Why do you love Richo?

I love Richo because he wears his heart on his sleeve and shows his passion for his club. (Unlike a certain Juddas ex-captain of our club). He is great to watch, his athleticism is amazing for a man of his size. I remember a game at Subi when he and Glassy were jumperpunching each other - and next minute (when the ball was at the other end) were sharing a chat and a smile. He has always been my favourite non-Eagle player - although now he is second as a new Richmond recruit has now taken that mantle :) Anyone who doesn't like Richo doesn't know much about footy.

I don't care what Dogs fans think, but just about everyone so wanted Richo to win the Brownlow last year ...
I've never heard so much applause for a player getting votes when Richo was racking them up towards the end ...

You can question his kicking at goal at times and sometimes his behaviour on field, but you can never question his heart ...

There's some pretty rough blokes around here.

Hard to say I can swallow all the man-love this bloke gets, but he's such a character and gives it his all that it's hard not admire him. That, and his loyalty to a club that has struggled for most of his career, which you don't see so much of these days.

He just seems like the guy who would just love to talk footy over a beer, no pretensions to him.

I love Richo cos he has never hurt Port Adelaide in any game I can ever remember... touch wood. And he also makes Warren Tredrea's kicking for goal look good. Other than Nathan Buckley and Nick Stevens, I can't think of a player Port fans have loved to give it to more than Richo. Thanks for being there for us mate!

I seem to remember him tearing you guys apart in his 200th game.

I love watching him because he looks like he's about to burst into tears every time he messes up. Which is a lot.

That game where he got the hands in the back against him against Essendon was the funniest damn thing I ever saw. And then the 50m given against him and he was punching the air and screaming. I was in tears.

Jeez, lucky you weren't at my place that night mate....I would have murdered you! I was in tears too, of rage and frustration. I hated that game.

Because as long as he is at Richmond, Tiges WON'T win a premiership!

Interesting comment, as I've been told this, or similar, by opposition fans a few times, mostly in WA. The guys I have spoken to reckon he is bad for the club, brings morale down, etc. I have been very surprised at the amount of love for Richo on BigFooty. I thought everyone would be constantly bagging him.

Apologies to those who've already posted this.

I love Richo because he is as great as one can be whilst still being as pathetic as one can be. In other words, he's a human. He's no machine, no well drilled specimen that can be relied up like a computer until it's superceded. He is mercurial and sensational. All the while you know that just like Melbourne's weather, the winds of fortune will change regarding Richo. And just to contradict myself, here's why I love Richo. Inspite of it all, the success, failure, the in-between, he's still a loveable guy. Still a human. Perhaps there's no more contradiction than we all have there? :)

Post Scriptum: I'd love Richo to hold the premiership cup aloft in a Tiger's jumper. Perhaps Geelong, Hawthorn, and spoilers like the Pies, Roos, Eagles, Adelaide, etc can let it happen?

I love him because he's one of the most human players playing. Gary Ablett and Lance Franklin are freaks, no denying it. Richo, on the other hand, displays emotion, can stuff up easy shots, and makes simple mistakes, whilst still being able to play brilliantly.

I hope he doesn't retire this year, deserves to hit the 300. :thumbsu:

Love him because he wears his heart on his sleeve on the football field. Something which very few players do in today's game.

You just have got wonder what could have happened if he played for someone with the success of let say Essendon during his career. He could have and imo would have gone easily past the 1000 goal barrier.

Having said that the loyalty he showed Richmond was and is unbelievable.

Everyone loves him because he will never hurt us in a final. Lets be honest that is why he is deemed to be the player everyone loves.

He carrys on worse on the field than Chad Cornes and Warren Tredrea yet they are hated. Because we know that come September (in some seasons) they could hurt you. Richo never will.
yes they are and richo will hurt you if we get to the finals BUT NOT THE SAME WAY AS THE 2 AFORE MENTIONED SNIPERS

Why do you love Richo?