Who has never even played football?

I haven't played football. But I love watching it and consider myself to have at least an adequate knowledge of the game. To claim that you have to have played it to have an opinion on it is as ridiculous as saying you have to have been in politics to have an opinion on an election.
You actually post well about the game. I agree that you don't necessarily have to have played to be able to understand it. Having played can help and coaching broadens ones appreciation but I'm guessing that most of those who post on BF would have played at a level where the tactics would have amounted to not much more than "kick it up the guts" or "handball to a mate running past".

This is especially apparent when one reads the rubbish that a fair number of Crow trolls here put out. One can only conclude their only contact with a footy was during kick to kick during lunch break at their school. Even then they probably relied on "waxing" with a friend who could actually take a mark.:rolleyes:

GOOD thread. Should separate the men from the boys, so to speak.

You can never question a player's hardness, or even decision making on occasions, if you've never played at any level yourself.

what about other contact sports ? I played rugby for 15 years..I reckon i can comment on a players committment
Different sports,but you know when the players are putting their bodies on the line or giving it the token effort

Played from about 9 until about 5 years ago.

Played in 3 junior flags, did alright, made a few rep teams from a country NSW town as a junior. Did my knee 2 weeks before turning 18, missed the GF (which we lost by 3 pts:mad:). Then missed the next 2 seasons - first no health insurance, so had to wait 12 months with a pre-existing injury, then the reco.

Moved to Adelaide, and played for about 4 clubs, just following mates out for a kick, until I stepped in a pothole & removed what was left of the cartilige in my left knee.

My surgeon told me - "I'm not suggesting you give up footy, I'm telling you to give it up, otherwise I'll see you in 5-10 years to put in an artificial knee".

So I wussed out.

Well, that was my career... Now I live vicariously through my eldest (who if he keeps going the way he is, will surpass me by the time he's about 14!!!)

I am the best player on my team, I reckon I will make AFL if I keep trying hard enough. ROFL I love smashing opposition players its funny to see the smaller kids roll on ground crying. Haha I think of all you nerds when when that happens.

Hacked it out until under 16s, played a few good games in the midfield IIRC but spent most of my time tagging. Good honest player, never had the mad skillz unfortunately.

Played a few games for West Coburg back in the day but was delisted after a season because I couldnt speak arabic.

Coincidentally West Coburg had the same guernsey as St Kilda hence my love for the Sainters.

Played up until 17, involved in junior coaching for the last 6 years.

My playing ability is best summed up with my recolection of one game U14s.

Team I was in was getting flogged, all our team behind the centreline except me, being left between CHF and FF just in case (in reality because there was no great likelyhood of the ball coming my way), my direct opponent has gone down to their forward line.

The ball by some miracle ends up in my hands there I am running into an open goal with nobody within 50 metres, I hear the booming voice of our coach screaming "give it to someone else". (Bastard)

No greater personal motivation than his bloody comment, a couple of years later the team played in a u16 GF and without any boasting and whilst endeavouring to maintain all modesty, I can tell you I was the best, most magnificent, skilled ...

....water boy at the game, didn't even make the bench.

I played for Ashburton United until I was 17 and had to stop in order to keep gigging. Unfortunately a broken thumb and a cracked ankle weren't conducive to live music performance.

You don't need to play to be able to comment on the game. Who here has played at the AFL level? Surely only someone who has played at the highest level can pass comment? :rolleyes:

Played at ages 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 21 and 22.

Pretty ordinary player, highlights would be best on ground in colts Prelim and a colts flag. Lowlights would be running 2/3 the length of the ground and kicking it straight to the opposition and having 6 goals kicked on us in a 22 goal thrashing :eek:

I played from U/10s until my mid 30s (when work and other sporting commitments permitted) and I have coached a senior thirds team. I have (briefly) played colts for a SANFL club, one senior club in Adelaide, one senior club in Sydney and one club in the UK. I have also played one game in Denmark. I have lost two senior finals, both were double chance games. Other than that I have never played in a losing senior final that matters.

Whilst I think you can understand the tactics I find it hard to believe that you can truly understand the bravado, courage required and the gamesmanship that happens on the field unless you have played the game. But then again I have no idea what it is like not to have played the game.

Just be reading the posts of many of the old slappers around here you can tell they've never had the joy of participating in the field of battle that footy is.

Ridiculous thread really. You don't need to play a sport to be able to analyse it.

I played a few years of club footy and school footy when I was younger, but i've got more knowledge from a lifetime of watching the game than I do from the few years I played it.

I agree. I played Footy all through school, umpired junior footy for 5 years before I played Rugby. I watch every AFL game each week as well as do all the dreamteam/ supercoach teams, adn I have much more of an idead now compared to when I played. The notion that those have never played have no understanding of the game is ridiculous. What about the old guys at the footy clubs who have been members and part of the team for 50 years but have never played due to injuries or what not. Who would you rather teach you abut the game. Them or Anthony Rocca?

I'm starting this season. I've always wanted to play football but I kept getting distracted by other sports.

No time like the present...

Good for you man that's the right attitude. You'll be an all australian hero & great great man like me, qualified to comment on the game in no time.

Who has never even played football?