News Murray Davis joins as Coaching Director

Nicks will be able to pretend he's Hinkley and park himself on the bench while the other coaches run things from the box.
Nicks apparently good with the players so is freed up to spend more time with them... whilst Davis does more of the actual coaching.

Hopefully he is going to take over from Nicks with strategy & matchday moves...
TBH - I'm just happy they've found someone with a reasonable degree of experience who's coming from a successful environment

And hopefully he bring some new ideas that can add value to our program

Whether or not our club and incumbent coaches take anything on board is an entirely different matter

TBH - I'm just happy they've found someone with a reasonable degree of experience who's coming from a successful environment

And hopefully he bring some new ideas that can add value to our program

Whether or not our club and incumbent coaches take anything on board is an entirely different matter
Btw, we are not making any other coaching changes, so can rule out Montgomery.

Muzz is a great guy and will be a massive addition to the Crows staff. He was in competition for Nobe's job at the Lions and IMHO he should have had it in the bag. Lions loss, Crows gain, as has been true for recent migrations. Get behind him!

Attachments

• 364309839006230391.jpg
    364309839006230391.jpg
    237 KB · Views: 30
No matter what we think of Nicks, adding more resources in the coaching box is not something that should be held against him or criticised.

Premiership winning coaches at big clubs add former senior coaches, they add guys like Graham Wright to oversee their programs. Nothing wrong with that.

Couple of issues I do have though, recent interviews with Silvers and Kelly...

Assumed we'd take the next step based on last years performance, at the same time claimed they knew our improvement would not be linear, and because of both of these things left it until mid year to identify the need for additional support.

I'd rather an attitude of "we're better, we should take the next step in 2024, who can we add and who can we remove to make sure this happens".

And I assume we are, but we better be out of the race for Wright, because they both really downplayed the importance of the role. When asked what he'd be doing at the club they both pretty much said there is no role, it's not something we can't live without, we'd just make something up for him.

Maybe true, but not how you make someone feel like they'd be doing something with great purpose.

Actually, the question I'd really like the answer to, and I know they'd never tell us, but I'd like to know if he was offered Adam Kelly's role.

No matter what we think of Nicks, adding more resources in the coaching box is not something that should be held against him or criticised.

Premiership winning coaches at big clubs add former senior coaches, they add guys like Graham Wright to oversee their programs. Nothing wrong with that.

Couple of issues I do have though, recent interviews with Silvers and Kelly...

Assumed we'd take the next step based on last years performance, at the same time claimed they knew our improvement would not be linear, and because of both of these things left it until mid year to identify the need for additional support.

I'd rather an attitude of "we're better, we should take the next step in 2024, who can we add and who can we remove to make sure this happens".

And I assume we are, but we better be out of the race for Wright, because they both really downplayed the importance of the role. When asked what he'd be doing at the club they both pretty much said there is no role, it's not something we can't live without, we'd just make something up for him.

Maybe true, but not how you make someone feel like they'd be doing something with great purpose.

Actually, the question I'd really like the answer to, and I know they'd never tell us, but I'd like to know if he was offered Adam Kelly's role.
It would have had to be higher than Adam Kellys role - more like Nigel Smarts old COO role which is effectively in charge of everything and 2IC to CEO Silvers. He is that Senior - remember Carlton are chasing him for CEO. how do you compete with that?

Well I think you give him a career path to CEO at adelaide from COO with a long term deal but with a get out clause if he decides he wants to go run Tassie when it enters the comp. Thats very in favour of the candidate but two years of Wright and Kelly gone would be a leg up.... even if he didnt stay long term.

Adam Kelly knows of wright came he would be gone... no matter

It would have had to be higher than Adam Kellys role - more like Nigel Smarts old COO role which is effectively in charge of everything and 2IC to CEO Silvers. He is that Senior - remember Carlton are chasing him for CEO. how do you compete with that?

