where is Steven at

Jack

Rookie
May 25, 2005
I didn't get to watch the Carlton and Fremantle game, but was able to listen to it on the radio. And i heard about Stevens was outrages, the commentators had given Stevens a mouth full say that he had 20 positions but they were not used well could he improve on that because he had given away 3 goals in that game, because he continues to put his team mates under pressure. :mad: :mad:

Dude, we played the Bulldogs on the weekend, not Freo. There is already anti-stevo threads you can vent your frustration on (including one or two you started), so starting another thread is pointless.

We all know he is struggling at the moment, hopefully after the break he can return to form.

Jack said:
I didn't get to watch the Carlton and Fremantle game, but was able to listen to it on the radio. And i heard about Stevens was outrages, the commentators had given Stevens a mouth full say that he had 20 positions but they were not used well could he improve on that because he had given away 3 goals in that game, because he continues to put his team mates under pressure. :mad: :mad:

Just justifying what I've been saying. I didn't see the game so I can't comment but if what you're saying is true, he needs a spell.

gadj1976 said:
Just justifying what I've been saying. I didn't see the game so I can't comment but if what you're saying is true, he needs a spell.

He needs a spell where?

Fair Dinkum, this guy plays his heart out every week and cops crap from fairweather supporters. Imagine what we'd be like without him.

HugeBluesFan said:
He needs a spell where?

Fair Dinkum, this guy plays his heart out every week and cops crap from fairweather supporters. Imagine what we'd be like without him.

paddock, hospital, magoos.........he's either not fit, or not playing well (turning the ball over countless times). Simple. And don't call me a fairweather supporter.

gadj1976 said:
paddock, hospital, magoos.........he's either not fit, or not playing well (turning the ball over countless times). Simple. And don't call me a fairweather supporter.

You may not be a fairweather supporter, but you definitely are f***ed in the head!!!

He's our best player FFS!!! That's like saying drop Andrew McLeod from the Crows side after a few ordinary games.... and that'll happen won't it. Jeez.

guys i will tell you what will happen if we drop Stevens. It stop the opposition from kicking easy goals, Because when Stevens gives the ball away it's right in front of goal and that hurts. so by droping him that will all stop happening :confused: :confused:

Jack said:
guys i will tell you what will happen if we drop Stevens. It stop the opposition from kicking easy goals, Because when Stevens gives the ball away it's right in front of goal and that hurts. so by droping him that will all stop happening :confused: :confused:

Jack, can I ask how long you've been following footy???

Jack said:
our problems run far deeper than stevens having 3 below par games.

imo,
by dropping stevens pagan will make his intentions clear that he definately is going all out for the wooden spoon, otherwise keep him the team..

Snoozer said:
You may not be a fairweather supporter, but you definitely are f***ed in the head!!!

He's our best player FFS!!! That's like saying drop Andrew McLeod from the Crows side after a few ordinary games.... and that'll happen won't it. Jeez.

Is he your best player at the moment and since the season is over, maybe he should rest a couple of weeks and get over the any physical ailments.

Against brisbane he didnt look a 100% fit and it was costly. As for Jack, he makes a fair point. Rest, get over the injury and promote a youngster and have a fit Stevens running around. I find it hard to understand why teams with nothing to gain would play someone with an injury.

Bringing up a debatable point is being a troll.

goalpie said:
Is he your best player at the moment and since the season is over, maybe he should rest a couple of weeks and get over the any physical ailments.

Against brisbane he didnt look a 100% fit and it was costly. As for Jack, he makes a fair point. Rest, get over the injury and promote a youngster and have a fit Stevens running around. I find it hard to understand why teams with nothing to gain would play someone with an injury.

Yeh, you should know

goalpie said:

So why are you guys playing Buckley this week??

You can't blame everything on Stevo.. i mean give the guy a break.. OK he might be in poor form, but maybe he was injured when he played.. ffs.. you gotta understand without him i dont even know how our midfield would hold... but i agree with a comment made above not sure who said it but, if his injured i think denis should give him a week or two out since we are last anyway, play a youngster and you never know, we might have something good come out of it..

