Why do so many hate Egan?

Therussian said:
i'm sure we've been through this before on a different thread,
O'Bree was on fire when the team was winning, when Swan, Thomas and Shaw were flying he was great, now the kids have settled a little and they are getting a hell of a lot more defensive pressure on them where has Obree gone, thats right MIA, he is slow, his decision making not very good and his kicking is ordinary,
we should have traded him after the 1st GF
u do realise that what u said actually shows obree in a good light.

at the start of the year when we were winning it was because obree was winning the ball in close and feeding it out to the runners like, swan etc.

when obree was tagged out of games we could no longer win the ball and had no run thru the middle

obree is extremely important as behind buckley & perhaps burns when on song finds the ball himself better then any other player on our list.

Egan is a 2nd year kid that could be something special or a dud, he has shown glimpses of his talent but not really put it together for consecutive weeks..........hopefully it will come over time

MarkT said:
I don’t have anything against Egan and I hope like hell he becomes a star. Unfortunately to date I have seen very little impact. On quarter against WCE (I think) last year and 1 pretty good game this year. He murders the ball at times. He is young enough to dismiss all that at this point but he does have to improve next season. The reality of AFL is that every year you have to cull around 5 and the better your list the m ore likely you are to have to cull someone that might make it yet. Egan definitely won’t go this year but after next season he will be one that will be considered if he doesn’t have more impact more often. A few retirements might mean we don’t have to cull deep though. Time will tell.
mark i reckon egan will have 2 more years after this one to prove himself.
at the very least a player gets 2 more years on their second contract.

doppleganger said:
u do realise that what u said actually shows obree in a good light.

at the start of the year when we were winning it was because obree was winning the ball in close and feeding it out to the runners like, swan etc.

when obree was tagged out of games we could no longer win the ball and had no run thru the middle

obree is extremely important as behind buckley & perhaps burns when on song finds the ball himself better then any other player on our list.

Egan is a 2nd year kid that could be something special or a dud, he has shown glimpses of his talent but not really put it together for consecutive weeks..........hopefully it will come over time

Some very Valid points from you and Lonie,

apart from the "obree is extremely important as behind buckley & perhaps burns when on song finds the ball himself better then any other player on our list." which is comical

"not really put it together for consecutive weeks"
he hasn't put together consecutive Quaters!!!!!!!!!!

But thats cool you guys keep believing that these type of players are going to take us to a flag.

Does the title of this Thread not speak for itself, why would so many people hate him if they didn't see the same thing i do??????????????????????

The word 'hate' is a strong word for this particular thread.

I don't hate him as a footballer, I just don't think he is up to it yet and would've rather seen Collingwood use that particular pick better.

Therussian said:
Some very Valid points from you and Lonie,

apart from the "obree is extremely important as behind buckley & perhaps burns when on song finds the ball himself better then any other player on our list." which is comical

"not really put it together for consecutive weeks"
he hasn't put together consecutive Quaters!!!!!!!!!!

But thats cool you guys keep believing that these type of players are going to take us to a flag.

Does the title of this Thread not speak for itself, why would so many people hate him if they didn't see the same thing i do??????????????????????
two seperate issues russian

1st - re egan, he is a kid who is in only his second year of footy.........yet so many people have already written him off. Why are so many quick to jump on the kids, especially our own, the bloke has talent, yet has been unable to put it together in the AFL yet, and sometimes seems intimidated by the bigger bodies, but he is still learning. Give him a break, ur expectations on a 19year old kid are way too high. All u want to see are glimpses of talent and he has shown glimpses of talent, in the next couple of years hopefully he can progress into a solid contributor and then blossom into a good player when he is 23 or so.

