Where will the game be won and lost??

I think half you Port people are forgetting when you beat us by 5 seconds we had no Ling, Bartel, Selwood or Rooke in the side.

Your side is basically unchanged and you played to the best of your ability and Geelong played a good last quarter and nearly beat you.

But i do take my hat of to you as you are a very good balanced side.

How could we forget that, you punks come in here and remind us every 5 seconds. :rolleyes:

And if you think we played to the best of our ability that day, let's just say I hope your team thinks the same thing.

I think half you Port people are forgetting when you beat us by 5 seconds we had no Ling, Bartel, Selwood or Rooke in the side.

Your side is basically unchanged and you played to the best of your ability and Geelong played a good last quarter and nearly beat you.

Doesn't matter who we had out. Port were the better side on the day and deserved to win. No excuses.

Obviously I'm hoping we can put up a much better effort this Saturday but it's going to be really tough. I'd be amazed if Blake plays. He's just too skinny against experienced ruckmen. King, although he's not the player he was, at least has the size and presence to not get pushed around. And we need to keep Ottens fresh.

We'll miss Egan for sure. And personally I'd put Harley on Ebert. He can hopefully negate his aerial strength. I'd put Mackie on Westhoff, not overly big but deceptively tall and great at running off his man. Scarlett obviously to Tredrea.

Rucks are obviously going to be important. If Ottens got injured in the first quarter, it would sway the game hugely in our favour.

Bottom of the end midfield rotations are important. This is where Port Adelaide usually has the edge but Geelong are pretty good there.

Kicking and decision making into the F50 will be crucial for the Power as Geelong have a very good backline that counters well. If we deliver and mark well in our forward line, it will help bigtime.

The mind: this is where we have an advantage. As a team we have so much self-belief but at no time, have talked about deserving the premiership but have kept our eye on the prize since we've hit form. If it comes down to a close game, Port have been very good in snatching victories in close and tight. We haven't run out of legs all year.

X Factor: Most definitely in our favour and we had it in spades in 2004 and have had it all this year. We have many players who can rip it apart but also have a lot of players who can be switched around and play many roles in the team structure.

The big Match up in my mind is Going to Be Chad Cornes V Ling....

If Chad is taken out of the game Port dont do to well...There is a direct correlation between stopping Chad and Port winning. He is an inspirational type player on the field and gets others involved...When he has a bad game or cant contribute others drop their head....Ports Early game round 9 against Geelong Ling was on after half time. Chad hardly got a sniff in second half....

Rnd 21 No Ling Chad has a 30+ game..Port win in a squeaker...

This will be a key match up as well as Ruck. I doubt Ottens alone will be enough against Lade and Brogan. King should come in, Blakes last month has been rather disapointing....

The "X Factor" will be Mooney...Hoff could be as well...He has had a quiet month and is due.

Rucks are obviously going to be important. If Ottens got injured in the first quarter, it would sway the game hugely in our favour.
Obviously if either gets an injury early, especially to a player as important to our team structure as Ottens, or Lade to yours, it will be a massive problem and dent in that team's premiership aspirations.

Kicking and decision making into the F50 will be crucial for the Power as Geelong have a very good backline that counters well. If we deliver and mark well in our forward line, it will help bigtime.
Obvious. Both teams have players who like it lace out on their chest. That said, I believe the Geelong forward line has the ability to make something of nothing in the forward line, moreso than Port.

The mind: this is where we have an advantage. As a team we have so much self-belief but at no time, have talked about deserving the premiership but have kept our eye on the prize since we've hit form. If it comes down to a close game, Port have been very good in snatching victories in close and tight. We haven't run out of legs all year.
This is where I disagree. The whole year, the GFC has been 'keeping a lid on things'. All the 15 wins in a row, or 157 point thumpings of Richmond have meant nothing to Geelong. The only thing they have been playing for all year. Even when we thumped the Roos by 106 points in the qualifying final, the boys knew that it meant nothing if they did not win the flag. In both finals, Harley has formed a huddle at the end of the ground, and the players have walked off with the premiership in the back of their mind. Save from a few fist pumpings during the game, you did not see any over the top celebration. When Port started beating the Roos, Tredrea started bowing and Cornes started dancing around like a drunk Nazi. You might disagree, but arrogant behaviour like this leaves you hanging out to dry.

