• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

All I can tell you is that South beat Eaglehawk in what sounded like a great game (too much shit on too get to the footy today) and Kyneton was pretty well beaten again.

Very poor post champ. Obviously you weren't at the game. It was a 2-3 goal ball game all day. Kyneton were very honest and played a really accountable brand of footy. Went down by 5 I think but certainly no disgrace.
Great to hear North upset a finals contender - maybe Kynetons loss to them on a cow paddock at Clunes doesnt seen so bad.

Very poor post champ. Obviously you weren't at the game. It was a 2-3 goal ball game all day. Kyneton were very honest and played a really accountable brand of footy. Went down by 5 I think but certainly no disgrace.
Great to hear North upset a finals contender - maybe Kynetons loss to them on a cow paddock at Clunes doesnt seen so bad.
32 point loss is fairly well beaten i'd say.

Brett Cook a certainty to coach Kyneton next year ive been told. What do you know about this Pentium ?

Where is the Greenmans weekly spray ?

North will be a good team in a few years. This is obviously the biggest win for them in their Bendigo League career. I've seen a few games of their's and I think they will only improve as a team with so many young players running around.

If they could get a couple more wins before the season is out, it will look a little more promising for potential recruits.

I was at the north city - sandhurst game yesterday, and was in the rooms at half time very keen and interested to hear the sandhurst half time address after the very even and almost dominant display by the northies.
I was amazed to find the sandhurst boys laughing joking and having no respect for their opponents, and i believe they continued to disrespect them when the game was to be won. After this effort from the north boys, i cant see why they cant win their remaining games for the year and fight for a finals birth in the coming season/s.

Surely after this victory sides will refuse to take the northies lightly.

Also, sandhurst cannot win the flag, let alone a finals game, especially when they are unable to win the hard ball against a clearly more desperate albeit younger opposition.

GO NORTHIES !!!

Brett Cook a certainty to coach Kyneton next year ive been told. What do you know about this Pentium ?

Just to keep BB happy he is my weekly spray at Nev.................not the Kyneton players. A good effort by Kyneton this week and good to see them play some disiplined footy.but dont attribute that to the coach. Listened to Cook address the players out on the ground and I was nothing but impressed and excited about the future. The way he speaks, his leadership and most of all he has the resepect of the players...something Neville only wished he had. Will be interested to see how we go against the might of Gisborne this week.............. wont mind if we loose, but lets hope we play DISIPLINED footy and show the fans we can be competitive against good sides. I will be standing near the box this week, cant wait to hear what Old Nev has got to say............lets hope he concentrates on coaching Kyneton and not bagging the umpires and the Gisborne players. Hope Cookie has his speechs ready for sat as the players listen to him and not Nev. Come on Kyneton..............sack him now. Happy BB? Greenman out for this week

I think for Kyneton 32 points is acceptable. Considering if you put these Kyneton and Golden Squares sides down on paper you wouldnt think Kyneton would have a chance of getting within 10 goals. I wouldnt think Golden Square would have been celebrating with a 32 point win.

Not sure about Brett Cook as far as I know nothing has been announced.

I was at the north city - sandhurst game yesterday, and was in the rooms at half time very keen and interested to hear the sandhurst half time address after the very even and almost dominant display by the northies.
I was amazed to find the sandhurst boys laughing joking and having no respect for their opponents, and i believe they continued to disrespect them when the game was to be won. After this effort from the north boys, i cant see why they cant win their remaining games for the year and fight for a finals birth in the coming season/s.

Also, sandhurst cannot win the flag, let alone a finals game, especially when they are unable to win the hard ball against a clearly more desperate albeit younger opposition.

GO NORTHIES !!!

Were you there, geez I was too. If I had have known you were the other person at the game I would have said hello.

In all seriousness the turnout to the only game in Bendigo on a Sunday was apalling.

I realise North City do not have a great supporter base but where were the Sandhurst people. At the Start of the seniors there would have been 25 people in the Grand Stand. Surely the club took a hit on the weekend and you really have to ask why are they not giving more thought to the Strathfieldsaye move. A ready made supporter base may be worth securing the clubs future long term. I know there are cons to the move but there are cons to continuing without representing an area of town. Sandhurst and South in effect are a club representing a name, not a club representing a town.

Now i dont want to jump on the Massina bashing bandwagon but i was talking to a bloke from Kyneton on the weekend and he tells me Big Nev doesnt rate L.Saunders from Gisborne very highly, says he's "just a player" and plays on "reputation alone". Which is something i dont quite understand but i do understand thats his opinion and thats fine.

I would have thought a reputation is generally something you earn and i reckon Luke has well and truly earned his.

Pretty much the same way Big Nev has earned his.

Were you there, geez I was too. If I had have known you were the other person at the game I would have said hello.

In all seriousness the turnout to the only game in Bendigo on a Sunday was apalling.

I realise North City do not have a great supporter base but where were the Sandhurst people. At the Start of the seniors there would have been 25 people in the Grand Stand. Surely the club took a hit on the weekend and you really have to ask why are they not giving more thought to the Strathfieldsaye move. A ready made supporter base may be worth securing the clubs future long term. I know there are cons to the move but there are cons to continuing without representing an area of town. Sandhurst and South in effect are a club representing a name, not a club representing a town.

You are really a wombat, if you had any idea about a footy club you would know that the Sandhurst F.C is the 2nd oldest club in Vic and although there are some pros that is not everything , history is probably the main reason they didn't go, yes there is a supporter base and new ground and clubroom's (not built yet) but the name and history would be lost, and to some that is very important. Who is to say that Strath would support this alignment anyway and who said there future wasn't secure, playing on the best ground in the league every second week where all finals are played and you expect them to give that up? They the supporter might not have turn up but this doent mean there isnt any.

