WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond Part 4

what about my club who has a premiership reunion and everything that goes with it........also playing the bottom side when we need % to make top 3.........

the clubs should boycot the rest of the year........that will make the people at the head of the wrfl look really good........

what a joke.......
surely you'd have to be compensated for money spent on catering etc by the league but at the end of the day where does all this money come from? Every home game club would need to be compensated for canteen/bar sales lost the ramifications are enormous.
this matter will have to be sorted this week otherwise a lot of clubs will go down the gurgler without the income generated for the rest of the season, I'm sure most clubs have already paid most of their league fees by now. what hope do clubs that don't have gaming revenue (majority of clubs I'd say) survive without their home game takings?

surely you'd have to be compensated for money spent on catering etc by the league but at the end of the day where does all this money come from? Every home game club would need to be compensated for canteen/bar sales lost the ramifications are enormous.
this matter will have to be sorted this week otherwise a lot of clubs will go down the gurgler without the income generated for the rest of the season, I'm sure most clubs have already paid most of their league fees by now. what hope do clubs that don't have gaming revenue (majority of clubs I'd say) survive without their home game takings?

What about teams that should of won there games today!!!!!!
Vales would have had a bloody good chance of winning another game today!!

one bright side of all this - clearances closed before it happened. could had have a lot of players gettin poached by rival leagues for remainder of season if the possibility of no games for a few weeks or even the season.:)

although i don't work on weekends, but it must piss players off if they choose not to work on Saturdays because of footy commitments, they are then told by the league that there will be no games, players in turn will be missing a weekends wage.

I know a few players around the club give up there weekends to play footy with their mates which is great, surly the league can give clubs much needed notice.

Just my thought!

Some useful info for aspiring umpires:D

WESTERN REGION FOOTBALL LEAGUE (Victoria) - Umpires
President Name: Terry Gunn
President Email: terrygunn1@live.com.au
President Phone: 0424505443
Street: Raglan Street
Suburb: Maidstone
Postcode: 3012 Details
Days of operation: Monday, Wednesday
Time: 6.00pm to 7.30pm
Duration: 1hr 1/2
Click here to view website

Boys maybe we all e-mail Mister Pop Gunn with our thoughts?
The comp has never been the same since The Patch died.:thumbsdown:

Boys maybe we all e-mail Mister Pop Gunn with our thoughts?
The comp has never been the same since The Patch died.:thumbsdown:

already did.........

i gave him a pasting and his reply was......im not standing down....good luck in getting umpires this week........

weak doog

i reacon this will go on all season........we should shut up shop and boycott the rest of the year.......no clubs=no wrfl.........that will send the wind up em.........

already did.........

i gave him a pasting and his reply was......im not standing down....good luck in getting umpires this week........

weak doog

i reacon this will go on all season........we should shut up shop and boycott the rest of the year.......no clubs=no wrfl.........that will send the wind up em.........
Suprised he actually replied to you weapons, the bloke seems to have more front than myer's

already did.........

weak doog

then we (the clubs) will just run it as normal next year have 18 rds for divy 2 and play the finals at yarraville not altona. sound good.

I cant believe that someone would be so selfish and stubborn that hes willing to ruin over 800 local football players chance of playing.

On top of that as mentioned Clubs who have paid out big for players get no reward and the smaller clubs who are struggling may not recover with no earnings? Cmon Terry have a good hard think about your selfishness

how is it going to be trying to lure players to our league next year and beyond. Our league looks like a joke to the outside world.

players may want different types of contracts which may include more lump sum payments, rather than higher match payments.

how is it going to be trying to lure players to our league next year and beyond. Our league looks like a joke to the outside world.

players may want different types of contracts which may include more lump sum payments, rather than higher match payments.

what happens if they strike all year? will we b allowed to get cleared? all we want to do is play footy and these tossers jst make it so hard. pull ur heads in

Guy's, I have just come from the WRFL COM meeting and I am confident that the solutions that have been worked through with the WRFL and the UA should see all games back on this weekend.

A huge credit to all involved in putting football before personalities. Well done especially to Mick Psalia (St Albans), Greg King (Hoppers), Mark Grech (Sunshine) & Chris Murphy (Spotty) for the work done to date.

thanks guys!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Guy's, I have just come from the WRFL COM meeting and I am confident that the solutions that have been worked through with the WRFL and the UA should see all games back on this weekend.

