deniliquin who may hold down a key position for North.

DOCKERS said:
Can anyone tell me how Kain Robins is going? I used to play junior footy with him and he was a gun.

At Eaglehwak now after a two year stint at The Bendigo Bombers. Quality CHF with huge aerobic capacity. Played VFL ones for nearly 2 years and was named in Eaglehawks best on the weekend.

after seeing the sth v city game on the w/e the way the game was played seemed significantly different to football in ballarat. sth seemed to push numbers into their back half, almost flooding, and then all pushing up when they got possesion. north often kicked into their 50 to find 7 or 8 sth players as opposed to their 3 or 4 and were then exposed in defence. is this a fair observation of how the game is played in bendigo?

wheelbarrow said:
Has Salakowski played a game for the Flat yet.?

I believe Salakowski made his debut for the Flat on Good Friday. Going on what I heard on the radio, he was a handy player. Strong bodies are something the Flat could do with a few more of.

sculls_6 said:
after seeing the sth v city game on the w/e the way the game was played seemed significantly different to football in ballarat. sth seemed to push numbers into their back half, almost flooding, and then all pushing up when they got possesion. north often kicked into their 50 to find 7 or 8 sth players as opposed to their 3 or 4 and were then exposed in defence. is this a fair observation of how the game is played in bendigo?

Bendigo football is a whole different game to Ballarat. Ballarat is a lot faster, more fluent play, that is why when North found their 50 arc flooded they couldn't penetrate it. In the true meaning of the word the word, North City got the baptism of fire!

the fact that north were able to continually get the ball into there 50 is a good sign, if they are more productive with how they get the ball in and how they use it once inside we should see a much more competitive city side in the coming weeks

sculls_6 said:
the fact that north were able to continually get the ball into there 50 is a good sign, if they are more productive with how they get the ball in and how they use it once inside we should see a much more competitive city side in the coming weeks

They chipped the ball sideways to often. They were much bigger then sth they had to go long. If you gunna go sideways on the QEO you need to go the long switch into space for runners.