Yarra Valley - Mountain District FL Forum 2

Havent been around for a while but things have been active off field since the end of the year with plenty of rumors flying around.

Certainly some good coaching appointments with Gembrook probably leading the way with their new hierarchy. Some good recruits to the club too in the form of the Clark brothers who will be in the top echelon of players in the league.

My mail also informs me that Wandin and the Burras have been very active as well and certainly have been selling their virtues to many prospective recruits.

Has anyone got any news regarding the new Thornton Eildon coach for 2009 or is Pup returning again?

Also Powelltown's new coach and assistant will be great recruits for the club - both can play but will they be able to coach as well?

Emerald have also been busy as well and with big Michael Scoon at the helm they will again be a premiership contender. Olinda FC started training the other night and had a great turn up and also some new recruits.

hey local, i havent been on much either very busy.
have decided to play down here somewhere this year with the travelling finally taking its toll. i will still be a sponsor and patron and will help in any way this year. will always be a shinboner and hope they will be in the mix come september in 09.

agree with gembrook leading the way i think they will be the contender with silvan this year. big statement i know but you add the quality of jones, the clarks and the others returning they will make a huge run up the ladder. good luck to them the faithful have been waiting a while for this.

They've probably been saving a while for this.

Graeme Tuplin appointed new President.
Jodi Chandler (Heales) Mick Hill (Olinda) & Jason Leeds (Mt.Evelyn) elected to the board.
Shane Smith to recieve YVMDFL Life Membership (Congrats big fella)

With the league holding their AGM last night, will they put any reports on the website?

Is already on the YVMDFL Internet site - www.yvmdfl.com.au

Also has been placed on another thread by Rusty Hawk - looking at the reports the league is certainly in a sound financial state, great effort by all concerned and our league is certainly the envy of many other competitions.

Graeme Tuplin appointed new President.
Jodi Chandler (Heales) Mick Hill (Olinda) & Jason Leeds (Mt.Evelyn) elected to the board.
Shane Smith to recieve YVMDFL Life Membership (Congrats big fella)

Good to see these people getting involved, especially great to see Jodi Chandler on board too!

Well done to Smithy and to Tony Mitchell who is stepping down and heading to the VCFL board as a Director. Has done a great job during his time with the league.

Graeme Tuplin will certainly be a good replacement too - the league is certainly in good hands.

Yarra Junction Football & Netball Club
Centenary Year 2009

WE NEED YOUR HELP

With the the names of past players (contact details)

And

Highlights of careers
Including;

1) Era Played
2) Years of Games Played
3) Finals Played (if any)
4) Awards Recieved (if any)

Please contact
Terry Elliot - 59671895
or
David Fletcher - 59671366

Or send correspondence to
Y.J.F.C
PO Box 90
Yarra Junction
VIC 3797

www.yarrajunctionfc.vcfl.com.au

hey local, i havent been on much either very busy.
have decided to play down here somewhere this year with the travelling finally taking its toll. i will still be a sponsor and patron and will help in any way this year. will always be a shinboner and hope they will be in the mix come september in 09.

Hey Pup, are you returning to the Brookers in 2009 or perhaps Berwick whichis certainly making some moves player wise to improve its on field performance.

Also any news regarding Thornton Eildon's new senior coach? I heard they have interviewed some candidates but are still to announce an appointment? I would have thought this would be a great opportunity to take on as they are not far away fom winning another premiership in 2009.

Wodonga Bulldogs FC 2009 Pre-Season Carnival

2009 Pre Season 13�s Carnival
Martin Park Wodonga
7th March 2009
The Wodonga Bulldogs Football Club would like to invite you to register your interest in a round robin style carnival to be held on Saturday 7th March 2009. As most clubs have found it difficult during this time to schedule practice matches due to oval conditions along with Official League�s reluctant to arrange pre season competition�s as competing clubs not wanting to play rivals prior to the season commencement we felt this is a way to provide an option for clubs seeking an alternative arrangement such as ourselves.

We have been fortunate enough to secure a bore facility at our oval and have 2 playing ovals adjacent to each other which are both first class surfaces. At this stage we are hoping to gather enough interest from clubs all around Victoria and Southern NSW and ACT to compete. If we can obtain enough interest we will look to run the competition over Saturday and Sunday or just Saturday depending on numbers.

