Will Sainters go through undefeated, then win the flag?

Originally posted by ComicStoreGuy
Home and Away is just buying the tickets to the dance. Doesn't matter how good before the dance, you just have to bring it. So going undefeated just gets you a flashy ticket, that means jack**** once you get inside the door.

Bring on the real footy in September.
You guys are ****a's FIRST it was "Bring on the real footy not this wizza crap!" now its "bring on real footy that doesnt happen till september" then after that it'll be "nah real footy begins when theres not so many injuries in season."

Hello idiots REAL FOOTY IS NOW!

Originally posted by anonymous Joe
WOW.:rolleyes:

i was wrong about how many games the saints play at the G a whole 1 game off.

you'd think they're not even my team.

Fred let us attack each other.

Please this guys only thoughts are simpsoms lines.

Originally posted by Ari
Sainter Andrew Thompson said today, when asked, that he felt there was no reason why the Saints couldn't go through the season undefeated.

They would be the first team to do it since the 20's or 30's. Essendon came close in 2000..... can the Saints do it this year? Or is Andrew Thompson talking too much too early?

I don't think they will go through undefeated. They are a good chance of finishing top, but undefeated - geez, that's getting a bit ahead of yourself.

Young teams often start the season with a bang and then drop off towards the end of the year. Brisbane and Adelaide are two recent teams that timed their run to perfection. Essendon were the aberration, being good the whole way through. And I don't think the Saints have as good mature palyers as Essendon had.

Originally posted by BonIsGood
You guys are ****a's FIRST it was "Bring on the real footy not this wizza crap!" now its "bring on real footy that doesnt happen till september" then after that it'll be "nah real footy begins when theres not so many injuries in season."

Hello idiots REAL FOOTY IS NOW!

Yes this is the time of year you win the premiership, right?

I've been waiting for the Saints to start dropping games and every week they continue to improve. I've come to the conclusion that only 2 things will beat the Saints this year in the GF:

- injuries / suspensions.
- a Lions outfit that has most of its guns back and playing thru the finals

Failing those 2, I really can't see teams like Melb or Port beating them. The Saints only weakness is their Rucks...however, their midfield is so strong that it more than makes up for it. Class down the spine, up forward, down back and in the midfield with lots of aggression. Like I said, injuries or the Lions.

BTW, I think they will drop at least a game through the season. And Essendon whilst it has some class players has the weakest midfield of all the top 8 teams...teams with weak midfields get found out in Sept.

Because everyone will enjoy seeing St,Kilda like they always do **** up this opportunity they now hold for success.

Except Saints fans obviously.
still don't get ya, why would everyone enjoy that. Do you have some problems with StKilda?

BTW a lot on here from othere teams have wished us luck.

Because everyone will enjoy seeing St,Kilda like they always do **** up this opportunity they now hold for success.

Sad, sad loser. Anonymous among a sea of anonymity. Don't hold your breath aJ.

At the start of this year all I hoped was that we would be competitive, improve on last year, make the finals and prepare the guys for a red hot tilt in 2005. It looks like this is all going to happen so anything else we get on top of this is a bonus as far as I'm concerned. Of course we won't go through undefeated - we're a bloody good team but we're hardly the best ever and history shows this doesn't happen. However a lot of people are using the argument that we're young and will drop away at the end of the year - I don't think this will happen. Most young guys have at least two seasons under their belt so are physically and mentally prepared to go the distance of a season, plus we have ample depth and GT and crew are right on top of this (see the modified regime before West Coast if you think they're not working on this already).

Finals pressure will of course be another thing, although our younger guys will have benefitted from the Wizard Cup experience and a handful of big pressure games during the year (eg. packed house against Brissie). Also we aren't as inexperienced in finals as everyone seems to think, we have seven guys with GF experience which would be up there with most clubs threatening us (with the obvious exception of one northern club).

Anyway who cares, we're doing well at the moment, why worry about what may or may not happen. Let idiots like anonymous Fool look forward to the first time we lose a game. By that stage we'll probably be only 4-5 games clear on top......

Originally posted by Ari
Sainter Andrew Thompson said today, when asked, that he felt there was no reason why the Saints couldn't go through the season undefeated.

They would be the first team to do it since the 20's or 30's. Essendon came close in 2000..... can the Saints do it this year? Or is Andrew Thompson talking too much too early?