Well I think you give him a career path to CEO at adelaide from COO with a long term deal but with a get out clause if he decides he wants to go run Tassie when it enters the comp. Thats very in favour of the candidate but two years of Wright and Kelly gone would be a leg up.... even if he didnt stay long term.

Adam Kelly knows of wright came he would be gone... no matter

100% agree. I would have thought a big expansion of Kelly’s role and other things.

Honestly. Graham Wright could probably have a personal assistant do the boring parts of Adam Kelly’s role.

You’re right though. If he wants to be a ceo or something with the AFL give him whatever he thinks he needs to round out his experience and resume and tell him we only need him for a couple of years if he wants to move on to something bigger and better.

It's appearing that way as he is effectively between Nicks & the other coaches... & does not sound like Burns is a senior assistant anymore... so probably a case of being nice to Burns.

Sounds like he will take over some of Nicks' duties, which is basically an admission that he's not up to the senior coach role but don't want to admit they got the extension wrong.
I see it differently. Reminds me of the review at Geelong when they wanted to free up Bomber Thomson to be able to focus on coaching the players, less on meetings. Interview with Davis indicates he’s doing more of that admin work, organising training sessions etc. So not replacing Burns as a senior assistant, who is also a line coach, more admin plus giving Nicks and other coaches feedback about what he’s seeing.

I’m in favour of it. Getting someone from Brisbane is clever imo

I see it differently. Reminds me of the review at Geelong when they wanted to free up Bomber Thomson to be able to focus on coaching the players, less on meetings. Interview with Davis indicates he’s doing more of that admin work, organising training sessions etc. So not replacing Burns as a senior assistant, who is also a line coach, more admin plus giving Nicks and other coaches feedback about what he’s seeing.

I’m in favour of it. Getting someone from Brisbane is clever imo
As I've said and been slagged for, training needs a complete overhaul IMO based on the sessions I got to this year. if murray takes that over and gets it elite that would be a win but I would hope his main task is not letting nicks and his accomplices eat their own shit....

Matthew could talk his way out of a locked cell and needs someone to offer alternative opinions and options without being railroaded.

No way. I am not in the coaching profession, but flattered you think I could be.

I am just after a coach with a footy brain so we stop making all of these obvious errors.
Trying to consider the potential positives.

Perhaps the stuff Davis is going to be doing, gives Nicks more time to do the actual coaching.

Don't forget, Burns was also highly regarded prior to coming to the Crows, he can't have just become bad.

So, yes I am likely clutching at straws, perhaps we've been underfunding the football department and this gives Nicks assistance he should have always had (just in whatever name we decided ) from the start.

Perhaps the stuff Davis is going to be doing, gives Nicks more time to do the actual coaching.

Don't forget, Burns was also highly regarded prior to coming to the Crows, he can't have just become bad.

So, yes I am likely clutching at straws, perhaps we've been underfunding the football department and this gives Nicks assistance he should have always had (just in whatever name we decided ) from the start.
Was Burns highly regarded or been a long time assistant which gave him that cred?

Yeah you are because the errors Nicks made are so basic, it’s not due to being busy, it’s due to just shit judgement. Changed gameplan, stupid match ups, selections, attitude and just think about getting a cooked Smith to a trigger, stating he’s a big part of the future, then dropping resulting in us now being tight for list spots that we can’t even participate in a deep draft. That’s just a coach with shit for brains and more time to think is actually a worry for someone like Nicks.

Not sure why, he’d missed out on a couple of head coaching jobs and someone looked at the teams he was at, and I believe none of them did very well.

Was Burns highly regarded or been a long time assistant which gave him that cred?

Yeah you are because the errors Nicks made are so basic, it’s not due to being busy, it’s due to just shit judgement. Changed gameplan, stupid match ups, selections, attitude and just think about getting a cooked Smith to a trigger, stating he’s a big part of the future, then dropping resulting in us now being tight for list spots that we can’t even participate in a deep draft. That’s just a coach with shit for brains and more time to think is actually a worry for someone like Nicks.