2nd - re obree, he does win his own ball more then anybody else on our list, hence he is coming 7th in the entire league for clearances!! he may not use it as well when out in space but this isn't why he is in the team, he is the bloke that gets the ball and starts it moving our way! very vital and this allows the quick runners like b.jonhson & swan to use it, when obree gets shut down we struggle to win the ball and look rubbish in the middle.

doppleganger said:
two seperate issues russian

1st - re egan, he is a kid who is in only his second year of footy.........yet so many people have already written him off. Why are so many quick to jump on the kids, especially our own, the bloke has talent, yet has been unable to put it together in the AFL yet, and sometimes seems intimidated by the bigger bodies, but he is still learning. Give him a break, ur expectations on a 19year old kid are way too high. All u want to see are glimpses of talent and he has shown glimpses of talent, in the next couple of years hopefully he can progress into a solid contributor and then blossom into a good player when he is 23 or so.

2nd - re obree, he does win his own ball more then anybody else on our list, hence he is coming 7th in the entire league for clearances!! he may not use it as well when out in space but this isn't why he is in the team, he is the bloke that gets the ball and starts it moving our way! very vital and this allows the quick runners like b.jonhson & swan to use it, when obree gets shut down we struggle to win the ball and look rubbish in the middle.

Valid points doppleganger,

O'Bree has been shut down by opposing sides for weeks, has not been effective for weeks and continually turns the ball over.

Surely that warrants some criticism from supporters, should he be dropped on present form or play an impact role off the bench and let Burns and Buckley spend more time in the middle, particularly centre bounces?

We have been smashed in the clearances in the past several weeks, time for a change and i'd rather see Burns and Buckley in there before O'Bree. We really have to make a play for the Grand Final this year and next, beyond that, its pie in the sky stuff. We just don't have the talent and Buckley's, Burns, Wakelins and a few others best will be well past. We desperately need Akermanis and we should do everything we can to get him.

sloth6 said:
Valid points doppleganger,

O'Bree has been shut down by opposing sides for weeks, has not been effective for weeks and continually turns the ball over.

Surely that warrants some criticism from supporters, should he be dropped on present form or play an impact role off the bench and let Burns and Buckley spend more time in the middle, particularly centre bounces?

We have been smashed in the clearances in the past several weeks, time for a change and i'd rather see Burns and Buckley in there before O'Bree. We really have to make a play for the Grand Final this year and next, beyond that, its pie in the sky stuff. We just don't have the talent and Buckley's, Burns, Wakelins and a few others best will be well past. We desperately need Akermanis and we should do everything we can to get him.
Agree, i did say in my original post that only Buckley and perhaps Burns when in form are better then obree at winning their own ball, but both players are past their prime........buckley may need a rest to mkae sure he is right for finals and Burns himself hasn't had the best of years.

Obree needs help in the middle, in the finals id have Fraser, Obree, Bucks or Burns, and Holland(if fit as my starting 4 at as many centre bounces as possible!)

Obree is interesting because he is widely criticised when he plays a poor game and we are smahsed in the middle, yet when he plays well and the side plays well it seems to slip under the radar, with all the accolades going to the outside blokes like swan & benny, yet without the cheese doing the dirty work they wouldn't get to play well.

doppleganger said:
Agree, i did say in my original post that only Buckley and perhaps Burns when in form are better then obree at winning their own ball, but both players are past their prime........buckley may need a rest to mkae sure he is right for finals and Burns himself hasn't had the best of years.

Obree needs help in the middle, in the finals id have Fraser, Obree, Bucks or Burns, and Holland(if fit as my starting 4 at as many centre bounces as possible!)

Obree is interesting because he is widely criticised when he plays a poor game and we are smahsed in the middle, yet when he plays well and the side plays well it seems to slip under the radar, with all the accolades going to the outside blokes like swan & benny, yet without the cheese doing the dirty work they wouldn't get to play well.

Righto, let me clear a few things up, i don't 'hate' Egan, I hate the Scotts, Cornes, Carrs, Campo and Soloman.
2ndly. i'm not on the kids, i think some of the kids we have, have been great, reckon Thomas is brilliant, Pendles has shown enough, rusling big tick,
etc, etc.
I hope Egan does come good, but personally i dont think he will, i dont think he is any good at all, and we used a high draft pick to get him.

As for Obree, he might be high in numbers but his clearences end up with the opposition more often then not, and in todays football you cant afford that, look at Heath Scotland and Cat Stevens, they rack up heaps of numbers, would we have them in our side???

