Which premiership was the best?

1980 by a mile. Scum, G with 100 thou, record margin, game over at the big break, party time for the second half, scum supporters thinking it was their year, since they made the granny from 5th. Come on....that wins hands down.

Apart from that, i have to give a vote to the 95 semi against the bummers. Sitting on the wing, in the middle deck of the Southern Stand, had a mate with contacts, the tiger crew i was with was surrounded with bummers and they were partying at our expense. Turned to a mate and said, they better hope that we dont get up. The rest is history. And once again against a most hated enemy. ;)

in answer to your question 72/3 is the answer and before im reminded we lost in 72 no we didnt we were robbed and i have proof

1972 VFL Grand Final: Carlton v Richmond
Carton defeat Richmond in the highest ever scoring Grand Final. Jesaulenko kicks 7 for the winners.

As the thread was on best team, not best GF victory, one needs to look at the teams and go from there.

I can remember back to 1972 so the teams before that I can only go on what people have told me.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richmond_Premiership_Teams

But from my own memories, I am split between the '72 and the '80 side. (But you can be assured that the '32-34 side was a side to be feared:thumbsu:)

(Eh..Dicknium...we were only warming up in '72!!)

Although 1980 was great to see us beat the maggots by so much, 1967 was my favourite. I went to the game and it was so emotional after the long drought between premierships, not to mention a close, great game. The style of footy might have been slower and less spectacular than today IMO, but the excitement of the moment was like any other of today.

To describe what it was like. Well, it was like it would be if we won a premiership today. So many people never seen us win one and followed us all these years. That's how it was in 1967.

I envy you Froars.
My old man woulda been there.

I woulda been in my crib lol.

I was a year old lolol.

I must not have worded my question properly. I was asking which team was the best. Was the 1980 side a better side than 73,74? Or was 69 the best?

Sorry, I misread the title!

1973. I have the grand final record somewhere and the team was fantastic, the who's who of the RFC.
That is the year they won the under 19s, reserves and seniors, so the club was full of talent and confidence!

I must not have worded my question properly. I was asking which team was the best. Was the 1980 side a better side than 73,74? Or was 69 the best?

In relation to the best team, 1973 was absolutley chock full of talent, class and to be honest, tough hard and aggressive "Old Style Tigers".
Everyone in football hated The Tigers back then but it was hate built from envy.
(Unlike the hate most now have for Carlton which is through total lack of respect. :p)

In terms of which I enjoyed the most, 1980 by far.
Was still very young in 1973 & 1974 but by 1980 I remember vividly the thrill of the win, with my hero in the forward half & KB ripping it up.

I remember going to school in early October wearing the jumper & scarf, copping heaps but not giving a shit.

Hang in there Tiger Cubs... it is coming again... you know it is! :thumbsu:

Would have loved to be old enough to witness the seventies. I was born but not really at games where it was happening and not yet inducted as a Tiger.

That 1980 side was powerful. How we gave up top spot in the last round against bloody South Melbourne at thier home ground I will never know but boy did we make up for it. So many blokes from the Hafey era who were mature players with young guys like Weightman who was only 21.

I think he celebrated his 21st the week after. The Mosquito fleet was better than Carltons.

Wiley,Rowlings,Weightman and Raines.

I am going to cry now.......

I believe the 1980 qualifying final was the Richmond game I cherish the most as I couldnt get tickets to the GF.

I thought we were a better side in 1982 which is why that GF really upsets me.

Love the stories from the seventies though.

Would have loved to be old enough to witness the seventies. I was born but not really at games where it was happening and not yet inducted as a Tiger.

That 1980 side was powerful. How we gave up top spot in the last round against bloody South Melbourne at thier home ground I will never know but boy did we make up for it. So many blokes from the Hafey era who were mature players with young guys like Weightman who was only 21.

I think he celebrated his 21st the week after. The Mosquito fleet was better than Carltons.

Wiley,Rowlings,Weightman and Raines.

I am going to cry now.......

I believe the 1980 qualifying final was the Richmond game I cherish the most as I couldnt get tickets to the GF.

I thought we were a better side in 1982 which is why that GF really upsets me.

Love the stories from the seventies though.

LMAO....give you the mail that i was giving back then after that "shock" loss dude. Was working with a scumwood supporter at the time, which in itself paid huge dividends that year, but walked in on the Monday and said to him, no probs dude..the tigers wanted to lose that game beacause the plan was that we really didnt want to have a rest in the first week, but play 2 games get into the GF and have the rest the week before the big one and blow all comers away. Of course the tiges made me look like a genius didnt they? ;)

Its the only explanation as to what happened in that last round. Then again we could occassionally put in a bad one against bottom sides.

I remember Fitzroy killing us in the first quarter at the Junction Oval.

Happy to give it to Geelong so we could fine tune our game to beat them in Sam Newmans second last game of his career. Mick gave him a touch up and Malthouse was allowed to play in the GF because of Sam.

You may have been right with your theory.

Gee they were the good times werent they. Even Greg Strachan gives me a good feeling when I think back.

Which premiership was the best?