Opinion Why are the interstate teams so bad? How do we fix them?

I do think that the AFL needs to look at if having ten teams in one state, where clubs like Richmond and Collingwood are capable of drawing huge crowds while clubs like North struggle is sustainable for the next 50 or so years.

I also think that non Vic teams deserve a better share of marquee games.

However neither factors are linked to on field performance that much I don’t think.
I'm all for less teams in VIC. Reduce the number of teams and the big teams in VIC get bigger with less competition.

Imagine Collingwood, Richmond, Essendon, Hawthorn if they were the only teams in the state?

Interstate teams looked to have dominated recently. Dogs won interstate all finals series, Demons won interstate all finals series, GWS and Sydney away from home much of season and made finals. If you good enough you just find a way to win in most situations. So the assertion interstate teams are so bad is flawed in the thinking.

It was a pisstake on alarmism.

From 2007, non-Victorian teams have made the finals 48 times from 111 possibilities = 43%
Victorian teams have made the finals 72 times from 150 possibilities = 48%

The gap closes if you remove a few years as possibilities from the startups GC and GWS.

Eh, Barassi also said "It would be good for football" if Richmond folded. Try getting over that!

Since 2007 there have been 120 top 8 spots up for grabs, at seasons end Vic teams have filled 72 of them and only once has the balance fallen to non Vic clubs and that was 2011 with 5-3 split, in contrast Vic clubs have out numbered non Vic clubs 9 times with quite a few having a 6-2 split.

What's your proposal? More home games for non-Vics? 5 premiership points for a win? Vic clubs excluded from the first round of the draft?

Premierships are hard to win and it's that bit harder for small clubs like Port, but I haven't heard them complain like you're doing. The irony is that they went down at home to a visiting small club.

its probably because the genuine home ground advantage non-victorian teams get means that teams are making the top 4 when in reality theyre not quite at the same level, the same as geelong.

If you're a pretty good non-victorian team (or geelong), you are probably winning 10 of your home games, and you only need to pick up another 4-5 away games to be top 4. Sure theyre at a home ground disadvantage, but its also often against teams down the bottom of the ladder, so youre likely to win just by being a better team anyway. Thus it can inflate the win/loss record and you can make top 4 by being just a pretty good team, when perhaps you were closer to the 6-7 range.

Conversely, victorian teams (minus geelong) while they dont travel less, they also get far fewer genuine home ground advantages to offset it (no, richmond vs collingwood at the mcg is not a home ground advantage). They play far more often on neutral territory, and normally against 1-2 of the better teams (as theres normally at least 1 melbourne team near the top), so in order to finish in the top 4 they need to be the genuinely better team on a level playing field more often.

it could help to explain why port have lost the last 2 prelims to melbourne teams, and brisbane 5 of their 6 finals at home (4 to melbourne teams, including a prelim). perhaps those 2 teams were not really top 2/4 quality, but simply got there on the back of a few extra wins from home games.

also, i dont think the "have to get on a plane" thing is an issue anymore as sports sciences have improved. its often talking up as being why non-victorian teams are at a disadvantage despite getting 11 genuine home games. We are seeing more and more non-victorians hitting the 250-300+ games played marks. for example, 100+ year old richmond has 4 300+ game players. Sydney (as sydney) and Adelaide already have 4, brisbane, port, freo 2 and west coast 1. We're also seeing travelling teams (regardless of the state) winning away from home multiple weeks more often. 30 years ago when recovery was a night at the pub maybe it was an issue, but nowadays it just isnt.

The win inflation probably effects the bottom of the ladder as well. if there are 2 equally bad teams from a victorian and non-victorian state, the non victorian team probably wins more games just from the home ground advantage, so get worse draft picks and minor improvements probably result in bigger jumps up the ladder, so that probably impacts the ability to rebuild fully.

Sigh.....the only one deflecting here is you ...your team choke....that's it ...it doesn't need an AFL investigation....what it does need is for you to own it and stop DEFLECATING
Notice how im giving factual stats and links to actual events whilst you're just talking shit, i think if anyone deflecating its you, now let the adults talk...lol

Notice how im giving factual stats and links to actual events whilst you're just talking sh*t, i think if anyone deflecating its you, now let the adults talk...lol
If you want to live in denial ..so be it ..but it must be said just like you don't seem to have any idea what accountability is it seems that blind spot extends to the word adult too

Oh boo hoo.

Most Melbourne fans alive have not seen their team win a flag, nor Saints fans.

Honestly the interstate club whinging from people like yourself is getting tiresome.

It's no one else's fault but Port Adelaide you keep failing in final.

You had all the cards/everything stacked in your favour last night and still got hammered..

