Why isn’t Daicos going to be picked at 1 anymore? North should bid
There is no doubt the Hawks wanted more picks in the top 20 and put up players they thought would have have interest to deliver them that.I'm amazed they've escaped the media wrath to be honest.
I guess our non-existent 'fire sale' was of more interest.
I'm sure if the Pies had pick 2, they would have bid. As it stands, probably little impact on them bidding v making their own kid the number 1. I think it's the first time North have had the first pick in the draft.Because North think JHF is the #1 player in the draft.
That's a media narrative. If a team wants a player they'll almost always offer a fair deal. Why would a team who wants a player less than another side offer a better offer?If a player wants to go for compassionate reasons why don't we have a silent auction on the player, where all clubs interested out a bid in and the club chooses, people are sick of seeing players choose a club, it's outdated and boring and the AFL should allow clubs to trade players in the their 3rd year and above to wherever without the players consent, this is a borefest this system and its not a fair system to provide equality for the league
This is just a bad take, remove the media hyperbole from the equation.There is no doubt the Hawks wanted more picks in the top 20 and put up players they thought would have have interest to deliver them that.
It seems Hawk fans are really upset by the term 'firesale'. The fact is that they over-estimated the value of their 'stars' and/or no-one was interested in moving to Western Sydney (even with the prospect of the Hawks paying large chucks of their salaries).
In the end, the Hawks failed miserably in their objective. They didn't obtain the extra picks they were looking for and have been left with the aging players they thought had the most currency. Maybe not a 'firesale' as such. However, maybe they would have been better off letting at least one go for a pick in the mid 20s.
I'm sure the club walked away thinking the trading period didn't turn out they way they wanted and will now move to plan B.
if i was collingwood and they bid on daicos, i would let them have him and trust that the daicos's will be back at collingwood in a couple of years and let north spend the money developing him. take jhf and then by 2024 have both on your list with a big thankyou note to norfBecause North think JHF is the #1 player in the draft.
Eh? If the Pies had pick 2 and we bid on Daicos then Collingwood wouldn't match and they'd get JHF instead of us.I'm sure if the Pies had pick 2, they would have bid. As it stands, probably little impact on them bidding v making their own kid the number 1. I think it's the first time North have had the first pick in the draft.
Might want to look at the draft order there mate.if i was collingwood and they bid on daicos, i would let them have him and trust that the daicos's will be back at collingwood in a couple of years and let north spend the money developing him. take jhf and then by 2024 have both on your list with a big thankyou note to norf
So Jeff had a Jeff, which might be good news because it's more ammunition to get rid of him, but bad news otherwise.This is just a bad take, remove the media hyperbole from the equation.
We were open to moving on experienced players if it helped us and the were interested. It didn't eventuate, the players are all happy to return and had no interest in leaving. That is far from failing miserably.
We wanted to improve our draft hand and didn't, so it is mildly disappointing. But keeping our good players and going to the Draft with 3 picks inside 25 is not a disaster.
Jeff is a gigantic flog, the talk that he may be getting challenged is the best news from this trade period.So Jeff had a Jeff, which might be good news because it's more ammunition to get rid of him, but bad news otherwise.
The senior players all get aggrieved - not sure that's a huge issue but, again, not ideal. They must all be contemplating new homes next year if things aren't working out.
And the stated aim to improve up the draft board hasn't happened.
Hasn't been a disaster, but given Hawthorn achieved about as much as they would've if they just kept their mouths shut it's not been great.
Clearly Essendon won again, just by doing nothing. Eleventy D chess from the master again.
I reckon amiss or JVR for them instead of Williams but yeah totally agreeLove Freo's position.
Clark, Brodie, Picks 6, 8, 19.
Erasmus, Johnson, Williams. Three local boys. Sets them up for ten years.
Love Freo's position.
Clark, Brodie, Picks 6, 8, 19.
Erasmus, Johnson, Williams. Three local boys. Sets them up for ten years.
I don’t get dons fans saying the media don’t like em, they are fellated at every possible opportunityDodoro, like every year.
Even when he tries and fails, it's written up as a win. FMD.
I was being facetious, we absolutely offered market value. Just having a crack at the nuffie opposition fans that just have an axe to grind again Essendon and Dodoro when it’s clear to any objective observer the deal was instigated by Hill and his manager and the Essendon offer was more than fair. Sounds like discussions couldn’t have been more amicable however GWS just didn’t want to let him go which is their prerogative.
They lost one of their very best players coming into his prime and replaced him with 2 guys that couldn't get game elsewhere this year.Serious about Freo?
They gained Clark, Brodie and have picks 6 and 8 essentially for the loss of only Cerra. Huge win.