A huge credit to all involved in putting football before personalities. Well done especially to Mick Psalia (St Albans), Greg King (Hoppers), Mark Grech (Sunshine) & Chris Murphy (Spotty) for the work done to date.

thanks guys!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

has terry gunn resigned or stood aside??? because i still don't think umpires will go back until he is removed?? What Solutions have been put in place??

kanga,

Terry Gunn has not been sacked or resigned, The UA have come up with solutions to work around him in his role. More to follow soon.

Cheers
SNHR

guys please correct me if i am wrong, but as i am led to believe that terry 'up ya nose and away she goes' gunn has been given huge restrictions on what he can do ands what he cant over the remaining 8 weeks of his CONTRACT.
he is barely even allowed to contact umpires or make any decisions regaurding umpire allocation or their coaching. basically he is to sit on his hands and admire his rather large head, ego and hate mail list lol....
the funny thing to me is that this absolute tossa has done this stupidly....he has been appointed with the APPROVAL of afl vic, he has no positive results in his years at the helm, he is the first ever umpires advisor to have strike action taken against him, he gets paid sweet **** all but acts as if he is earnin afl exec wage and he thinks he is indispensible and will be working with aflvic forever.....
hey terry if u want to know ya future be sure to give me a call or email me cos my contact at afl vic (he is pretty high up) was tellin me at about 9pm tonight u may as well sell foxtel door to door mate cos u sure wont be involved in footy with afl vic next year....
whoever laughs last laughs loudest hahahahahahahahahahahaha

very lucky boys that the wrfl and the clubs sorted this out this week because i will tell ya that if it wasnt the wrfl was lookin at being NO MORE.

it will be interesting to see if the wrfl will learn a lesson out of all of this and improve or just take a deep breathe and go back to normal.

for all the days of our lives fans out there......there is another drama looming....the first week of our div2 finals and our second week of div2 and week one of div1 finals is in doubt due to finals venues and schedualling. lets hope this can get sorted asap but shall i say it......wrfl yet another poorly handled issue that is left until 6 weeks out of finals before getting ur attention......the saga never dies in the west lol

evo is nearly always right lol

guys please correct me if i am wrong, but as i am led to believe that terry 'up ya nose and away she goes' gunn has been given huge restrictions on what he can do ands what he cant over the remaining 8 weeks of his CONTRACT.
he is barely even allowed to contact umpires or make any decisions regaurding umpire allocation or their coaching. basically he is to sit on his hands and admire his rather large head, ego and hate mail list lol....
the funny thing to me is that this absolute tossa has done this stupidly....he has been appointed with the APPROVAL of afl vic, he has no positive results in his years at the helm, he is the first ever umpires advisor to have strike action taken against him, he gets paid sweet **** all but acts as if he is earnin afl exec wage and he thinks he is indispensible and will be working with aflvic forever.....
hey terry if u want to know ya future be sure to give me a call or email me cos my contact at afl vic (he is pretty high up) was tellin me at about 9pm tonight u may as well sell foxtel door to door mate cos u sure wont be involved in footy with afl vic next year....
whoever laughs last laughs loudest hahahahahahahahahahahaha

very lucky boys that the wrfl and the clubs sorted this out this week because i will tell ya that if it wasnt the wrfl was lookin at being NO MORE.

it will be interesting to see if the wrfl will learn a lesson out of all of this and improve or just take a deep breathe and go back to normal.

for all the days of our lives fans out there......there is another drama looming....the first week of our div2 finals and our second week of div2 and week one of div1 finals is in doubt due to finals venues and schedualling. lets hope this can get sorted asap but shall i say it......wrfl yet another poorly handled issue that is left until 6 weeks out of finals before getting ur attention......the saga never dies in the west lol

evo is nearly always right lol

Ever since the renaming of the FDFL to the WRFL this league has taken steps backwards year by year. The WRFL is the laughing stock of all metro football leagues and is by far the worst run in Victoria.

From the footballs, to the umpiring standard to umpire strikes the list of negatives goes on and on and really someone needs to take charge and work with clubs on all issues at hand and fix them. How a league can let something like this happen is far beyond me.

The have ruined the year for alot of clubs(those clubs trying to win a finals spot)hinderd revenue that will be lost from clubs and just reinterated other leagues perception of this once great competition.

From the early 2000 the standard has gone backwards and it is no wonder the league struggles to attract qulaity players and sponsorship. For all those who claim the WRFL is one of the strongest in Vic Metro is so far off the mark.

The EDFL is light years ahead of the WRFL and the likes of Keilor, Greenvale, Strathmore, Marby Park would beat the top sides of the WRFL by 15 goals + in the A grade(even worse in B grade) and the EDFL is probally the 2nd/3rd strongest league in Vic Metro behind the EFL.