Every coach changes and evolves the game plan each year - it’s more of a criticism of a coach is they stand still and stagnation the game plan

The game is evolving and teams need to evolve.

In 2023 we were defensively poor - there was a need to tighten up our whole of ground defence

I don’t buy into this change of game plan narrative - there are so many in this forum just following each other.

Facts are - to be a premiership team you have to concede less than 80pta, we needed to improve our defensive actions as a team.

Personally - I believe players and whole of club didn’t handle the weight of expectations coming into 2024 season - this was the biggest issue and the reason for our slow start.

Every coach changes and evolves the game plan each year - it’s more of a criticism of a coach is they stand still and stagnation the game plan

In 2023 we were defensively poor - there was a need to tighten up our whole of ground defence

I don’t buy into this change of game plan narrative - there are so many in this forum just following each other.

Facts are - to be a premiership team you have to concede less than 80pta, we needed to improve our defensive actions as a team.

Personally - I believe players and whole of club didn’t handle the weight of expectations coming into 2024 season - this was the biggest issue and the reason for our slow start.

lol. Reckon you’ve listened to the club too much.

Fine, refine the gameplan, measure of a good coach is not to **** it up and change a strength to a weakness. Even Wayne conceded Nicks went rogue bonkers.

But let’s drill down on your claim we were defensively poor and need to be under 80. Well we were the 9th best defence and averaged 81.6 points against. That’s not defensively poor.
So how did this new gameplan go? Well in 2024 we averaged 83.6 against, we went backwards! Clearly it worked!! If you can’t recognise how we slowed our play down in the preseason and the early rounds and then we resorted to a more attacking game plan, I suggest you watch some replays. Plus we actually acknowledged we spent preseason focusing on defence.

Finally if you’re going to make a bullshit claim that posters have followed each other in this opinion, perhaps actually do some research before you blindly parrot the club.

I think there was a degree of not handling the expectations (it's something we've struggled with as a club since '98), but they definitely changed up the gameplan this year.

lol. Reckon you’ve listened to the club too much.

Fine, refine the gameplan, measure of a good coach is not to **** it up and change a strength to a weakness. Even Wayne conceded Nicks went rogue bonkers.

But let’s drill down on your claim we were defensively poor and need to be under 80. Well we were the 9th best defence and averaged 81.6 points against. That’s not defensively poor.
So how did this new gameplan go? Well in 2024 we averaged 83.6 against, we went backwards! Clearly it worked!! If you can’t recognise how we slowed our play down in the preseason and the early rounds and then we resorted to a more attacking game plan, I suggest you watch some replays. Plus we actually acknowledged we spent preseason focusing on defence.

Finally if you’re going to make a bullshit claim that posters have followed each other in this opinion, perhaps actually do some research before you blindly parrot the club.
If we do not go all out attack from the start of next season ... then all the darkest naysayers are unfortunately 100% right.

Look at Melbourne for more proof that being "contested beasts" is not the way forward.

We have a forward line that every club would drool over, it was the height of arrogance to somehow imagine we could keep our attacking ways and just "add more defence".

If Mr Davis wants to improve his CV, be considered a person of influence (which is what good coaches are) - he will be front and centre explaining this fact to our existing coaching team.

I think there was a degree of not handling the expectations (it's something we've struggled with as a club since '98), but they definitely changed up the gameplan this year.
It’s interesting that his explanation is 100% the same as what that Crows official told me when I caught up with him after round 5.

As a recipient of my PM after the meeting you can vouch for it.

Could we have a club plant?

Not sure why, he’d missed out on a couple of head coaching jobs and someone looked at the teams he was at, and I believe none of them did very well.
Probably, but I do remember him being a highly regarded assistant coach.

That doesn't make him a head coach, but surely he shouldn't have regressed

From memory Burns was on the radar of a a lot of head coaching roles and assistant roles.

We all have our own takes on why Nick's has failed to date, but as I said I was more looking for positives of the appointment.

News Murray Davis joins as Coaching Director