WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond Part 4

Hey mint just to let you know at 6.30pm in your home rooms there was 12 lavo guys to 8 north guys.
icon11.gif

On the umpiring choofa. he the men in white has been shit for two weeks in a row.:thumbsdown:

i must admit mate i was gone by 6:30 so thanks to the lavo guys that hung around :thumbsu:

My take.

Davis.
Tall Marking/Forward. I think that Davis is by far the best forward but he is benifets from being in a great team this year and the lack of quality big backmen. Never the less a champion forward and will more than likely win the comp goalkicking. More than likley will kick 100 plus goals.

Mansbridge.
Myself, you all know how i love talking about myself....
I play midfield, CHF and full forward so i my goal kicking tally suffers a little from that. Playing in a team that sometimes struggles in the midfield it can be diffucult but we are getting better. I am on track for 80-90 goals.

Winmar.
Small forward, good on the lead and good finisher. Seems to go missing against the better teams and i was not all that impressed with him when we played us. Never the less still has done his job with 44 goals and is a player that needs attention. On track for 60-70 goals.

Zurek.
Small forward who is very smart around the goals. He has done well considering his size but seems to have either gone missing or playing a diffrent role over the past month as he has kicked only 6 goals over the past month. A great return for Lavo of 41 goals to date and most likely kick 60-70 goals depending on where is plays.

Deer Park Boys.
Small forwards. Great players and really a key to Deer Parks sucess. They play more as flankers/pockets and are very quick and smart and are very good finishers. This is what makes Deer Park good is having 2 forward options instead of replying on 1 like a lot of other clubs.

Thats my take on the leading goalkickers. Davis will win the goalkicking(as long as stays injury free). I am really suprised that Lucas has only returned 29 goals would have to be a real dissapiontment for Nth Footscray. Has all the attributes to be a leading forward in the comp not sure if he plays back/midfield at times but even so he should still have kicked alot more goals considering he is playing in the 3rd best team who have a good midfield i would of though 26 goals is a below par return.

Could it also be argued that if you were in a better team with more forward options they wouldn't look for you as much and the goals would be spread more, therefore making it easier to kick goals in a poorer team. ( just throwing it out there big fella )

P.S , dont forget to bring a slab of crownies on Saturday !;)

Could it also be argued that if you were in a better team with more forward options they wouldn't look for you as much and the goals would be spread more, therefore making it easier to kick goals in a poorer team. ( just throwing it out there big fella )

Not sure if Cain has purchased crownies before..... you might have to settle for a box of baccardi breezers :D

I agree with that. The umpiring was bad on things like high contact, in the back and holding the man. I thought they gave too many free kicks and it ruined the flow of the game. Having said that I think they were bad both ways and if they're going to be bad you at least hope they are consistent in their decisions and I think they were. Laverton probably gave away more free quicks in front of the goals which may have looked bad, but the way they were umpring, the kicks were probably there.

AJ was sensational all day, and was my best on ground by a pretty long way. Who did you think was BOG for the Roosters Mint? I thought it was a very good team effort and sorry for the description, but i thought the small asian lad off half-back stood up when it counted, read the play well and ran the lines hard and caused a lot of damage for North.

Looking at the draw, I think its going to come down to the Laverton Vs Yarraville match for 5th spot, after Yarra's win on the weekend provided they get the job done before that. Should be an exciting finish to the season.

Good point but when one is giveing frees at one end and other isnt. Thats my point. Yes they (he) were BAD both ways.:D

Well yeah, but i think they both gave away far to many free kicks. Ruins the game, but at the end of the day, they are division 2 wrfl umpires so can't expect too much. Though sometimes they themselves forget that, by insisting on trying to bounce the ball around the grounds. I'm fairly sure all the ruckman want is a fair dip at the restart. I remember giving away a few 50's a couple of years ago when I informed an umpire that Jeff Gieshen wasn't watching and he was safe to just throw the ball up. But anyway i've gone off track. At the end of the day I don't think the umpires won or lost the game, North just had a little bit more class up either end and it shone through at the vital stages. Laverton are a couple of key position players away from being a real good side in Div. 2.

Evo, what happened to your boys on the weekend? Albanvale flying under the radar a bit, or a bad game for you guys? It's pretty quiet on here about Albanvale, but I think they will be a major player come finals time.

You make a valid point but i think kicking goals would be much easier in a team like Parkside or Albavale but your argument does have some basis.

Even tho you guys go in as very warm favourites i will bring a box of crownies and Callan mate i am a beer drinker and crown lager is my drink off choice.

A bet is a bet and i put my balls on the line. Will Endres play?:thumbsu:

You make a valid point but i think kicking goals would be much easier in a team like Parkside or Albavale but your argument does have some basis.

