Strategy Who should be our next coach?

Who should coach the Adelaide Crows in 2025?

• Simon Goodwin - poach him from Melbourne

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Scott Burns - promote from within

• Brett Montgomery - bring him to coach, not to assist

Any chance we could get teague back as a forward coach?

throw the kitchen sink to try and turn the head of a longmire?
Barnacles use a special glue to attach themselves to their home (an animal, the hull of a ship, even a floating soccer ball etc).
1711866423349.png
It's incredibly strong.
The AFC has that glue and has used it extensively.

VB? Burns? Nicks?
We're stuck with them.

You’re Nathan Buckley, you can live in Melbourne, get paid big bucks to talk footy and you shag Instagram birds.

Or move to SA to coach a loser club that habitually shoots itself in the foot, with shit administration, shit recruiting and shit assistants, in a league with a massive vic bias.

Decisions, decisions.

You’re Nathan Buckley, you can live in Melbourne, get paid big bucks to talk footy and you shag Instagram birds.

Or move to SA to coach a loser club that habitually shoots itself in the foot, with s**t administration, s**t recruiting and s**t assistants, in a league with a massive vic bias.

Decisions, decisions.
Crows logic.

Why pay for a multi million dollar coach like Buckley, when you can get a cheaper inferior version and still pack Adelaide Oval each home game?

Buckley wouldn't help much, dunno why anyone wants him. Had a similar chip kick game plan. Look at how much better collingwood are under McRae compared to buckley. May as well hire leppitsch if we want to try an already failed coach

Or move to SA to coach a loser club that habitually shoots itself in the foot, with s**t administration, s**t recruiting and s**t assistants, in a league with a massive vic bias.

Decisions, decisions.

I’m sure best mate Sando has been singing our praises after we screwed him over

Decisions, decisions.
You forgot, moving here for less money as well...big decisions

Buckley wouldn't help much, dunno why anyone wants him. Had a similar chip kick game plan. Look at how much better collingwood are under McRae compared to buckley. May as well hire leppitsch if we want to try an already failed coach
Assuming he keeps the same gameplan. He’s had a couple of years in the media to observe all game plans and what’s working.

The senior coach makes a big and often immediate difference to the same players - to argue otherwise is bull shit. Malcolm Blight took over in 1997 and won a premiership that same year. Luke Beveridge took over the Bulldogs and won a premiership in his second year. Craig McRae took over Collingwood and won a premiership in his second year. Gold Coast already look miles better with a proper coach in Hardwick.

You only have to pay six months.

It won't be because we can't afford it, but because they don't think it was a mistake. They'll back him in.
Do we?

Or is that just for clubs operating under AFL special funding assistance?

I think it's now standard for all new coaching contracts signed?
"While previous guidelines stipulated six-month payouts for coaches at clubs who were reliant on AFL funding, coaches can now negotiate 12-month payout clauses or longer. Similar clauses for assistant and development coaches have been expanded from one-to-three months up to six months."

Well, that sounds like there's a reasonable chance we wouldn't have.

"While previous guidelines stipulated six-month payouts for coaches at clubs who were reliant on AFL funding, coaches can now negotiate 12-month payout clauses or longer. Similar clauses for assistant and development coaches have been expanded from one-to-three months up to six months."

Well, that sounds like there's a reasonable chance we wouldn't have.

Handout teams must by afl proclamation; however that doesn’t stop teams from negotiating them in because they want them

I don’t think Nicks had the negotiating hand to refuse

All you campaigners saying Buckley can piss off. He's a loser. If he didn't win anything with Collingwood and all the advantages and resources they have, what the hell makes you think he'll succeed at Adelaide?
Voss was a loser too… but starting to improve. I reckon Buckley will have learned a lot from his time at Collingwood and even more now he’s outside looking in. He’s a cluey bloke.

Who ever it is he will need to have a strong character. There is a lot of fixing to be done at the club. Our recruiting department needs a clean out and that will require a strong coach to get that done. He would also need to demand he has control over the coaching team, a team he selects. Then will need to clean out some of the dead wood in the players group. He must have the control so he will need to be an experienced coach not a first timer. There are not that many around. Buckley is one. There are other out there but they are already coaching and would cost a shit load to get them.

Strategy Who should be our next coach?