Everyone is saying Stevo should have a week or two off... well guys, it is the weeks break! He will overcome any soreness, as will everyone else and away we go...

Snoozer said:

Gee thanks for the compliment.

Understanding the way footy works is another thing.

If you have a bloke in your side who gets a lot of the ball and DOESN'T use it then he should be dropped just like anyone else. If you replace him with a player that gets it half the time and uses it, which player is better for your side?

Don't have a go at me cos I have a different opinion to yours.

What's more important, possessions and racking them up - or using the footy to your teams advantage?

gadj1976 said:
Gee thanks for the compliment.

Understanding the way footy works is another thing.

If you have a bloke in your side who gets a lot of the ball and DOESN'T use it then he should be dropped just like anyone else. If you replace him with a player that gets it half the time and uses it, which player is better for your side?

Don't have a go at me cos I have a different opinion to yours.

What's more important, possessions and racking them up - or using the footy to your teams advantage?

So you'd rather drop a proven ball winner and our best player and replace him with a second-rate hack, who will hardly get the ball at all.... yeah good move. And who do you propose will be BETTER than Nick Stevens??

If we used your theory, we'd have 15 guys in and out of the side every week. The Carlton side are the worst skilled AFL team for the last 10 years.... and it was mentioned in an earlier post that Carlton's problems are far far more deep seeded than Nick Stevens' form. Maybe if we had a few more Nick Stevens' and a few less Ryan Houlihans we'd be in far better shape.

Snoozer said:
So you'd rather drop a proven ball winner and our best player and replace him with a second-rate hack, who will hardly get the ball at all.... yeah good move. And who do you propose will be BETTER than Nick Stevens??

If we used your theory, we'd have 15 guys in and out of the side every week. The Carlton side are the worst skilled AFL team for the last 10 years.... and it was mentioned in an earlier post that Carlton's problems are far far more deep seeded than Nick Stevens' form. Maybe if we had a few more Nick Stevens' and a few less Ryan Houlihans we'd be in far better shape

hahahahaha, good line. You're delusional.

You said Nick Stevens is a ball winner - no he's not. He's a receiver. And every team needs and has them. His job is to get the ball from the guys inside (Kouta etc) and deliver it, just like he was doing at Port. Currently he's NOT doing that.

Carlton like every team has to realise that you can't carry blokes who are well and truly out of form. Someone who may be deemed a hack to you, has to feel like he's pushing for selection by playing well in the magoos. If he doesn't he becomes despondant and form falls away. I know if I was next in line to Stevens, and he was playing that badly and I wasn't getting a look in, I'd become a bit peeved.

How do you believe we'll get any better if we keep the same guys in the side each week - when they're not playing well?

How are you differntiating between Houlihan and Stevens? Both turn the ball over like no mans business.

The issue runs deeper than just keeping a Stevens or Houlihan in your side as I've stated. You don't seem to understand that and that's fine. I'm just expressing what I'd do in Carlton's situation just as you have.

gadj1976 said:
hahahahaha, good line. You're delusional.

You said Nick Stevens is a ball winner - no he's not. He's a receiver. And every team needs and has them. His job is to get the ball from the guys inside (Kouta etc) and deliver it, just like he was doing at Port. Currently he's NOT doing that.

Carlton like every team has to realise that you can't carry blokes who are well and truly out of form. Someone who may be deemed a hack to you, has to feel like he's pushing for selection by playing well in the magoos. If he doesn't he becomes despondant and form falls away. I know if I was next in line to Stevens, and he was playing that badly and I wasn't getting a look in, I'd become a bit peeved.

How do you believe we'll get any better if we keep the same guys in the side each week - when they're not playing well?

How are you differntiating between Houlihan and Stevens? Both turn the ball over like no mans business.

The issue runs deeper than just keeping a Stevens or Houlihan in your side as I've stated. You don't seem to understand that and that's fine. I'm just expressing what I'd do in Carlton's situation just as you have.

Can't carry guys who are out of form!!!!! The whole side has been out of form for the whole season. The issue is not Nick Stevens.... you're only pointing the finger at him because he gets the ball more often than anyone else. And Nick Stevens has at least been having a dip week in week out, unlike Houlihan who couldn't give a toss most of the time and is afraid of his own shadow. Stevens puts his head over the ball when he has to.... Houlihan does not.