X Factor: Most definitely in our favour and we had it in spades in 2004 and have had it all this year. We have many players who can rip it apart but also have a lot of players who can be switched around and play many roles in the team structure.
One of the thing Geelong has prided itself on this year is its evenness. Geelong's evenness though is not like Adelaides... We are not just a team of plodders who all do their bit. Just like you claim with Port, every single player on Geelong's list, save for one or two has the ability to rip a game apart. All year, questions have been asked about what Geelong's Xfactor is. The fact is we have factors.

The big Match up in my mind is Going to Be Chad Cornes V Ling....

If Chad is taken out of the game Port dont do to well...There is a direct correlation between stopping Chad and Port winning. He is an inspirational type player on the field and gets others involved...When he has a bad game or cant contribute others drop their head....Ports Early game round 9 against Geelong Ling was on after half time. Chad hardly got a sniff in second half....

Rnd 21 No Ling Chad has a 30+ game..Port win in a squeaker...

This will be a key match up as well as Ruck. I doubt Ottens alone will be enough against Lade and Brogan. King should come in, Blakes last month has been rather disapointing....

The "X Factor" will be Mooney...Hoff could be as well...He has had a quiet month and is due.

I reckon Ling will go to Burgoyne.

Bottom of the end midfield rotations are important. This is where Port Adelaide usually has the edge but Geelong are pretty good there.

Jeez theres some crap in this statement....

X factor ---- we finished 3 games and 30% clear on top, so Geelongs rotations must have been good and there are many players in the team that can rip Ports back line to pieces.....I just hope Wakelin doesn't start sooking again when Mooney kicks a bag on him

Pretty simple the game will be won on the weekend by the team that can get their hands on the ball first. There will be a lot other battles and tactics that will distract us but at the end of the day the team that wins the stopages is going to win this thing.

Port have showed the ability to dominate the stopages during a game to an extent where the opposition can go minutes without touching the ball.

Mind you to get first hands to it we will have to work for each other, throw our bodies in harder than before and run harder than before. This we can do.

This game should be played at a cracking pace come rain hail or shine.

The team that will win will most likely kick more goals than the other team... There is a chance though, that they will kick 1 less goal, but seven more behinds... They might even kick 2 less goals and 13 more behinds...

Geelong played a poor game, and were without Bartel, Selwood, Ling and Rooke. After we lost, I was not too disappointed... In fact, I said that I would rather lose it in the manner we did, than win in the manner that Port did. To be 27 points up in the middle of the last quarter and end up throwing it all away was quite poor.

But see here's the rub.

If you're acknowledging your obvious outs and what could've happened if they'd played, then consider that Geelong only came back in the last quarter after Darryl Wakelin went off with his groin injury.

Then there's the Round 9 shellacking at AAMI. Using the Bartel/Ling/Selwood rule, we were without Brogan, Westhoff, Chaplin and Wilson (obviously again this week for the latter) while Motlop cracked his collarbone and went off in the first 30 seconds.

Swings and roundabouts with past results or with what might've happened had player X and player Y played/not have played.

At the end of the day, this Saturday is all that matters.

let's not forget, the team that should be premiers (so they say) should be able to cope with a couple of injuries.

we did it throughout an entire 04 with no primus or francou. they lose em for a game and they cry like ****ing 10 yr old girls that spilt their muffins

Jeez theres some crap in this statement....

X factor ---- we finished 3 games and 30% clear on top, so Geelongs rotations must have been good and there are many players in the team that can rip Ports back line to pieces.....I just hope Wakelin doesn't start sooking again when Mooney kicks a bag on him

How was your last game against us on your dung hole?

They're getting very precious.

But see here's the rub.

If you're acknowledging your obvious outs and what could've happened if they'd played, then consider that Geelong only came back in the last quarter after Darryl Wakelin went off with his groin injury.
Plus Brogan was only about 50%. Considering the ruck is where we have the advantage then that was a big negator in favour of Geelong.

