Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2025

• Collingwood

Votes: 126 52.1%
  • Carlton

Votes: 116 47.9%

Really?

A 21 games were 'memorable matchwinning performances that people will be talking about in 10 years'?

Somehow, I don't think so.

I mean, we're not even talking about any of his 'matchwinning performances' two weeks after they happen, let alone 10 years.

What are the biggest 3 games in which Cripps has turned in a matchwinning performance?
Fudger I'm still waiting for you to produce a game better than Crippa's 2019 performance vs Brisbane.

Until then I'm done with this silly game where you've taken it upon yourself to be the arbiter of nonsense.

I really enjoyed Carlton being betta than Collingwood by a tiny margin of percentage in 2024 - the only improvement on the result would have been - an even tinier margin to see the same result- Carlton kicked the reigning premiers out of a finals birth - despite a Mt Olympus sized injury toll . Amazing effort to kick the rivals in the gonads!!!

We can understand the contorted nonsense that these dirty birders come up with - after losing to flash teams like um....Essendon. and having to beg umpire assistance to beat Nor(f)ths....

Poor Collingwood - just not collinGOOD enough - oh well.

Yep.

Merely logical use of the respective terms.

Far too much to expect the Carlton faithful who require ongoing remedial English classes to understand.
Keep sooking and whining - I love it!!!

The Adelaide game was not a 10+ goal belting. Why are you changing the topic?
The topic is that for a match winner game context is important.

A bloke who knocks in an injury time goal in 5-0 romp isn't a match winner, the bloke who scores an injury time winner to give his side a 3-2 win is the match winner.

A bloke in the NBA who gets a couple of late 3s in a 30 point blow out isn't a match winner, but the bloke who demands the ball and hits big shots down the stretch in clutch time when the game is on the line is.

When it is a blowout game, their is no match winner. Cripps stat paddling in a comfortable victory let alone a belting of mediocre team isn't a match winning performance.

Daicos is the bloke who regularly steps up in hotly contested big games that can go either way, he is the difference, the match winner.

A bloke who knocks in an injury time goal in 5-0 romp isn't a match winner, the bloke who scores an injury time winner to give his side a 3-2 win is the match winner.

A bloke in the NBA who gets a couple of late 3s in a 30 point blow out isn't a match winner, but the bloke who demands the ball and hits big shots down the stretch in clutch time when the game is on the line is.

When it is a blowout game, their is no match winner. Cripps stat paddling in a comfortable victory let alone a belting of mediocre team isn't a match winning performance.

Daicos is the bloke who regularly steps up in hotly contested big games that can go either way, he is the difference, the match winner.
It is really a chicken and egg situation, and I'm sure if Carlton were a better team, Cripps would have had far more opportunities to be a matchwinner, and in far bigger games.

But the reality of the situation is that he hasn't had that opportunity, and we can't change the vernacular to appease the desperate Carlton supporters who want validation of their superstar player by using the term 'matchwinner' when it is far from appropriate for him.

Superstar
Champion
Contested Beast
Great Leader
Ripping Bloke

Sure, use all of the above terms.

But 'matchwinner' he's not. Particularly when compared to the other great 'matchwinners' currently in the system, let alone from yesteryear.

It was not a blow out win. Again, clear you didn't watch the game or many Carlton games at all to be frank. Especially with takes about Cripps "statpadding".

Well if we're talking matchwinners, surely that Richmond bloke Martin should be mentioned. Although like Cripps when he was early 20s he wasn't the big game beast he was to become.

One thing Crpps does well is take a beating. Plays hurt and still does something. Daics does that too, eg mud 23, when he played with a bung leg.

Daics is a bit ahead of where Cripps was at the same age. Forget Brownlows though.

Edit: you better not start calling him Faics!

Well if we're talking matchwinners, surely that Richmond bloke Martin should be mentioned. Although like Cripps when he was early 20s he wasn't the big game beast he was to become.

One thing Crpps does well is take a beating. Plays hurt and still does something. Daics does that too, eg mud 23, when he played with a bung leg.

Faics is a bit ahead of whereVripps was at the same age. Forget Brownlows though.
When Cripps was in his 3rd season he averaged 27 touches, 16.9 cp (2nd in the AFL that year) and 8.8 clearances (the 2nd most of all time) a game lmao.

