Why do people rate Pavlich ahead of Riewoldt ?

Pavlich has been surrounded by mediocre players his entire career.

If you don't think that makes a difference, then you obviously have never played football. What Pavlich has done in his career is truly remarkable, underrating his career is just ridiculous. In no way am I reducing Riewoldt's ability, but these threads really ****ing annoy me, Pavlich is our club and he will be defended for eternity.

Pavlich ahead by a nose. :p

Nah, in all seriousness ever since Reiwoldt kinda fixed his kicking he has soared past Pav.

Reiwoldt used to make Richo look deadly accurate, which is why his stocks went down. Opinions once formed can be hard to shake.

going only on what i have seen i rate Pavlich a touch over Riewoldt.

use to not think hard about it but Riewoldt has won me over with the way he has played this season and if he stays at this level for a while after both careers are done he will probaly have had the better career.

Reiwoldt has stepped up, and even though he's getting service that Pav can dream of, and the fact that Pav is playing midfield this season, Roo would have Pav covered for this season.

However past seasons - no contest, Pav all the way.

Riewoldt could play just as well as pav in any position we just don't play him in other positions because that would be a stupid thing to do. Freo play pav I. The middle because if he isn't there they have no chance of getting the ball out of the middle. And i'm not 100% sure but wasn't riewoldt re ruited as a CHB or was in CHF or CHB. He played on the wing a bit too.

There no way reiwoldt could play in the packs on the ball. He would be passable on the wing, but in reality he would be playing the same role he does at CHF, cept on the wing - lead up, link up.

Anyone who thinks Riewoldt career is better than Pavs have rocks in their head. Pavlich leads by miles. However you talk about form right now? Riewoldt is no doubt in front. Then again he is playing a forward line with a team that 14-0.

BTW in that Carlton game Pav missed one shot, not heaps, and plenty of other games Pav has kicked goals in the last to get us over the line.

Riewoldt at the moment, but Pavlich is a better player. Some of the games he has played in he has been unstoppable. And this in a side who have failed time and time again to deliver anything. I am scared to think how good Pav would be in a great side.

both are imposing, mobile KPPs

reiwoldt has a better marking game, pavlich is better at ground level and more versatile.

but pavlich's reputation for choking when the game is on the line means reiwoldt is the winner here.

People used to rate Pav ahead of Riewoldt because he was always ahead in the achievements stakes (partly because he's older) for instance, Pav has 6 AAs, Riewoldt has 3, but I predict that when Riewoldt is Pavlich's current age he would have caught up. But I do think roo has passed him. Of course, it does help having a good midfield to deliver it to you, and freo don't compare to St Kilda in this regard. This is why Richardson isn't rated as highly by some, partly because he didn't enjoy good delivery.

Unless Riewoldt is going to win 3 AA's this year he cant catch up
Pav is only a year older than Riewoldt,

Because Pavlich is Fremantle. Yes Pavlich does tend to choke when the game is on the line. But Pavlich is usually the one that got them into that position. Riewolt is a great player but look at St Kilda's midfield. Riewolt has got Lenny Hayes, Dal Santo & Montana. Pavlich has no one.

Because they are both excellent in the forward line, but Pavlich can do practically anything. He can charge through the middle, getting the ball from the clearance, play centre half back, centre half forward, anything. He can go and do what he wants, and when he is on song he can win the game off of his own boot.

Because some people realise it takes more then one good year on a great team to be a great player Pavlich has far more consistant then reiwoldt throughout his carrer anyone that deny's that is lying to themselves. Not to mention Pav can play any position Riewoldt is a leading forward a good one but thats it.

Because some people realise it takes more then one good year on a great team to be a great player Pavlich has far more consistant then reiwoldt throughout his carrer anyone that deny's that is lying to themselves. Not to mention Pav can play any position Reiwoldt is a leading forward a good one but thats it.
?? Riewoldt was arguably the best player in 2004 and I think he has been a gun since, but to say he has only had one good year is ridiculous. It's too hard to say one is far better than the other.