Even tho you guys go in as very warm favourites i will bring a box of crownies and Callan mate i am a beer drinker and crown lager is my drink off choice.

A bet is a bet and i put my balls on the line. Will Endres play?:thumbsu:

LOL, ill tell ya at 2.15pm on Saturday...... :D

dissapointing you will have to wait till after the snrs to get them.......:eek:

deer park have a reunion this week for the 94 div 1 premiership side and then v albanvale we hava past players day just like last season when we knocked them off i front of a big crowd..........

like every year cobra's will fail.......

Hey Evo,

I snuck over and only saw the first quarter of you blokes vs Cobra's and it seemed you blokes started really well "Looked Quick" and i was amazed to get the final score later that night..!! What Happend..!!

Did you lose a few to injury or were the Cobra's just up and about..??

we did loose our bench by half time but that is no excuse...the cobras are on par with parkside as the best...spoke to their coach after game and he was saying that prob theior best team performance and i would whole heartedly agree... alban vale traditionally loose alot of footy in close and with the hard stuff but this would be their strength now. we are pretty quike but cant keep that up all day yet, so they knew that, i think. i told the boys to keep playing the style of footy we are even if they were stuffed as so we can learn what and where we are going wrong. with the young team we hasve i think it will be detrimental if i keep changing the way they play just to try to say the game or in saturdays case make it a 6-7 goal lose than what we got. we are honest with ourselves and where we are at with our footy.

other than the first 1/4 we were outplayed and they were great. i think the big game will be between albanvale and parkside of what i have seen.

any albanvale boys on here think any different from the game??? do u think we were ok in 1st 1/4 and are we better than when we played u first time in your opinions???

we did loose our bench by half time but that is no excuse...the cobras are on par with parkside as the best...spoke to their coach after game and he was saying that prob theior best team performance and i would whole heartedly agree... alban vale traditionally loose alot of footy in close and with the hard stuff but this would be their strength now. we are pretty quike but cant keep that up all day yet, so they knew that, i think. i told the boys to keep playing the style of footy we are even if they were stuffed as so we can learn what and where we are going wrong. with the young team we hasve i think it will be detrimental if i keep changing the way they play just to try to say the game or in saturdays case make it a 6-7 goal lose than what we got. we are honest with ourselves and where we are at with our footy.

other than the first 1/4 we were outplayed and they were great. i think the big game will be between albanvale and parkside of what i have seen.

any albanvale boys on here think any different from the game??? do u think we were ok in 1st 1/4 and are we better than when we played u first time in your opinions???

Thanks for your reply Evo,

I have since spoken with some influencial Albanvale people and they most definately said that the scoreboard did not reflect the talented group of young young blokes you are blooding down there. General concensus was that W'Vale would be perhaps only a year or two of pressing finals calculations.

Hang in there and i am sure you there will be reward for effort just around the corner.

If you were to put your hard earned money on after now playing everyone for the Div 2 Flag?

evo u have nothing to worry about mate u have a very good but young side, i didnt play but from what i saw ur boys can play.. i was very impressed with number 56 i think, blonde kid played hf the kid can def play..
our boys were pretty good probly the first time this year we have put 4 1/4 2gether. we were also missing our ruckman and endres, so pretty pleasing win. i personally was a bit worried about playing ur mob after u guys pushed deerpark the week b4.. good luck for the rest of the year

We are now just over mid season , Who is the stand out coach so far ? Who will be coach of the year ?

Only one coach Juggar all you so called experts who bagged him
early on have Egg over your face now.
Everthing going to plan so far touch wood,with a few new signings
to come stay tuned.:thumbsu:;)

I am sure with the few new signings will come plenty of harmony amongst certain players of the current playing group that will put there hand up after playing the bulk of the season to make way for some glory sniffers. Seen it all before and i must say it can tear a club apart. Be Careful thats all i'm saying knackers

i guess we all judge coaches differently. if it is his ability to keep a list of high profile high paid team together with no isssues then juegan, but if it is about developing and finding talent n gettin them to play as a team then surely williams, madigan and our own evo are the 3 teams which have performed beyond their expevtations. most agree parkside performed as expected, north f, yarraville n the rest are below what we expected preseason. guess it is question of coach versus manager?????

as for new signings - they wanna be quick as clearances closed july 1st???????

i guess we all judge coaches differently. if it is his ability to keep a list of high profile high paid team together with no isssues then juegan, but if it is about developing and finding talent n gettin them to play as a team then surely williams, madigan and our own evo are the 3 teams which have performed beyond their expevtations. most agree parkside performed as expected, north f, yarraville n the rest are below what we expected preseason. guess it is question of coach versus manager?????

well imo, the coach who has a salary cap of $0 to work with and who has his team in the top 5 would get my award:thumbsu:

as for new signings - they wanna be quick as clearances closed july 1st???????