All clubs will be guaranteed 3 matches of 15 minute halves. To enter a Team there will be a charge of $300 in order to cover the purchase of Umpires & Footballs etc. We will split clubs up into randomly selected Pools of 4 with the winner of each Pool to progress to the Final or Finals depending on numbers.

Minimum $2,000 Prize Money
More if Sufficient Teams

If you are interested or would like further information please contact Lorraine Chiltern our Club Manager on 02 60246377 or via email on wo12031@bigpond.net.au. I have attached a brief summary of rules for you to pursue which are basically the same with only the following alterations.

RULES

� Maximum 20 Players to a Team.
� Maximum 13 Players on field at one time.
� Straight 15 Minute Halves.
� Standard Free Kick Rules apply as per normal.
� Only 3 Players allowed in Centre Square for Centre Bounce.
� Unlimited Interchange.
� Out of Bounds is a Free Kick Awarded to non offending Team.
� Goal & Points scored as per normal.
� If Teams equal on Wins at end of Pool matches, For & Against will decide Winner.
� Maximum of 2 Bounces per player before the ball is disposed of.
� Restart�s and after a Goal is scored are back in the centre.
� Scoring of Point is same and player can play on immediately.
� 8 Minute Half Time Break

We are in the concept stage at present and would just like to see how many clubs would consider this beneficial to their pre season programme. If you could return your interest by December 10 that would be greatly appreciated to finalise draws. We will need at least 8 Teams to run the Carnival.

The 2 ovals will be in fantastic condition for the safety of the players and we�ll endeavour to structure morning and later afternoon matches to further assist with the Grand Final being played under lights on the main oval. Canteen & Bar facilities will be available along with Ice, trainer facilities and normal requirements conducted by home teams during season proper as we have 4 change rooms available to utilize.

Once again thank you for your time and consideration of our proposal and we look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Neil Tolsher Brendan Smith
Club President Football Director
Wodonga Bulldogs Wodonga Bulldogs

Is already on the YVMDFL Internet site - www.yvmdfl.com.au

Also has been placed on another thread by Rusty Hawk - looking at the reports the league is certainly in a sound financial state, great effort by all concerned and our league is certainly the envy of many other competitions.

Was hoping to see something more like the report that the EFL publish http://www.efl.org.au/fileadmin/user_upload/forms_downloads/2008/EFL_AReport_web.pdf. Not sure how you work out that the league is in a sound financial state without a financial report

Totally True I suspect the Local Guru has got hold a copy of the annual report in order to make the statement about sound financial state. But in summary the report showed income up $84,279 to $798,017 costs up $63,627 to $739,745 producing a net operating surplus of $58,272. Less other expenses of $35,592 of which $14,425 were cash rebates back to clubs resulting in a net surplus of $22,680. We have $105K in the bank Debtors of $61,455 Stock $39,923 and total assets of $229,917. Our only creditors $9003 leaving a surplus of $220,914. This is after having paid back cash to the clubs $165,237 over the past 10 years.
Hope this helps

Hey Pup, are you returning to the Brookers in 2009 or perhaps Berwick whichis certainly making some moves player wise to improve its on field performance.

Also any news regarding Thornton Eildon's new senior coach? I heard they have interviewed some candidates but are still to announce an appointment? I would have thought this would be a great opportunity to take on as they are not far away fom winning another premiership in 2009.

nah havent heard from the brookers although would love to keep playing against alex. probably looking in casey-cardinia league.

Thornton just working out some finer details with a bloke that i think will be great for them. had a few words to him last week and got the ball rolling with the committee. At this stagei think there is only three leaving including myself but with a few coming back the boners will be right up there again.

Totally True I suspect the Local Guru has got hold a copy of the annual report in order to make the statement about sound financial state. But in summary the report showed income up $84,279 to $798,017 costs up $63,627 to $739,745 producing a net operating surplus of $58,272. Less other expenses of $35,592 of which $14,425 were cash rebates back to clubs resulting in a net surplus of $22,680. We have $105K in the bank Debtors of $61,455 Stock $39,923 and total assets of $229,917. Our only creditors $9003 leaving a surplus of $220,914. This is after having paid back cash to the clubs $165,237 over the past 10 years.
Hope this helps

Thanks Graeme, it looks as though localfootyguru was on the money (pardon the pun) and that the league is financially sound. I just hope that not to much of the 61k owed to the league is from member clubs. Reading some posts on this forum it would appear that some clubs spend a few bob on players and it would be a shame if other clubs struggled to pay their dues to the league.

