Who can beat us next year?

The thing I keep pinching myself about is that this team is full of kids. Guys like Wellingham, Dawes, Caff, Reid, Brown, Toovey, Sidebottom, Beams, Pendles and Daisy are only going to get better!

There are obviously going to be some genuine challengers next season though, it just seems at this time, before trades and drafts, that we are a long way ahead. Who looks to be our threat? Or will we be our own worst enemy?

I could get used to that feeling at the G' yesterday guys, I really could.

The thing I keep pinching myself about is that this team is full of kids. Guys like Wellingham, Dawes, Caff, Reid, Brown, Toovey, Sidebottom, Beams, Pendles and Daisy are only going to get better!

There are obviously going to be some genuine challengers next season though, it just seems at this time, before trades and drafts, that we are a long way ahead. Who looks to be our threat? Or will we be our own worst enemy?

Geelong came with a new gameplan in 2007 and dominated
Hawthorn came with a new gameplan in 2008 and dominated
Saints came with a new gameplan in 2009 and dominated **(Lost GF)**
Collingwood came with a new gameplan in 2010 and dominated
Collingwood maintained gameplan in 2011 and dominated???

Things change but hopefully next year it doesn't

There's a team that you played twice this year for a 1 point result.

Things change in footy. After Hawthorn won in 2008 they looked like they'd dominate for years with Franklin and Roughead up forward. Essendon lost 1 game in 2000 and nobody would have predicted that that would be their last flag. West Coast were on their way to a dominant era with Judd, Cousins, Kerr and Cox, but they never got that next flag. Geelong almost look like they've under achieved with just the two flags.

And now Collingwood are going to dominate. I mean, who can beat them ?:eek:

We're yet to hit our peak. I always thought the next 2 years were our true window.

As a club, our comparative advantages are now coming to the fore.

Certainly with teams on the rise they will be looking to exploit the weaknesses of Coll. Your forward line being the obvious

forward line is a main concern...jack anthony doest cut it, dawes is good but not great, cloke enough has already been said.
small fowards are an issue

There's a team that you played twice this year for a 1 point result.

Things change in footy. After Hawthorn won in 2008 they looked like they'd dominate for years with Franklin and Roughead up forward. Essendon lost 1 game in 2000 and nobody would have predicted that that would be their last flag. West Coast were on their way to a dominant era with Judd, Cousins, Kerr and Cox, but they never got that next flag. Geelong almost look like they've under achieved with just the one flag.

And now Collingwood are going to dominate. I mean, who can beat them ?:eek:

you are serious??

at this time have to say the teams that finished 2, 3 & 4 wouldn't beat the pies next year. But I'd wait until half way through next season before asking this.

isn't there enough to enjoy at the moment ?!!

That's what Hawthorn said!

Geelong came with a new gameplan in 2007 and dominated
Hawthorn came with a new gameplan in 2008 and dominated
Saints came with a new gameplan in 2009 and dominated **(Lost GF)**
Collingwood came with a new gameplan in 2010 and dominated
Collingwood maintained gameplan in 2011 and dominated???

Things change but hopefully next year it doesn't

Good points.

The Eagles thought they had a few more shots at the cup, So did my mob, Saints should have won last year but didn't.

Don't get ahead of yourselves like alot of other supporters of others teams have done in the past, it usually ends in disapointment.

Enjoy this years win and take it one year at a time.

With the Gold Coast and GWS taking a lot of the draft picks over the next few years, and geelong, st kilda and bulldogs ageing and the Collingwood list maturing....

forward line is a main concern...jack anthony doest cut it, dawes is good but not great, cloke enough has already been said.
small fowards are an issue

Ok, I'll have a go.

We have a lot to look forward to in regards to watching our forward line. Dawes is a massive talent. Cloke is one of the best marking forwards in the game. Than there is Didak who is elite. Dick, Sidey, Beams, with mids resting in Thomas, Pendles, Swan, talls resting in Jolly and Brown. On toip of the delivery from an elite midfield, it will probably combine to be the best forward line in the game. All that aside, what Crawford just said on the nine footy show is right, 'Collingwood fans suck it up, your side is the best side in 2010'.

... You can suck it up too. ;)

Even when Geelong toated in 2007, they had Selwood & little else in their youth dept.

Compare it to ours & the sky is the limit with Sidebottom, Beams & co.

I thought Sidebottom was Norm Smith to be honest.

How good is our midfield going to be.

Swan, Pendles, Thomas, Sidebottom, Beams, Wellingham, Didak playing there for periods. I like Blair too, but he is not as good as any of the above mentioned players.

I think we should keep Davis for another year. He is a legend of Collingwood and has given us alot of joy, he could turn his form around and play some good footy who knows.

There are some exciting young kids playing in our reserves too. Watch out for Luke Rounds in 2010.

What about our spine. Brown, Reid, Dawes and Cloke. That's a premiership spine. That's a fact.

Congratulations on the win, but I would be sitting back enjoying the win and not even considering a Dynasty, those are things you consider after you've achieved the results.

It is also important to remember Collingwood was a minute/bounce/umpire call/straight kick away from losing this years final. I would not say the 2011 premiership is already in the bag.

You would have to think that Collingwood, Geelong, Dogs, Saints are still up there with a chance to win. There is also the Melbourne, Carlton, Sydney, Hawthorn.... that are attempting to bridge the gap.

I know 2011 is far away but I can't see any strong sides other than Collingwood.

Cats, Saints and Dogs will be passed it, and than who will be the next challenger. Blues, Swans, Freo I can't see being a serious challenger, Hawks maybe able to regroup and challenge.

Outside of that, NM, Rich and Melb have promise but are a few years away.

Essendon is my tip for the wooden spoon.

jim101 needs to see a psychiatrist.

Bear in mind jimmy boy that next year marks the Blues' 16 year drought and counting. 3 spoons in the last decade. Haven't won a final for close to a decade.

Disgraceful.

And there they are the pies supporters we all know and love...clubs not a joke mate, we are in a lot better shape they your mob. Next year should be fun

Serious lulz.

As for next year, anyone on any given day. We're not unbeatable by any stretch of the imagination.

Let's just enjoy this though hey?

As has been pointed out, pies are still on the rise but other teams will be seeking to exploit any weak points. Melbourne, Carlton, Essendon and Hawthorn I reckon will be tough teams next year. North and Richmond will be up and comers with good coaches. Geelong, saints and dogs will be good but will also have to rebuild the next few years.

Hopefully the pies continue to mature and get better. I thought the start of this season they would get 3rd or so and be real contenderd next year or the year after, but this year they've played magnificent.