Why we can beat Hawthorn

Sandilands, Hill, Pavlich > Hodge, Franklin, Rioli

Pavlich can play midfield and set up goals; Fraklin cannot

Franklin will be kicking them, no need for him to set them up when he has Hodge, Burgers, Mitchell, Sewell, Young, Lewis & Changa bombing it into him :thumbsu:

Serious question who usually plays FF for you guys when Pav has a go in the middle?

A solid hip and shoulder from Campbell Brown or Brent Guerra should put a stop to little old Fyfey exposing anything, but his lack of physical presence.

Stop what?

De Boer is harder than Brown. Never cried. Never called up a radio station threatening revenge. Brown's pissweak football player.

Shhheeeeeeetttt, come on Clay, lets be serious for a moment

Actions speak louder than words and for all that Browny rabbits on a bit when he crosses the white line he puts his body on the line without question.

I like De Boer, in some ways he is similar to brown in that he doesn’t have the greatest skill but he puts his body on the line for the greater good of the team.

In saying that browny would snap him in two ff they met head to head:D

Actions speak louder than words and for all that Browny rabbits on a bit when he crosses the white line he puts his body on the line without question.

I like De Boer, in some ways he is similar to brown in that he doesn’t have the greatest skill but he puts his body on the line for the greater good of the team.

Funnily enough Beau Waters tried that and got the stuffing knocked out him - he lined up MDB in the derby for a hard tackle/bump and MDB stood his ground and Waters ended up bent on all fours winded

MDB vs CBrown will be an interesting prospect

Heheh

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlxCOIfEFLQ#t=475
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlxCOIfEFLQ#t=450
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZqiAsXC-ho#t=83
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZqiAsXC-ho#t=345 (double de boer!)

Sandilands undoubtedly will win the hitouts - but through his dominance Freo only average 1 more clearance than Hawthorn with our "sub-standard" rucks this year. Will certainly be interesting to see if the likes of Burgoyne, Mitchell, Sewell etc can shark his taps and win the clearance.

Both teams average clearances is irrellevant. Our game against Carlton last Friday is a perfect example. Carlton average more clearances per game than Fremantle, but we beat them 45 to 33 on the weekend. The stat you should really be interested in, is the opponent differential for clearances.

Fremantle are +1.5 clearances per game
Hawthorn are -3.6 clearances per game

In other words we average 1.5 more clearances per game than our opponent, Hawthorn averages 3.6 less than their opponent. To put it simply, winning the ball at stoppages when Sandilands is around is lot harder than when he's not around.

A solid hip and shoulder from Campbell Brown .....

If only his heart was in it - he's gone to GC anyway. :thumbsu:

He's just going through the motions and he seemed a bit tired like the rest of Hawthorn after an impressive second half of the season.

I'm a little concerned because it seemed like Collingwood packed up for the last quarter and maybe that gave the Hawks a little bit more energy to bank away. I don't think so though.

If only his heart was in it - he's gone to GC anyway. :thumbsu:

He's just going through the motions and he seemed a bit tired like the rest of Hawthorn after an impressive second half of the season.

I'm a little concerned because it seemed like Collingwood packed up for the last quarter and maybe that gave the Hawks a little bit more energy to bank away. I don't think so though.

Oh, stop it...

If his heart is not in a premiership, why doesn't he just retire?

Here some reasons why we can really beat Hawthorn:

1) We have had an 8 day break to recover from last Fridays game; whereas Hawthorn have had a day less and have to travel Wow! Sure to win now!
2) 10-12 of our players in this weekends game will have been in Perth for 4+ weeks so they will be fresh as anything See above!
3) Sandilands is in this time and will really dominate the ruck This is probably the only area you will win.
4) We have a lot of run and carry - whereas Hawthorn are a slower team by comparison - and we can run them off the field Primary School arguement...
5) There is more space at Subiaco in comparison to Launceston - where we were comprehensively beaten 2 weeks ago We train at a large ground at Waverley and play at the G, not an issue!
6) Those players who played in Launceston AND last friday's game had telling signs of fatigue in the last quarter and will have overcome that by the time Saturday comes around Your last quarter against Carlton was dominant?
7) Hawthorn will have a lot of uncertainty over the ability as we're a totally different team to the one they faced two weeks ago - which gives us almost an element of surprise History stands for nothing.
8) We have Stephen Hill - they don't We have Rioli, Buddy, Hodge...
9) Our squad will be the closest it has been to 100% in a long time - with the obvious exception of Barlow, Ballantyne (who was nowhere near his best on friday night FWIW) and Tarrant Your season has been going down hill from Barlow's injury
10) We will have 3 taggers to take their mids - as well as have the option of throwing them forward (Crowley, MDB, McPhee can all kick goals - the likely option will by Crowley up forward) McPhee is a scary forward!!

Feel free to ad more :D

Shanenine and another Hawks fan (can't remember which one)

Not going to make a huge difference but you often hear people saying how big the MCG is....

The MCG might be a huge stadium but the playing surface is pretty small. I think it measures about 17 to 20 metres shorter than subi goal to goal, depending on how they mark it out each year (despite being slightly wider). The SCG is smaller than the G and docklands might be about 1m shorter.

The old melb grounds like Western oval, Waverley were heaps bigger.

Not a massive issue but a lot of people who have watched a lot of footy at the MCG are convinced the playing surface is huge when it isn't.

Shanenine and another Hawks fan (can't remember which one)

Not going to make a huge difference but you often hear people saying how big the MCG is....

The MCG might be a huge stadium but the playing surface is pretty small. I think it measures about 17 to 20 metres shorter than subi goal to goal, depending on how they mark it out each year (despite being slightly wider). The SCG is smaller than the G and docklands might be about 1m shorter.

The old melb grounds like Western oval, Waverley were heaps bigger.

Not a massive issue but a lot of people who have watched a lot of footy at the MCG are convinced the playing surface is huge when it isn't.

Myth.

Ground dimensions as below:

Subiaco: 175.6m X 122.4m (21,493 SQ metres)
MCG: 160m X 141m (22,560 SQ metres)
Tassie: 165m X 135m (22,275 SQ metres)

So in terms of total ground size Subi is no bigger than the MCG or Tassie - it is just longer. Not that a discrepency as insignificant as this will have an impact on the result of the match.

Why we can beat Hawthorn