Cripps has always been a beast who's carried his team on his back when the going got tough. Unfortunately his team just sucked for most of his career which meant his efforts went mostly unrewarded.

Love this assessment.

One squad is not as good but perennially overachieve.

The other squad is better but continually underachieve.

Maybe the assessment is plain wrong?

The old adage - A team of champions wont beat a champion team.
Pies guys seem to know and play their role better at times. Coaching?

Not saying 2025 wont be the year of the Blue though. They are certainly due and it wouldn't shock me to see them in a Grand Final.

Dont know how anyone could knock Cripps or Daicos.
Both are absolute beasts and true game winners off their own boot.

Whether one has 12 and one has 20 game winning performances...who cares. Sit back and enjoy both until they're playing against your team.

Dont know how anyone could knock Cripps or Daicos.
Both are absolute beasts and true game winners off their own boot.

Whether one has 12 and one has 20 game winning performances...who cares. Sit back and enjoy both until they're playing against your team.
What are the matchwinning performances from Cripps that stand out to you, that you'll be talking about in 10 years?

I've seen multiple. I cant recall specific games but I know ive seen them.
I also cant recall Daicos' ones either... I just dont recall specific games like that.

Daicos probably will have more by the end of his career, but no doubt Cripps wins games.

The old adage - A team of champions wont beat a champion team.
Pies guys seem to know and play their role better at times. Coaching?

Not saying 2025 wont be the year of the Blue though. They are certainly due and it wouldn't shock me to see them in a Grand Final.
Go through and rank the best 30 players to form a combined Carlton / Collingwood squad.

You might be surprised at the result...

Go through and rank the best 30 players to form a combined Carlton / Collingwood squad.

You might be surprised at the result...
Other than Daicos the top 5 at this very moment would consist of Carlton players.

1. Daicos
2. Cripps
3. Curnow
4. Walsh
5. Wietering

Something like that off the top of my head. Just my opinion though.

Other than Daicos the top 5 would consist of Carlton players.

1. Daicos
2. Cripps
3. Curnow
4. Walsh
5. Wietering

Something like that off the top of my head.
See, this is the trick everyone falls for.

I too would have Daicos followed by Cripps, Curnow and Weitering. I'd probably even have TDK next, but not Walsh based on the way he finished 2024. But McKay and Walsh would also be between 6 and 10.

So the players ranked 6 to 30?

When comparing apples with
See, this is the trick everyone falls for.

I too would have Daicos followed by Cripps, Curnow and Weitering. I'd probably even have TDK next, but not Walsh based on the way he finished 2024. But McKay and Walsh would also be between 6 and 10.

So the players ranked 6 to 30?
No I mean (really) so what?

Both teams have different strengths and weaknesses and both teams have to draw on different ways to score.

Last three years were a toss of the coin in every match - will be the same this year.

Carlton matches up better against some teams Collingwodo find it hard to beat and the same goes for COllingwood against other teams...

It was not a blow out win. Again, clear you didn't watch the game or many Carlton games at all to be frank. Especially with takes about Cripps "statpadding".
It is 'stat paddling"

And it wasn't me who was putting up 20 match winning games from Crippa, it was Walshy.

He failed to note game context as a consideration, and just made a list of any big Crippa game in a win.

And yes, we all know Walshy uses stats and footy wire comparisons as his evidence.

It is 'stat paddling"

And it wasn't me who was putting up 20 match winning games from Crippa, it was Walshy.

He failed to note game context as a consideration, and just made a list of any big Crippa game in a win.

And yes, we all know Walshy uses stats and footy wire comparisons as his evidence.
Uhhhh old mate Fadgey refused to give us any sort of criteria to go off. He just said matchwinning performances by Cripps lmao.

A completely ambiguous term that is open to individual interpretation and opinion...

Not my fault Fudger wasn't more specific.

But also have to laugh at 'uses stats as evidence'... Forgot factual information is now considered nonsense around here.

It is 'stat paddling"

And we know you don't watch Carlton games. Cripps padding his stats is up there with the Ned Long thing as craziest thing I've heard on BF