Just wanna be one of the first to congratulate caleb tiller from thornton eildon on getting drafted to carlton on the weekend as a bottom age player... great kid and it was a pleasure playing with him in thorntons winning premiership side 2 years ago all the best to him in the future .....

Massive congratulations to Nathan O'Keefe who was drafted on saturday to North Melbourne, a great kid who is well respected at Seville.
We wish Nathan all the best in his upcoming AFL career.

UMPIRES

Peter Cameron is no more! Have heard that the new Director of Umpiring for 2009 is Jason McNiece. Will Eastmure, the current Secretary of the YVMDFL has resigned.

Correct you are Accurate One. Peter flagged his intention to resign with the league at season's end leaving the post open to applicants.

I would like to thank Peter and Will publicly for their tremendous efforts with the YRUA over the past two seasons. Will must get further kudos for setting up the umpiring academies which will bear juicy fruits over the coming years with some of these youngsters having huge amounts of talent.:thumbsu:

Would also like to congratulate Jason adn wish him well with the Umpire's Director job. He is currently putting together his team which should see some more experienced umpires return to the YVMDFL.

Bring on 2009

nah havent heard from the brookers although would love to keep playing against alex. probably looking in casey-cardinia league.

Thornton just working out some finer details with a bloke that i think will be great for them. had a few words to him last week and got the ball rolling with the committee. At this stagei think there is only three leaving including myself but with a few coming back the boners will be right up there again.

With big bern hourigan announced to coach thornton next year pup, no questioning his on field abilities, just wondering how does he go as a leader off the field around the club with training, addressing players etc, and does he bring some new players to the the club and our div 2?

Off field he is a very popular character amongst players and supporters, bit of a crowd favourite and didnt say much much on the ground but always has the right things to say and everyone took notice when he said them. he comes across as shy but when you get to know him you get used to his quick wit. Was someone that always had some good input for me.

he wasnt the best at training attendance but bad luck big fella you have to be now.

he has some connections in the diamond valley where he used to play and could be bringing a group up. caught up with him on saturday and said he should have brought them up last year.

Off field he is a very popular character amongst players and supporters, bit of a crowd favourite and didnt say much much on the ground but always has the right things to say and everyone took notice when he said them. he comes across as shy but when you get to know him you get used to his quick wit. Was someone that always had some good input for me.

he wasnt the best at training attendance but bad luck big fella you have to be now.

he has some connections in the diamond valley where he used to play and could be bringing a group up. caught up with him on saturday and said he should have brought them up last year.

Sounds like he will be a good fit for you're old club mate, dont think the boners will struggle too much even if there isnt an influx of new players as your boys and alex were more than a match for most clubs during the year.
Although not real sure why you would like to continue playing against alex, (from your last post re gembrook burras) i guess not being involved with either of the clubs i dont understand the rivalry i would have thought it was an interclub on field rivalry, or is there a genuine personal disliking between players of the clubs?

Can anyone tell me how Matthew Clark (ex.Seville and The Basin) and Ben "Sticks" Nicoll (ex. Seville and Ringwood) go?:confused: Was told Clarky was a gun mid fielder at Seville while Sticks was very handy too.:confused::confused::confused:

Sounds like he will be a good fit for you're old club mate, dont think the boners will struggle too much even if there isnt an influx of new players as your boys and alex were more than a match for most clubs during the year.
Although not real sure why you would like to continue playing against alex, (from your last post re gembrook burras) i guess not being involved with either of the clubs i dont understand the rivalry i would have thought it was an interclub on field rivalry, or is there a genuine personal disliking between players of the clubs?

me and most of the boys are the same in that we get along with a few of them off the field but generally cant stand them and love to beat them and i think the feeling is mutual towards me from their players and supporters. thats why it hurt me so much gf day. my record against alex before that game was played 16 won 13 in 6 years but that counts for nothing now hey.

i dont understand the rivalry i would have thought it was an interclub on field rivalry, or is there a genuine personal disliking between players of the clubs?

Genuine dislike for 90% of the alex players and i think the feeling is mutual.

I reckon bern will be a good coach this year he's a great bloke, well liked throughout the club, and he has a great footy mind!

Pup will be sorely missed this year, he was a great coach, great player and always put in 110% around the club!! i wish him the best of luck in his next chapter and im sure whatever he decides to do, he will enjoy the same sucess as he did at the boners!! good on ya pup and im sure we'll see ya round the club from time to time!!