Roast Will Schofield

Schoefield was good offensively...and wasn't terrible defensively

But as mentioned, the MacKenzie late withdrawl was a huge blow

Plenty worse players today - both Selwoods come to mind

Schoefield was good offensively...and wasn't terrible defensively

But as mentioned, the MacKenzie late withdrawl was a huge blow

Plenty worse players today - both Selwoods come to mind

Might need to separate the 2 selwoods. Adam was pitiful but was nigh on knocked out. Had 12 disposals but what is damning is that 5 of them came from free kicks so if you discount the free kicks as a senior player he had 7 disposals and 1 tackle for the game. Gee thats just ****ing exceptional. Scooter still had 15 disposals and 10 tackles.

Yeah, I have a lot of like for Schofield - he had a reasonable game and the loss was certainly not his fault. Actually, I'd like to see him farther up the ground, even taking turns up forward in Lynch's role.

Adam Selwood was the poorest of our players.
And Weedon looked at home in his short stint on the field - he looks a natural.

Wasn't he a junior 400m champion or something?

Unfortunately we don't see his running ability enough. As much as I like him, he's borderline 22 and it shows against classier opposition. He needs to find his offensive mojo to move up the pecking order.

It just goes to show how far behind we are in our KPD stocks. Once Glass goes, and that will be in maybe 2 years, we will be left with Emac, Brown and Schofield.

Out of those 3 I only rate Emac. Premiership sides have rock solid defence and I feel that the other 2 aren't up to it and we don't have anyone else. If Emac goes down then we are really in trouble.

I'm not bagging them out due to lack of effort or heart, only that their natural ability isn't good enough.

Everyone is saying that we need more midfielders and we should be targeting Rich and the like, but in reality we need KP backs.

I agree the loss of Emac hurt but I think Will did a good job. One of his kicks was a spearing pass to I think Darling.
I think Adam Selwood can be cut some slack. He was knocked out at one stage.
He has been very good this year in his stopping roles.
Shep is the one who is a bit of a worry. I think he needs to go back to the WAFL and also to hit the gym. He looks like a little kid out there.
Hopefully EMac and Masten return for the derby.

Thought Schofield played solid. Not sure what the bagging is about. All defenders will get beaten at some point, and Schofield, although been crap recently I thought did a decent job. Starting to show the flair that was his trademark last year.

For a couple of years now Schofield has been played out of position due to injuries to KPD's. he's not a FB and he's not a CHB - he's best suited to the 3rd tall position which usually means licence to run and deliver. Furthermore playing in a key role means he cant utilize his main asset which is his aerobic capacity.

Whilst acknowledging the quality of the delivery to Ryder yesterday, I must admit Schofield regularly fails to gets his fists on the ball when trying to spoil. He almost always gets outmarked by his opponent. The problem he is going to have is that Blayne Wilson is a more natural defender who is as tall and quick as Schofield but an infinitely better kick (off both feet) and I can see him taking that 3rd tall position by 2012. That will mean a change in position for Schofield and with the wing being his best position (IMO) he might have a number of players ahead of him in that queue as well.

For a couple of years now Schofield has been played out of position due to injuries to KPD's. he's not a FB and he's not a CHB - he's best suited to the 3rd tall position which usually means licence to run and deliver. Furthermore playing in a key role means he cant utilize his main asset which is his aerobic capacity.

Whilst acknowledging the quality of the delivery to Ryder yesterday, I must admit Schofield regularly fails to gets his fists on the ball when trying to spoil. He almost always gets outmarked by his opponent. The problem he is going to have is that Blayne Wilson is a more natural defender who is as tall and quick as Schofield but an infinitely better kick (off both feet) and I can see him taking that 3rd tall position by 2012. That will mean a change in position for Schofield and with the wing being his best position (IMO) he might have a number of players ahead of him in that queue as well.
Is Wilson that tall? Wow, didn't realise - then yeah, his kicking adds real value.

On the A.Selwood comments - he was poor for about 10 minutes in the 3rd, but Reimers was just way to quick for him (and I was having a go in the gameday thread). The fact he got so many frees is because he puts his head over the footy. I don't think he's a part of our midfield anymore, but as a defender on mids going forward I think he'll be valuable, particularly with his strength overhead.

Wilson is listed as 10cm's shorter than Schofield. No way is he the same height.

Blayne Wilson is neither taller nor quicker than Will Schofield.
Wilson would be competing with Hurn, Waters, Butler and Smith as a small/medium defender.

Sorry mate, but Sheppard takes the spud award this game.

Should not even be playing.
This. But shep needs time IMO much like scooter and e-bert who are looking pretty g at the moment. I was at the game and I reckon big will played his best game for the club. His run off half back was tremendous and he was hitting targets on the chest. It wasn't his fault, essendon simply had too much run for us and always seemed to have that extra man around the contests

Stupid thread!

Schoey has his mistakes like a lot of the other players and everyone seems to use just the mistakes against him. Every defender is going to get beaten at some time in a game. Sometimes he gets put on a great player and does fine and you can see how hard it must be. He has good moments and he's a tough player :thumbsu:

Roast Will Schofield