Just to clarify things, what Thompson actually SAID are the bits contained in the quotation marks below. He is clearly being very careful about what he says, it is journalists & some supporters (not just StKilda ones by any means) that keep pumping our tyres up.

From the Age article by Emma Quayle Thompson said:

"I think it's dangerous to think you can never be beaten, but I think we can go into games with the confidence that if we play to the best of our ability we should come out with a win," Thompson said. "As far as I'm aware, there's no rule that says we have to lose at any stage. We just go into each game thinking we can win as long as we play the football we've been playing and play at 100 per cent for 100 per cent of the time."

& from Michael Horan's article in the hun Thompson said:

"We've become the hunted, we're on top of the ladder and two games clear. That's how we want it. We want to play teams when they are at their best, when they have all their good players in so we can measure ourselves," Thompson said.

"It's dangerous to think you can never be beaten, but if we can go into games confident we can play to the best of our ability then we should come out with a win.

"That's an important thing, never underestimate the opposition. We've got Carlton this week and they've had some very convincing wins this year."

As to our prospects throughout the remainder of the season - I think there are 4 or 5 games that are imminently losable & that doesn't count possible form slumps, (or self implosion which would delight some :rolleyes: :rolleyes: )

Why?? I thought most people would be happy that a Vic team, that may, just may, challenge brisbane.

All this noise coming from people saying that saints fans are arrogant, saints are crap not as good as bris etc is all a little unfounded.
OK fair enough st kilda supporters have been a little happier and a little more proud of their clubs achievements, but really, its the media/bookies saying we are the flag favourites not the fans.
Us fans are doing are best not to get ahead of ourselves, but to just enjoy the success whilst it lasts.
For the past however many years of my life, whenever I have mentioned I am a sainter, all i got was a friendly wink, a "you know i quite like the saints" or a "comiserations mate, you'll get better".
Now all i get is this pent up hatred of "Your coach is crap", "Draft picks", "You won't win the flag", "You've jumped on the bangwagon" etc etc.
Its a bit harsh really when you think about it. We are now hated because of our success. Isn't that what they call the Tall poppy syndrome??!
I think a lot of people around here really only bag the saints because either:
a. they have nothing better to do
b. they are jealous of our list and where the club is headed

because there certainly weren't this many "I hate st kilda" threads last year!

All you people talking about finals in May :rolleyes:

We may or not even make them yet. Until we have won 14 games we can't even contemplate finals. Then we have to be top four, then we have to win two finals before even competing in a GF, then we have to play better than the other team and win that knockout game.

All this in four months time.

Sheesh :confused: :confused:

Originally posted by Joffaboy
All you people talking about finals in May :rolleyes:

We may or not even make them yet. Until we have won 14 games we can't even contemplate finals. Then we have to be top four, then we have to win two finals before even competing in a GF, then we have to play better than the other team and win that knockout game.

All this in four months time.

Sheesh :confused: :confused:

Mate I know what you're saying, but we're 9-0. We're going to make the finals. Doesn't mean we'll do any good (1998 anyone?) but we will be there.......

Originally posted by Harvey to Hayes

Finals pressure will of course be another thing, although our younger guys will have benefitted from the Wizard Cup experience and a handful of big pressure games during the year (eg. packed house against Brissie).
Yeah, back to back wiz cups for port worked a treat.

Originally posted by Syd
Can you hedge a bet anymore than that???

If I knew the answers then I'd be on a beach resort typing this in while sipping on a long cool drink!!

If I had to make it more definitive then I'm simply saying I think they will continue to do well in H&A, finish top 4 (top 2 appears most likely at this stage) but will struggle under finals pressure, winning no finals games or one at the most.

Originally posted by essnickess
Yeah, back to back wiz cups for port worked a treat.
Don't know why everyone compares the saints with port.
They play two completely different brands of football and are from different states.

Originally posted by MC_Gusto
Don't know why everyone compares the saints with port.
They play two completely different brands of football and are from different states.

and have different coloured jumpers and their coach's name is different and...

Saints have no chance of winning the flag. During the finals they'll have to play at the MCG sooner or later and they will get a flogging. The Saints aren't to flash when their not indoors at the dome.

Will Sainters go through undefeated, then win the flag?