which footy players would go alright in a scrap?

911549-ballantyne-scarlett.jpg

If Ballantyne were a quokka, nobody would bat an eyelid if Rottnest visitors booted him from one end of the island to the other.

By scrap I take it you mean a fight outside a ring?

Then probably the rougher characters in the game would all translate fine. Being big, strong and scary counts for more then being technically accomplished out on the streets. You don't hire featherweight bouncers no matter how good they are at fighting, because people try it on.

In a ring, well the Rioli's got mentioned, Yarran was a good boxer as a junior, Hall has trained but as he would be a heavyweight the big question (as it is for every heavyweight) is could he take a punch? Everyone at that weight hits hard and sometimes it doesn't matter how good you are if you can't take em'.

My old BJJ coach once did a training camp for the Carlton boys, about 7-8 years ago. Said they were all rubbish grapplers. I personally find grappling to be a very heavily intuitive form of fighting, you either get how the weight, balance and momentum feel or you don't, and from the way most AFL players are useless in a melee when they hit the deck most seem to not have that.

I heard when Wayne Carey was 12 he picked a fight with Bruce Wayne and whipped his ass so bad Robin had to don the cape for 12 months afterwards.

My mum told me he impregnated an entire African nation just by glancing in it's direction.

Pretty sure he's not even human. Some kind of god, obviously.

Wayne Carey.

Roots women and then glasses them in the face afterwards. Cheats on his wife. Beat up a bikie at 16 (lol I mean really that's something a primary school bully would say about their dad to scare other kids into handing over playlunch). He did kick a ball really well and was allegedly the strongest man ever seen in Miami. Decent football commentator, guilty of sexual harassment and an acceptable captain of an AFL side. Oh and apparently good at fighting according to bigfooty.

When you lay it all out on the table this guy really is a ******* legend, isn't he?
Yep I like him

I think Leigh Mattews os the guy I least want to face angry. He was tough.
Current from our side Cam McCarthy. Very quiet guy and a slow fuse, I have seen him walked to bench with steam coming out of his hears when he does blow his top. Also looks like he knows what he's doing on training videos.

Jakey Lever is very handy with the gloves. I would love to see him take down that big flog Dixon in a Showdown even though it would cost us dearly at the tribunal.

Plugger would eat most AFL players for brunch. He was a very scary person when angry. But I reckon even Plugger would have thought twice about taking on Robbie Muir - he just lost all sense of reason when he lost his temper.

Exactly. Highlights what a dog and a squib Lloyd was.
Lol yeah after knowledge the Hawks went in to the game with the aim in taking out an Essendon player? So brown took out winderlich the smellest player on the ground. Lloyd and Essendon reacted by taking out swell & for the next decade you flogs whinge about it Lloyd even after brown & hawthorn started everything!
We see this on the field today. A gutless act of thuggery then go crying to the umpires!

Wayne Carey is apparently the greatest fighter in AFL history
I knew a bloke who was a North Melbourne rookie listed player and was on a bali trip with the duck years back. Apparently a fight broke out between a few North boys and some other guys and the Duck went to town on them. Bloke was very, very impressed with the ducks fighting skills.
But from memory didn't Careys bro get in a fight with Micky martin (who went alright himself) and Careys brother destroyed him. Also know his newphew who was with Swanny when they belted up the bloke in the city and he can handle himself.
So to make a long story short, I'm pretty sure good fighting skills run in the Carey family

I heard when Wayne Carey was 12 he picked a fight with Bruce Wayne and whipped his ass so bad Robin had to don the cape for 12 months afterwards.

My mum told me he impregnated an entire African nation just by glancing in it's direction.

Pretty sure he's not even human. Some kind of god, obviously.

Wayne Carey.

Roots women and then glasses them in the face afterwards. Cheats on his wife. Beat up a bikie at 16 (lol I mean really that's something a primary school bully would say about their dad to scare other kids into handing over playlunch). He did kick a ball really well and was allegedly the strongest man ever seen in Miami. Decent football commentator, guilty of sexual harassment and an acceptable captain of an AFL side. Oh and apparently good at fighting according to bigfooty.

When you lay it all out on the table this guy really is a ******* legend, isn't he?
Its the king mate, what do you expect? :$

I'm inclined to believe most of the stories about Carey for one simple reason - he knocked off a teammate's missus and the two people most offended by it, who happened to both be pretty tough and sizeable specimens themselves, haven't flogged the shit out of him.
Didn't Carey flinch when Arch went to hit him?

which footy players would go alright in a scrap?