So your theory suggests that Stevens should be first in line to get the chop, therefore stating that the following players are individually of more value: Bannister, Betts, Bowyer, Bryan, Camporeale, Carazzo, Davies, Houlihan, Johnson, Lappin, McGrath, Prendergast, Scotland, Simpson, Sporn, Whitnall. I've seen all those guys hitting targets pretty regularly!!! Why not call for their heads.

Did you actually read my last post... I just said that Carltons problems are way beyond Nick Stevens.... what I don't understand is why you would want to drop one of our only quality players, and replace him with a seconds player.

Lets drop our best player!!!! Great idea!!!!

Snoozer said:
Can't carry guys who are out of form!!!!! The whole side has been out of form for the whole season. The issue is not Nick Stevens.... you're only pointing the finger at him because he gets the ball more often than anyone else. And Nick Stevens has at least been having a dip week in week out, unlike Houlihan who couldn't give a toss most of the time and is afraid of his own shadow. Stevens puts his head over the ball when he has to.... Houlihan does not.

So your theory suggests that Stevens should be first in line to get the chop, therefore stating that the following players are individually of more value: Bannister, Betts, Bowyer, Bryan, Camporeale, Carazzo, Davies, Houlihan, Johnson, Lappin, McGrath, Prendergast, Scotland, Simpson, Sporn, Whitnall. I've seen all those guys hitting targets pretty regularly!!! Why not call for their heads.

Did you actually read my last post... I just said that Carltons problems are way beyond Nick Stevens.... what I don't understand is why you would want to drop one of our only quality players, and replace him with a seconds player.

Lets drop our best player!!!! Great idea!!!!

......because you have to set the example to the rest of the squad.

Yes, I'd replace him with a "lesser" player. In an instant.

Pagan has already done this by dropping Teague. He wasn't playing well admittedly (you may disagree) and let's hope he got a kick and comes back firing. Confidence is the key with a lot of players in bottom sides. Surely Teague is in our best 22 and he got dropped.

You're missing the point with my argument. Big picture is - we are not going to get better as a squad if we keep players in the side who continually miss targets and make mistakes. Would you agree?

If we had our best 22 on the park and we got beaten by 100 points, you'd be advocating that that's our best 22 and no changes should be made - is that right?

How can you say the whole team is out of form? Certainly we dont' have the cattle, that's fine but not every person is out of form week to week.

I'm interested to know why you think he's our best player? What makes a best player?

gadj1976 said:

Pagan has already done this by dropping Teague. He wasn't playing well admittedly (you may disagree) and let's hope he got a kick and comes back firing. Confidence is the key with a lot of players in bottom sides. Surely Teague is in our best 22 and he got dropped.

You're missing the point with my argument. Big picture is - we are not going to get better as a squad if we keep players in the side who continually miss targets and make mistakes. Would you agree?

If we had our best 22 on the park and we got beaten by 100 points, you'd be advocating that that's our best 22 and no changes should be made - is that right?

How can you say the whole team is out of form? Certainly we dont' have the cattle, that's fine but not every person is out of form week to week.

I'm interested to know why you think he's our best player? What makes a best player?

Honestly mate do you have it for Nick Stevens so bad you have to try and justify it all the time? He has had a couple of poor games and is caryying a knee injury and had some gastro as well. If he played that way the whole season then you would be right but he has not.
If you are really are a Blues supporter then hang your head in shame.

gadj1976 said:

Set an example?? So you'd sacrifice a potential BOG performer for someone who will most likely have no impact, just to set an example?? Stevens would be in our top 5 in the B&F at the moment, after only half a season. And this season would not be rated as one of his best. That hardly strikes me as someone who needs a run in the 2's as a result of poor form.

The fact is if Stevens was to be dropped he have to play about a dozen crap games in a row. I don't think that is going to happen. You don't drop your proven stars willy nilly. He's one who has proved that he can do the business time and again.

Stevens will bounce back sooner rather than later, and he'll be sticking the Sherrin down Fev's throat before we know it.... and sticking it up his knockers.

where is Steven at