Fitzroy had history as well Boydy, I can see your point, but whoever moves to strathfieldsaye will become a power.

Can the boys from North City beat any team without talk of opposing clubs leaving the league or sacking coaches????
Are you saying we should be talking about Nth City because they won their 3rd game in 2 years ?

Good effort and well done to the boys from Ballarat.

Watch out for the Northies, they are going to be an absolute power in years to come :confused:

bpbattler . wot about big coxie out at eagleburra land
did u forget him on the list coxie would be 36 or 37 wouldnt he
the goat must be getting fired up englands premier league football starts in ernest this weekend and we know hes a big fan of the world game

Some of these supporters obviously need a rocket up their clackers if they are not interested enough in a side primed to play finals in four weeks time.

If they continue to sit back while the club accepts a loss financially then they may have no club in the future to support at all. I am sure the Strath Dragons might look attractive then.

Its time to show some support to maintain the history of a wonderful Football Club.

GO NORTHIES !!!

touche Cjkirbs19, looking at the game on the wkd sandhurst didnt really look like they wanted to man up.. or help one another... where when north kicked a goal or had a good piece of play they all got round each other and supported one another.... by any chance do you know the average age of north and the also the league ???

Can the boys from North City beat any team without talk of opposing clubs leaving the league or sacking coaches????

if i understand what you are trying to say bwana... everytime a team looses to city.. people seem to think that since they lost to a new team such as city then they are in crisis mode.... why is that??? can u explain?

Some of these supporters obviously need a rocket up their clackers if they are not interested enough in a side primed to play finals in four weeks time.

If they continue to sit back while the club accepts a loss financially then they may have no club in the future to support at all. I am sure the Strath Dragons might look attractive then.

Its time to show some support to maintain the history of a wonderful Football Club.

Mate, I think the reason people didn't turn up on Sunday wasn't b/c the don't love Sandhurst, it was b/c everyone expected the game to be a whitewash. If you'd gone to the Sandhurst v Golden Square sunday game a few weeks ago, it was one of the biggest gates of the year (other than E/hawk v Gis).

For the record, if you know anything about the Strathfieldsaye proposal, Sandhurst have already rejected the move. South Bendigo are considering - but the crux of the whole thing is that Strathfieldsaye can still decide to go alone even IF a club willingly wants to go there.

Just settle down a bit Wombat - I know North winning is a big deal and you've most likely just poked your head out of your wombat burrow after 2 days of vigourous self pleasure, but you're getting carried away and posting comments about subjects you have no idea about.

touche Cjkirbs19, looking at the game on the wkd sandhurst didnt really look like they wanted to man up.. or help one another... where when north kicked a goal or had a good piece of play they all got round each other and supported one another.... by any chance do you know the average age of north and the also the league ???

19 1/2 at the weekend

Mate, I think the reason people didn't turn up on Sunday wasn't b/c the don't love Sandhurst, it was b/c everyone expected the game to be a whitewash. If you'd gone to the Sandhurst v Golden Square sunday game a few weeks ago, it was one of the biggest gates of the year (other than E/hawk v Gis).

For the record, if you know anything about the Strathfieldsaye proposal, Sandhurst have already rejected the move. South Bendigo are considering - but the crux of the whole thing is that Strathfieldsaye can still decide to go alone even IF a club willingly wants to go there.

Just settle down a bit Wombat - I know North winning is a big deal and you've most likely just poked your head out of your wombat burrow after 2 days of vigourous self pleasure, but you're getting carried away and posting comments about subjects you have no idea about.

Thats what I am saying a true supporter wouldn't miss a home game especially when they expect a whitewash. Go and enjoy a victory, ask a Flat supporter if they wouldn't go if they expected their side to dish out a flogging.

I know where they are at with the Strath proposal but are flabbergasted that both clubs could or would reject the opportunity presented to them. As I said before, great to have History when no team exists in 5 years time.

Losing Jayco or Perez's financial input could easily have Sandhurst on its knees and South could be in that boat in less time.

Thats what I am saying a true supporter wouldn't miss a home game especially when they expect a whitewash. Go and enjoy a victory, ask a Flat supporter if they wouldn't go if they expected their side to dish out a flogging.

I know where they are at with the Strath proposal but are flabbergasted that both clubs could or would reject the opportunity presented to them. As I said before, great to have History when no team exists in 5 years time.

Losing Jayco or Perez's financial input could easily have Sandhurst on its knees and South could be in that boat in less time.

You must know more than the rest of us W/B, your saying that Sandhurst wont be around in 5 years. AS i said earlier it is nearly 150 years old and has survived this long do think that everyone will just walk away because you might lose one sponsor, if you know anything about footy you need many sponsors to stay afloat and some hard workers.

I know where they are at with the Strath proposal but are flabbergasted that both clubs could or would reject the opportunity presented to them. As I said before, great to have History when no team exists in 5 years time. .

You didn't read my post real close did you? I said S'saye could decide to go alone EVEN IF A CLUB WANTED TO GO THERE.

As for Flat supporters watching their team dishing out a flogging... well, you're in la-la-land. Have a seat on the pine buddy, you're done.

GOAT'S Essendon Twos spat the dummy and won't play on the Q this w/end.
More importantly fellas, let's look at BFL Round 15:

I'm going for NORTH CITY to snag win No. 4 in 07 and beat Thommo's Maryborough, even at Pie Park;
Prickles' MAINE boys to belt the Flat;
Kyneton to be competitive for a half against GISBORNE, and then fall away;
EAGLEHAWK to bounce back from a shocking last quarter agst. South and beat Sandhurst, and;
SOUTH to take over 3rd spot and beat Square.