Got a couple of fair points their O.O except for Deer Park,have thrown money around with the players they have picked up-Buttergieg clarke,Willmott,Fenton too name a few.

If you were to put your hard earned money on after now playing everyone for the Div 2 Flag?[/quote]

gee good question...i would have to put my money on an each way bet and maybe a draw...hahaha
parkside are easily the best quality team i have seen this year and they like to plasy to their game plan and structure by playing thru the middle and by having their wingers play forward of the footy to set the next play up....they have a big bodied side and some great footballers running around for them. i think that if a side can beat them they will have to play thru the middle themselves and put numbers thru parks fav spots on the ground...other than their top 5 players, i think they will loose out alot if they are forced to make a decision that does not come normal to their gameplan and turn the footy over, this is where to hurt them i think. (strong runners off half back helps too.)

the side i think can do this and definatly hurt them on the scoreboard would be albanvale. they really impressed me on sat and they run hard in numbers (both ways) and have very good skills by foot. i feel they seem less reliant on their big few players week in week out and therefore any of their senior list could step up and play their role for the team which IMO would have them winning in a pretty close on....

the bet would only be $5 each way tho....we in an ecinomical crisis remember hahaha

who knows on the coach of the year i would have always thought that it woul;d go to priemership coach but if lavo finish right up there after finals cant go past their coach.....spent no money on players and have rec ruited well and have been puttin the performance on the board....

just a quick one boys... div2 may not get any games this weekend from my mail....if wrfl cant sort out the last half of the umpires saga by friday they have suggested at the fact of only umpiring div1 games and to make a point give div2 the week off...all umpires would field positions on all div1 games...(2-3 fields, 4 boundries, 2 goal and 1 emergency)

would be a shame if it happened....and i will stress my source has said that it is only a suggested outcome from late last week so it may have been just left at that (a suggestion), just thought i would let u all know.

i hope it doesnt happen...
on umpires i have actually thought the standard of umpiring decisions has increased some what over the past month....or to a consistant standard that both teams on the sat can say they know how the call is going to go.... MAYBE ALL THAT KICKING AND SCREAMING I DID WITH THE WRFL HAS PAID OFF WITH THE UMPS....hahahahaha

just a quick one boys... div2 may not get any games this weekend from my mail....if wrfl cant sort out the last half of the umpires saga by friday they have suggested at the fact of only umpiring div1 games and to make a point give div2 the week off...all umpires would field positions on all div1 games...(2-3 fields, 4 boundries, 2 goal and 1 emergency)

would be a shame if it happened....and i will stress my source has said that it is only a suggested outcome from late last week so it may have been just left at that (a suggestion), just thought i would let u all know.

i hope it doesnt happen...
on umpires i have actually thought the standard of umpiring decisions has increased some what over the past month....or to a consistant standard that both teams on the sat can say they know how the call is going to go.... MAYBE ALL THAT KICKING AND SCREAMING I DID WITH THE WRFL HAS PAID OFF WITH THE UMPS....hahahahaha

If the round of matches was called off what do you think would happen to the games that were spose to be played this week.

1.Just written off
2.The season be put back 1 week and played next week
3.Be made up at the end of the home and away

Thoughts gents ?

If the round of matches was called off what do you think would happen to the games that were spose to be played this week.

1.Just written off
2.The season be put back 1 week and played next week
3.Be made up at the end of the home and away

Thoughts gents ?

I am not advocating missing a week, but if they put the season back one week or make the game up at the end of the season, what ****ing excuse do they have for the shitful uneven draw we have? They should be playing 18 games FFS.

Missing out on a game of football is crap though, it only hurts the players and supporters of the local clubs which is unacceptable :thumbsdown:

Evo, I think you have just been getting some of the better umpires. There's definitely some guys who are better than others and some who probably struggle at all facets of life and this ineptitude unfortunately follows them into their umpiring profession.

Personly if the umpire strike was to take place i think the rd of games would be written off and it would effectively become a 16rd season Cant see them extending the season especialy if its only div2 that gets the strike the league wont allow div1 and div2 seasons to finish at the same time

the season started when it did because of ground availability for finals. There is no room to move at the end of a season. If a round is missed it is gone.

Why not make a weekend of it. Play the 18's B's and C's at Werribee on the Friday night, then play A grade 18's sat morning, div 1 and div 2 reserves followed by div 2 seniors and a night div 1 grandfinal. Cut back on costs and get you better value for money in your overpriced admission to the grandfinals.

I just hope if worst comes to worst and there is a strike that it is handled alot better than last time, clubs not finding out till friday avo then having to contact all there players to tell them no games only to find out 2hrs later games are back on then having to contact all players again. The league should do what it can to make sure it knows by tomorrow avo so all clubs have plenty notice