... Then there's the Round 9 shellacking at AAMI. Using the Bartel/Ling/Selwood rule, we were without Brogan, Westhoff, Chaplin and Wilson (obviously again this week for the latter) while Motlop cracked his collarbone and went off in the first 30 seconds.
Actually IIRC 6 players in that game have not been part of our best 22 of late, plus Motlop got injured within a couple of minutes and Tredrea was but a shadow of what he is now due to no pre season. We are a much better team now compared to then whereas Geelong are about on par.

Funny how all other teams have excuses whereas we have been nothing but lucky.

Plus Brogan was only about 50%. Considering the ruck is where we have the advantage then that was a big negator in favour of Geelong.

Actually IIRC 6 players in that game have not been part of our best 22 of late, plus Motlop got injured within a couple of minutes and Tredrea was but a shadow of what he is now due to no pre season. We are a much better team now compared to then whereas Geelong are about on par.

Funny how all other teams have excuses whereas we have been nothing but lucky.

On the siren victories anyone? How long can your luck last?

Obviously if either gets an injury early, especially to a player as important to our team structure as Ottens, or Lade to yours, it will be a massive problem and dent in that team's premiership aspirations.

Obvious. Both teams have players who like it lace out on their chest. That said, I believe the Geelong forward line has the ability to make something of nothing in the forward line, moreso than Port.

This is where I disagree. The whole year, the GFC has been 'keeping a lid on things'. All the 15 wins in a row, or 157 point thumpings of Richmond have meant nothing to Geelong. The only thing they have been playing for all year. Even when we thumped the Roos by 106 points in the qualifying final, the boys knew that it meant nothing if they did not win the flag. In both finals, Harley has formed a huddle at the end of the ground, and the players have walked off with the premiership in the back of their mind. Save from a few fist pumpings during the game, you did not see any over the top celebration. When Port started beating the Roos, Tredrea started bowing and Cornes started dancing around like a drunk Nazi. You might disagree, but arrogant behaviour like this leaves you hanging out to dry.

One of the thing Geelong has prided itself on this year is its evenness. Geelong's evenness though is not like Adelaides... We are not just a team of plodders who all do their bit. Just like you claim with Port, every single player on Geelong's list, save for one or two has the ability to rip a game apart. All year, questions have been asked about what Geelong's Xfactor is. The fact is we have factors.

With regards to the ruck, I don't think one of our guys in Lade or Brogan going down would be that problematic for us as opposed to Ottens goign down.

My comments about F50 thrusts was more to do with our team. When we are making good decisions into the F50 instead of bombing it, we look very good. If you watch the Port/Kangas prelim, the first quarter its not so good and then we lift our eye are we move into gear. Obviously, with your excellent marking backmen, this is for me, paramount to our gameplan. I thin our forward line has a bit more to it than yours. Cam is another majjor structural player but he's a bit injured from the weekend and if we can hold him, it will go a long way for us. Johnson is the main forward I'm worried about so much that I wouldn't mind it if Jr went back on him and limited him to very little. Chapman is another but not as much as the others.

The mind/mindgames: We'll have to agree to disagree. The outbursts of supposed arrogance are not worry for us. However, when thelocal rag beats up on it and puts it on the front page, we down at Port like it very much. The mind/mindgames are something that will purely manifest on the day. Who, what, where and how? Who knows? All I know is that Port have a very steely resolve and have that culture imbedded in us since day dot. I've just sensed it in the Cats for a while. As I said, I don't mind disagreeing on this point.

No doubt you guys have factors. I just think we have more, and of a higher potential and who are coming good at the right time. I mean little known Tom Logan and Troy Chaplin and Richmond discard Rodan were best afield for us last week and they aren't our superstars.

Hope its a good game and we win. Carn the Power.

I think its a bit rich calling our win on your dung hole lucky. It hought we were the better team on the day. It was a great hard fought win on a ground we traditionally play very badly on. We broke through that barrier.

Pt Adelaide are going to cop a harsh lesson this Saturday for all the bull---- talk coming from them this week about Geelong. No respect for the opposition. Pt love the easy ball and Geelong will smash them in the hard contested ball.

good thread.