For example one of Hoppers current better players was at Strathmore a couple of years ago and could not get a game in the seniors and left mid season and is now a A grade team of the year member and one of the Hoppers best players. I am in no way saying the guy cant play but that just goes to show how big a gap there is in standard of leagues.

I love this league and this game but this type of incidents do nothing but hinder the WRFL and really do nothing but push people away to other leagues like the EDFL and make them stronger and the WRFL standard weaker.

I wonder what clubs will consider a move to alternate leagues and if clubs dont, maybe a lot of players will look at leaving the competition next year? Any thoughts?

i live very close to coburg districts ground but play in the edfl have been thinking lately why dont districts try to start up juniors again and try to get into the edfl? there are a lot of kids in the pascoe vale glenroy area now....the pascoe vale fc junior program is exploding with numbers no reason districts cant do the same

Ever since the renaming of the FDFL to the WRFL this league has taken steps backwards year by year. The WRFL is the laughing stock of all metro football leagues and is by far the worst run in Victoria.

From the footballs, to the umpiring standard to umpire strikes the list of negatives goes on and on and really someone needs to take charge and work with clubs on all issues at hand and fix them. How a league can let something like this happen is far beyond me.

The have ruined the year for alot of clubs(those clubs trying to win a finals spot)hinderd revenue that will be lost from clubs and just reinterated other leagues perception of this once great competition.

From the early 2000 the standard has gone backwards and it is no wonder the league struggles to attract qulaity players and sponsorship. For all those who claim the WRFL is one of the strongest in Vic Metro is so far off the mark.

The EDFL is light years ahead of the WRFL and the likes of Keilor, Greenvale, Strathmore, Marby Park would beat the top sides of the WRFL by 15 goals + in the A grade(even worse in B grade) and the EDFL is probally the 2nd/3rd strongest league in Vic Metro behind the EFL.

For example one of Hoppers current better players was at Strathmore a couple of years ago and could not get a game in the seniors and left mid season and is now a A grade team of the year member and one of the Hoppers best players. I am in no way saying the guy cant play but that just goes to show how big a gap there is in standard of leagues.

I love this league and this game but this type of incidents do nothing but hinder the WRFL and really do nothing but push people away to other leagues like the EDFL and make them stronger and the WRFL standard weaker.

I wonder what clubs will consider a move to alternate leagues and if clubs dont, maybe a lot of players will look at leaving the competition next year? Any thoughts?

Oh here we go the expert is back 15+ goals you reckon haha your a blonk, Tom Hafey was down at Port v Spotty and said its one of the best standards he's seen and contest. And correct me if im wrong but i think he'd have a bit more knowledge than you expert.

The way you go on about the EDFL is sickning if you love it so much superstar MAINSbridge fu ck back there or maybe no team will take you????

I liked the way you commented earlier in the year on Davis kicking most of his goals against the weaker sides, maybe you should look at your own stats, oh wait sorry forgot you play in midfield and backline and your team hasnt got as good deliver and you had a cold blah blah spare me you`ll full of excuses.

Your a WRFL Div 2 player get over the EDFL or get on their thread and dag them

i live very close to coburg districts ground but play in the edfl have been thinking lately why dont districts try to start up juniors again and try to get into the edfl? there are a lot of kids in the pascoe vale glenroy area now....the pascoe vale fc junior program is exploding with numbers no reason districts cant do the same

It comes down to a few different things mate. Merging with a team that has juniors is a good thing for districts however they dont want to and nor should they give up their club name and or colours.

putting together junior sides is a very hard task without growing population in the area like new estates etc. and the major influx of people in the area are more inclined to play soccer than afl. having said that you have the likes of stathmore, north coburg west coburg and a few other clubs in the immeadiate area.

I know this has come up for discussion with coburg on numerous amount of times however like i said the club would not want to loose their identity as the people involved (Alan (Cat) Chandler and Steve Kennedy have worked their rears off for the past 20 years to keep it... they are probably two of the best people to run a footy club and anyone that has been down there or had to deal with them will tell you the same.

I hope one day districts can find success with a junior club but also keep their identity as a club.

Played EDFL 2 years ago dude and its not what you make it out to be.
The top 3 teams in Div 2 WrFL would be on par with those in EDFL and same with the top 2 - 3 in div 1. agree it is a better run leauge tho

If the city of Wyndham does not wish to negotiate when i comes to rescheduling, why not see about a couple of games back at Yarraville, just promise council they are a one off. Also see about a temporary fence at Whitten oval, or head down to Williamstown. Then of course there is St Albans ground.
If you don't ask you will never know, and I am sure Werribee could be flexible in a few of the games.