Where will the game be won and lost??

i don't think the game earlier in the year is really that relevant, not because of missing players but because the team was in a completely different position, it was part of a shocking month of footy and the team has matured at improved their style since then

as you say, the blokes that didn't play in the 2nd game are matchwinners, but the way port played was very different and it showed on teh scoreboard.

for all we know bartel could have a shocker, lingy might not hold his tag, and selwood might choke under the pressure of the occasion, meaning the team might be worse off with them playing poorly than if their replacements were playing...

you just never know... (until saturday night that is!)

Point taken

Rook

Peninsula boy, I love your threads they are well thought out and have great meaning and passion to them.

I know that you guys had a few players out when we beat you by 56 points at your dung hole, but IMO the players we had out are match winners for us, i'm not saying your blokes arn't good players, far from it, but not match winners.

At the end of the day the 2 best teams made it and all will be revealed soon.

This has been a good thread.

Good luck

Good luck too.

As many have stated, the loss at home is pretty irrelevant as we were a much different team to the one that came back from the break. I mean we lost to Carlton around that time so we were travelling along pretty badly. Westoff and Gray started to get games. Peter B was moved to half back. Grew started to get half back. Kane once again became our hard tagger. Dom shifted to second tagger but also flourished with possies. Later Chaplin found form. Motlop got over his injuries and became dangerous [which was mainly the hit against the Cats, great hip and s houlder by the way]. Tredders has been getting better but is still not in peak form but he has some legs to him. Our youngster Boak getting time int he middle.

Its been a good year for us. A boatload of improvement with still more to come.

Hate to say it but I reckon the result with come down to injuries.

Two relatively evenly matched sides that both focus on their running games, should one of them lose one or two players early the other side will develop momentum simply from knowing they will be fresher in the second half.

I'd love to see six on the bench grand final day but of course it wont happen.

So whose at most risk of aggravating an injury in the first quarter?
If Geelong lose King before quarter time its all over.

I still dont think we ahve seen the best of Geelong this finals series...

Port played really well to beat WCE and easily accounted for North...

Geelong, played realatively poorly to beat North and Pies...I say reliatively compard to how they played earlier in year....If Geelong get their "Mojo" back this game could turn into mother of all GF hidings...

If they dont it will be a close one, with Port winning as they are the best team in comp to win close, high pressure games...

I still dont think we ahve seen the best of Geelong this finals series...

Port played really well to beat WCE and easily accounted for North...

Geelong, played realatively poorly to beat North and Pies...I say reliatively compard to how they played earlier in year....If Geelong get their "Mojo" back this game could turn into mother of all GF hidings...

If they dont it will be a close one, with Port winning as they are the best team in comp to win close, high pressure games...

Geelong beat the Kangaroos bye over 100pt in the Qualifying ?:confused:

Geelong doesn't really have a good career record in Grand Finals, so what's your point? :confused:

That's because we've never played Port in a GF before..

My point is that he's a very important player for you guys and i have a feeling that he has struggled a bit against Geelong in the past (and i'm not counting the game where he injured his collarbone earlier in the year either)

Yeah they did, but they didnt have to play to their best...

If Geelong Flex their muscle this GF will end in tears for Port....

You dont get 9 All Australians in one team by being average....

Port have had a lot of luck to make the GF....Cousins Hammy, Crows shite performance against hawks...North Melbourne being easy beats...

Geelong didnt paly that well against a Gallant Pies and still won

But all the talk by us means nothing and we will know this in just over 48 hours who will hold the Cup...

That's because we've never played Port in a GF before..
Motlop's never played against Geelong in a GF before..

Hell, I don't think any current players have played against Geelong in a GF before..

Port have had a lot of luck to make the GF....Cousins Hammy, Crows shite performance against hawks...North Melbourne being easy beats...

But all the talk by us means nothing and we will know this in just over 48 hours who will hold the Cup...

keep dreaming Geoffa32.....keep dreaming. If you keep at it long enuff you might even believe that Geelong were lucky that they were on the other side of the draw as well.....

Port were very lucky....bahahahaha.......Port have played shit all year and just ridden their VERY LUCKY fortunes all the way to a Grand Final. :rolleyes:

Not jealous much are we Geoffa32.....:eek:

I guess we should've played you in the prelim then.

Yeah but a team that had no all australians in their side pushed them right to the line & that was after traveling back from Perth on a 6 day break where Geelong had the week off. Geelong didn't play well last week because Collingwood wouldn't allow them to.

Arrogant Rory deserves our boos!

There's a saying - "The harder I work, the luckier I get"...so I reckon Port must be the hardest working team in the AFL :thumbsu:

Geelong didn't play well against the Pies and still won - how on earth is that different from us not playing well against West Coast and still winning? I know it's a hard pill for opposition supporters to swallow - but the reality is every other team other than Geelong and Port didn't have either the skill, work rate or the belief to get the job done this year.

Keep dismissing us at your peril. Geelong can flex as much muscle as they want - I wouldn't want to them to lose while they only play at '60%' :rolleyes: Oh, and you get 9 AA the same way Lloyd got Goal of the Year...:thumbsdown:

Calm down mate. It's 4.53... I've been at work since 7am. I'm tired, I'm ready to go home, and I'm posting stupid threads... Not trolling mind you... I apologise.

Garbage - you are one of the biggest trolls going around.

Keep your crap off our board. If you are to tired to post sensibly, p1ss off to bed.

Motlop's never played against Geelong in a GF before..

Hell, I don't think any current players have played against Geelong in a GF before..

Scott Camporeale?

Do you have any idea how boring you are?

Where will the game be won and lost??