I think we will win through contested ball clearances, with the likes of Bartel being the first in there to get the ball. Port have quite a few skilful ball carriers, so the game will be won by restriciting their opportunities for clear breakaways from clearances.

It will also be interesting to see how our forward line goes - whether our small forwards will be able to get to enough spillages in order to get a reasonable success rate

In Port's forwards, i think the danger will be Ebert - not that if he has a bad day Port would definitely lose, but if he has a good day (i.e. getting 3 quick goals) he could have a great impact upon the result

good thread.

I think we will win through contested ball clearances, with the likes of Bartel being the first in there to get the ball. Port have quite a few skilful ball carriers, so the game will be won by restriciting their opportunities for clear breakaways from clearances.

It will also be interesting to see how our forward line goes - whether our small forwards will be able to get to enough spillages in order to get a reasonable success rate

In Port's forwards, i think the danger will be Ebert - not that if he has a bad day Port would definitely lose, but if he has a good day (i.e. getting 3 quick goals) he could have a great impact upon the result

I remember Bartel killing us singlehandedly in one game. I think he got 40 odd and kicked a few so he is one I'm worried about Brownlow medal or not. Since he didn't play Round 21 we don't have form against him since we've kicked on and started playing well. Kane should get the task and he's really killed guys so that will be one battle that will go a long way to the win.

If Egan doesn't play, Harley will probably pick up Tredders or Westhoff. This frees up Mots and I just cant see anyone else in the Geelong defence curbing his influence as well as Harley. Will be interesting to see how the Cats structure their defence, especially if Mots gets a few early ones and then when we start rotating Lade, Chad and JnrBrgr thru the f50.

Brogan will be super important, if he can set the example with his attack on the ball early we will get some early confidence. That plus the way he sures up our defense allows guys like the Grew, Surj and Chappy to run off the hbf. Very similar to the way Geelong run out of their d50 thru Scarlett, milburn, Mackie, Wojinski etc. So that said it will come down to the type of defensive pressure the respective forward lines are able to exert. Step on up Mots, Logan and Ro-Dan!!!

Geelong will be hard to beat but I honestly think that if we are anywhere within 2-3 goals at 3/4 time that we might run over them. Then again they might just steamroll on.......fcuk this is hard. for the first time this year I am getting real antsy......come on Staurday, cant wait to get to the G and scream my lungs out....

and fcuk off rain, PLEEEEAAAASSSSEEEE!

1 more week will do thanks Jesus ;).... i believe that you can make your own luck if that makes sense, sure you can get a lucky bounce or whatever but in essence the ball doesn't just drop into your lap unless your name is G ablett (vs Nth Melb prelim ring a bell?)

If our half backline can withstand the pressure then we'll win it's as simple as that as we have the talent in the forward line to kick a winning score so our half back line needs to be very resolute & provide lots of drive. Run & taking risks will be a key if we're going to win. I honestly think that this game should be a closely fought contest & one team will get a run on & kick a few goals in say 10 minutes which will be the difference. Then again i could be wrong & one team could win by 10 goals plus... but i don;t think that's going to be the case this weekend.

Peninsula boy, I love your threads they are well thought out and have great meaning and passion to them.

I know that you guys had a few players out when we beat you by 56 points at your dung hole, but IMO the players we had out are match winners for us, i'm not saying your blokes arn't good players, far from it, but not match winners.

At the end of the day the 2 best teams made it and all will be revealed soon.

This has been a good thread.

Good luck

I know that you guys had a few players out when we beat you by 56 points at your dung hole, but IMO the players we had out are match winners for us, i'm not saying your blokes arn't good players, far from it, but not match winners.

i don't think the game earlier in the year is really that relevant, not because of missing players but because the team was in a completely different position, it was part of a shocking month of footy and the team has matured at improved their style since then

as you say, the blokes that didn't play in the 2nd game are matchwinners, but the way port played was very different and it showed on teh scoreboard.

for all we know bartel could have a shocker, lingy might not hold his tag, and selwood might choke under the pressure of the occasion, meaning the team might be worse off with them playing poorly than if their replacements were playing...

you just never know... (until saturday night that is!)

Where will the game be won and lost??