I don't mind Egan and think that he'll work out o.k in time. I was hoping Collingwood would take Bate with our pick, and I still think we probably should have.

Augie I am with you mate, I too reckon Egan moves like Mcleod. Not a patch on him as a player but when he has the footy a glides a little like Mcleod does.

Some of his criticism I think is a little unfair. I get the impression people see someone for the first time and find if very hard to shake their opinion of them. I call this the buckley syndrome , because he was played as an outside player for the first 5 years of his career people label him soft even thought he has been up there in our hard ball gets for years. Yes Egan was a poor kick last year but those who think his kicking has not improved out of sight this year must be watching a different game than me. I would sooner have Egan kicking for goal than Rocca or Taz. Yes he is a soft outside player. So what more than 80% of total possesions are uncontested. Yes he has a long way to go. He is 19 , still has a stack of beef to put on and is very raw.

His upside is big. He has sensational speed. His hands(all round ball handling) would be in the top 5 at the club IMO and I do think he is a good disposer and will only get better. I reckon the only thing standing between him and a fine career is if he wants it bad enough.

He could turn out to be a dud but if we can give guys like walker and hall a few years on the list I reckon it is only fair to wait until atleast the end of next year before labelling him a dud.

Therussian said:
Righto, let me clear a few things up, i don't 'hate' Egan, I hate the Scotts, Cornes, Carrs, Campo and Soloman.
2ndly. i'm not on the kids, i think some of the kids we have, have been great, reckon Thomas is brilliant, Pendles has shown enough, rusling big tick,
etc, etc.
I hope Egan does come good, but personally i dont think he will, i dont think he is any good at all, and we used a high draft pick to get him.

As for Obree, he might be high in numbers but his clearences end up with the opposition more often then not, and in todays football you cant afford that, look at Heath Scotland and Cat Stevens, they rack up heaps of numbers, would we have them in our side???
fair enough if u dont think ego will make it........i give all the kids on the pies list bit more time then one and a bit years of footy before dismissing them, perhaps im too optimistic.

Obree situation is simple, if he is playing well and winning the ball in close Collingwood tend to win, so id have him in my side. Sure id like a Kerr or S.Black to play in his position but it aint going to happen.

Heard that when the Collingwood boys went to Arizona earlier this year, Eagan got that home sick and he shed a tear..

Cool hand said:
Heard that when the Collingwood boys went to Arizona earlier this year, Eagan got that home sick and he shed a tear..

as did each of carltons draftee's since 2003 after hearing their names read out by carlton in the draft..

when we took Egan in the draft were'nt we going to take Angus Monfries instead? that was a bit of a blunder if that's the case i don't mind Egan i think he has some upside but if it was the case then i would have taken Monfries over him!

i think egan is hated because he has not made an impact like most aboriginal players do wen they are young. eg. leon davis, andrew lovett, nathan lovett murry. all made huge bursts wen they first started but where are they now? egan will be at great player at the pies

the_jib said:
when we took Egan in the draft were'nt we going to take Angus Monfries instead? that was a bit of a blunder if that's the case i don't mind Egan i think he has some upside but if it was the case then i would have taken Monfries over him!
I wouldn't take Monfries over Egan if offered one of the two! Monfries doesn't suit our requirements. He's a medium paced linking midfielder who's short. His #1 asset IMO is that he can worm his way in forward and pinch a goal or two.

I was in favour of selecting Bate at the time and was somewhat disappointed we didn't. Bottom age, tall, mobile, solid kick. Ironically though, the Demon's were actually hoping for Egan to slip through to them!

I reckon Egan's potential is immense, but we haven't had too many Aaron Davey-esque success stories when it comes to enigmatic talents, so our cynicism is arguably warranted. He's no Robbie Ahmat, that's for sure!

jabso said:
The retrospective recruiters are at it again!

At the time I thought Bate would be Bo Nixon all over again and had concerns over us pickng him.
Holy ****!! You're right, I should just shut my trap.

I just did a search and found out I was against picking up Bate for the same reasons you outlined. I remember now that I wanted Meyer. My mistake!! :eek:

Why do so many hate Egan?