Because Pavlich has had a much better career. I mean easily. EASILY. 6 All Australians to how many has Reiwoldt got? 1?
why would you bother replying to this thread if you honestly think Riewoldt has only ever won 1 AA selection? By the end of the year it'll be 6 - 4. Pav will have 1 more or they'll be even on B+F's, with Riewoldt having won his against better competition. Riewoldt has also been voted the best player in the league by his peers. Read as much into that as you want.

Up until the last couple of years I rated Pav the better player, but of recent times Riewoldt is catching up and might even be ahead at the end of the year (would still go Pav over their careers just atm).

A couple of things though, people say Pav can play anywhere well, which is true. But how many areas is he really elite in? 5 of his 6 AA's came from playing up forward. The year he was selected at FB Riewoldt won the rising star and B+F playing a lot down back and was close to selection himself.

This year we've seen Pav play largely out of the centre, and turns out he isn't even close to the top bracket of midfielders. Sure he can play there and go okay, but his legendary ability to 'dominate anywhere' hasn't really shown. IMO he is a superstar KP player who is good but not great in the middle.

And finally, to whoever said it, Pavlich is not as good a contested mark then Riewoldt. Brown, Richo, Kosi might go close but other than that no one has better hands.

Agree with all your points Tassie except maybe this one. Riewoldt had two slight flaws in his game before this season, his goal kicking and his continuous attempts at trying to take chest marks in packs. I think his goal kicking is not an issue anymore but he still tries to use the chest to often as opposed to using the hands outstretched. I'd probably rate Brown as the best contested mark, just (he also tries to take chest marks too often but not as many as Riewoldt).

Not sure where your coming from there mate tbh. One of his best assets is his clean hands and ability to mark the ball at it's highest point. Leads the league in marks and contested marks and I can't say I've noticed too many chest mark attempts in packs (does it on the lead sometimes instead of out in front, but usually his man isn't close enough to spoil)

Roo is a bona fide superstar, I would go as far to say that without him flag aspirations would plummet.
He is just so important and valuable to the side, he is an absolute athlete with an engine that can take him all over the grd for the whole game.
Dangerous on the wing and in front of goal.
Comparisons are a futile exercise in my eyes as I have him in the top 5.

Because Riewoldt can't take a mark without falling over.

Not sure where your coming from there mate tbh. One of his best assets is his clean hands and ability to mark the ball at it's highest point. Leads the league in marks and contested marks and I can't say I've noticed too many chest mark attempts in packs (does it on the lead sometimes instead of out in front, but usually his man isn't close enough to spoil)
I suppose, I haven't seen him do it as much this year compared to previous years or maybe I'm just completely wrong. For some reason I have always thought he tries the chest mark too often. He's a superstar regardless.

[YOUTUBE]bJGeSRJ5MMQ[/YOUTUBE]

Do you remember that mark he took against the Swans a couple of years ago ... This is one of the best marks taken this decade IMHO, and sums up Riewoldt's courage to the hilt ...
Of course I do. It is THE best mark I have ever seen. One of the most courageous acts, along with the Brown mark against Hawthorn at the MCG.

[YOUTUBE]bJGeSRJ5MMQ[/YOUTUBE]

He's gonna kill himself one day Riewoldt - thats a seriously dangerous mark....I had forgotten how good that was.

No doubt Riewoldt is underrated and thats ok. I laugh at the "Pavs got 6 AA"....sorry but he was gifted the last and that as a measure is equivalent to saying Shane Woewodin was better than Wayne Carey cause he won a Brownlow.....doesnt prove much.

Riewoldt IMHO has it all over Pavlich, Browne, Buddy,Fevola - anyone else for 1 simple reason......he is brilliantly consistent. He has a bad game if he kicks less than 3 and takes less than 10 grabs.....had Riewoldt not played the way he did last year there is no way we'd have made top4 - the side was just going. Pav is a great player - no where near as consistent.

As for engines.....sorry Pav....you lose here also...Riewoldts a freak - he gets so many of those grabs on the lead from3 and 4 efforts after which his opponent cant go with him.....I watched Taylor on sunday struggle and get frustrated at times.......(its harder when you stop Harley getting across to give you chop outs....;))

Richo at his best is closest to Riewoldt IMHO.

And Ive never heard Roo say "cmon boys get your superman capes on...."...:D

Why do people rate Pavlich ahead of Riewoldt ?