Ask yourself if the Port Culture and people running the club is capable of winning a flag.

its probably because the genuine home ground advantage non-victorian teams get means that teams are making the top 4 when in reality theyre not quite at the same level, the same as geelong.

But they were before 07 so what changed...an inquiry and FA?

We cant keep our talent because as soon as they reach mature age they can be snapped up by Vic clubs, so that leaves us with continually young teams which cant compete in the heat of finals against those mature bodied teams.
Geelong are your outlier because CS is self absorbed with topping up to win another flag to prove the one Bomber handed him is legitimately his and we all know that side could coach itself.

I'm all for less teams in VIC. Reduce the number of teams and the big teams in VIC get bigger with less competition.

Imagine Collingwood, Richmond, Essendon, Hawthorn if they were the only teams in the state?

My thinking exactly.

I went to Melbourne in 2019 and watched asome footy as part of the trip. First game was Sunday Arvo hawthorn vs Geelong at the G. The crowd was about 50,000+ and the atmosphere was great and the tribalism you expect to see in footy was on display, unfortunately the game wasn’t as good as some previous Geelong vs Hawthorn games but nevertheless it was an enjoyable experience.

I then went to a Sunday twilight game at Marvel between the Bulldogs and St Kilda, the game was actually really good but the crowd was about 20000 and the atmosphere was poor. I understand MARVEL as a ground isn’t great but still, coming from the first game, and spending most of my time at AFL games at AO where the crowd is usually 40000+ I felt like I was at a completely different league. I came away thinking that the AFL wasn’t using the huge market in Victoria to its full potential.

Well...they found that you we're sh*t in your own league, but after 6 years of hidings thats hardly surprising.
Who’s you? I only follow one club

Would it be unfair if every interstate side travelled 10 times a year to play every Victorian side?

No, it wouldn't, but unfortunately, that's 20 rounds if Vic and interstate teams play each other twice.

You still need another 7-14 rounds to account for the other matchups between Vic sides and between non-Vic.

I guess everyone getting 11 home and 11 away games is the best we can do, but I do think all Vic sides should travel interstate an equal number of times, and all interstate sides should play away in Victoria an equal number of times.

But they were before 07 so what changed...an inquiry and FA?

We cant keep our talent because as soon as they reach mature age they can be snapped up by Vic clubs, so that leaves us with continually young teams which cant compete in the heat of finals against those mature bodied teams.
Geelong are your outlier because CS is self absorbed with topping up to win another flag to prove the one Bomber handed him is legitimately his and we all know that side could coach itself.
Ok, this is what happened.

Interstate sides started to dominate, Ron got a bit annoyed and called for an inquiry, so they had a look.

But what happened is, Interstate were on a massive roll, you know, it was like a huge confidence roll, they just knew they would win and nothing would stop them.
But.

Then along came Port Adelaide, 119 later and all that confidence was lost, they haven't recovered.

It's Ports fault.

Prove me wrong.

My thinking exactly.

I went to Melbourne in 2019 and watched asome footy as part of the trip. First game was Sunday Arvo hawthorn vs Geelong at the G. The crowd was about 50,000+ and the atmosphere was great and the tribalism you expect to see in footy was on display, unfortunately the game wasn’t as good as some previous Geelong vs Hawthorn games but nevertheless it was an enjoyable experience.

I then went to a Sunday twilight game at Marvel between the Bulldogs and St Kilda, the game was actually really good but the crowd was about 20000 and the atmosphere was poor. I understand MARVEL as a ground isn’t great but still, coming from the first game, and spending most of my time at AFL games at AO where the crowd is usually 40000+ I felt like I was at a completely different league. I came away thinking that the AFL wasn’t using the huge market in Victoria to its full potential.
It won't happen, and fans of these clubs would protest, but something like 8 teams in VIC, 1 moving to Tassie, one folding or moving to Canberra, and then 1 moving to be primarily based regional in Ballarat would I think be a better setup in VIC.

And you were sh*t in that league and you'll continue to be sh*t in that league when Bevo's boys bring you crashing back to earth in 13 days..lol
Right like what happened to Port last night lol, Sh*t for 15 years smacked us in the face last night, I want an inquiry lol

Ask yourself if the Port Culture and people running the club is capable of winning a flag.
I dont think its a culture problem, we've not had any dodgy camps or players rooting other players partners or coaches cheating on their Wives.
We look after our indigenous players welfare.

I think we have a good culture, we have good sponsors and a coach thats brought us to finals and been within a kick of the GF twice in 7 years, we just cant get over the line against mature bodied Vic sides and copped a flogging against WB last night which i for one expected as they are the real deal.

07 killed us and that set us back but we've regrouped.

Opinion Why are the interstate teams so bad? How do we fix them?