Yarra Valley - Mountain District FL Forum 2

bit boring on here at the moment.

here is what i know and have heard from on here and around the traps.

DIV 2

Thornton
Gone: Myself, Brett Andrews, Mark Hardy, John Elliott
signed:Luke Sharp, Andy Marshall, Scott Currie
should cover the losses and be right back up there again.

Emerald
Gone: Steve Wright, Steve Cusworth, Shane Williams, Robbie Stewart.
signed: Mick Scoon
lost there 4 best young players that were probably there best anyway. team with seemingly a great future will drop back to the pack.

Yarra Glen: Apparently a few leaving
should be thereabouts

Kinglake: Have signed a couple and have had big numbers at training.

Seville: new coach and a couple of new faces, good numbers at training. should be the big movers in 09.

junction: lost the edwards boys one to sth bel the other knee inj but signed ex brooker and bomber brad charman and a few others should improve.

belgrave:
mouse meyer signed at cranbourne with me, nick stow to upwey, marcus stow and dylan worral to sth bel and just about everyone else leaving. not looking good for 09.

powelly:
new coach and another player that are guns and should improve again.

olinda:
unknown.

Yea:
paddy mckenna coaching and some other signings. should improve too

PREDICTIONS
Thornton
Seville
Kinglake
Yarra Glen
Olinda
Powelltown
Yea
Emerald
Yarra Junction
Belgrave

PREMIER: Thornton
LEAGUE B&F: Tregoning(Olinda)/R.chapman(thorn)

DIV 1

Brookers:
signed: aussie jones, clark brothers, shane williams from emerald, plus a lot of others.
should be massive improvers from last year.

silvan:
couple in and a couple out will be there again at the end.

healsville:
??

wandin:
??

mt evelyn:
aparrently picked up a few.

upwey:
new coach in porter and a couple of other signings

warby: aparently signed a couple of alex boys.

alex:
lost all there imports from last year plus oakley and davis looking elswhere, could be a long season at rebel park.

Monbulk:
??

Woori:
??

PREDICTIONS
Probably dont know enough.

silvan
upwey
gembrook
monbulk
woori
mt ev
healsville
wandin
warby
alex

PREMIERS: silvan
LEAGUE B&F: ricky clark

there we go that might get things going.......

I thought that the league brought in the points system to encourage clubs to develope their own players. How will clubs like Gembrook be able to attract so many players from outside their current list and still fill a side under the required points?

Re:
Yarra
Valley - Mountain District FL Forum 2

DIV 1

Brookers:
signed: aussie jones? clark brothers, shane williams from emerald.
heard rumours that jones has already walked out????

silvan:
lost so far= cox, glassborough, both dale, brothers, goodie, gillespie
rumoured to have left= weatherly, williams, bissells, mitchell
apparently a certain affluant supporter is focusing on another club (the same club who last year had a big sauce head playing for them who was a previous AFL b&f winner, captain, delisted, darwin, family court all within eighteen months) so the well might finally be drying up with a certain gladiator and his best mate are set to make a comeback big bucks wich is what he does....
no threepeat....

healsville:
had a few up in darwin, conrau to chirnside need to pick up alot to be a contender..

wandin:
picked up= cam taylor (gadget, gun backman), bartling both from east ringwwood. lost rickard to kilsyth..
middle of the row...

mt evelyn:
chris murphy, chargie, jd?
handy pick ups no doubt more to come, no excuses for the mounters now good coach gun player this year will show what thier made of...
an outside chance....

upwey:
wade porter ( gun, he won 1st div efl league b&f from centre half forward in '07 but was ineligable due to striking charge could kick 200), daniel sheers ( has been efl 1st div's best backman for the last six years takes big marks wont be beaten) another midfielder who is well known and more than handy his name escapes me...
my tip for the flag in 09... anything less will be a co$tly season...

warby: aparently signed a couple of alex boys.
are gunna need alot more

alex:
lost some recruits from last year, oakley? davis?
they will have some big scores kick up on that lush ground...

Monbulk:
new coach luke mccormack ( gun midfielder, better than haines by a long way and a good bloke, will dominate) shannon koole is back along with a few other premiership players to return the hawks are my tip to play off in september 2nd

Woori:
alot of rumours around woori preseason cancelled, they have signed stolly for a grand a game, dallas spencer to retire, younger players being chased by various other clubs and with some success...
will be lucky to make finals...

PREDICTIONS

upwey
monbulk
mt evelyn
silvan
gembrook
woori
wandin
healsville
warby
alex

PREMIERS: upwey
LEAGUE B&F: sheers, mccormack

Re:
Yarra
Valley - Mountain District FL Forum 2

DIV 1

Brookers:
signed: aussie jones? clark brothers, shane williams from emerald.
heard rumours that jones has already walked out????

Who makes these rumours up? Aussie, both Clark boys (Ricky and Gordo) and coach Travis Marsham are all definitely committed to Gembrook for season 2009. Don't believe a lot of the rubbish you hear people talking after one or ten beers.

I thought that the league brought in the points system to encourage clubs to develope their own players. How will clubs like Gembrook be able to attract so many players from outside their current list and still fill a side under the required points?

The point system requires you to field a senior team each week and keep your total player points within a predetermined maximum. I think that maximum is 32 points - but I stand to be corrected.

Local players attract 1 point. Imports from another club or another country or suburban league attract two points each. As Aussie last played at Narre Warren he attracts two points, as do both Ricky and Lee Clark. If they play with us again next year, they will then be valued at 1 point and regarded as a local player. State League recruits (ie. players recruited directly from either VFL, SANFL, WAFL etc) are valued at 3 points in their 1st year. Every year thereafter they drop a point. By the third year they are regarded as a local player, attracting just 1 point. If your club is able to attract a player directly from the AFL, then he is valued at 4 points.

Hence our 3 recruits next year are worth 6 points. As the majority of the remainder of our list are local players we'll have no difficulty staying under the points "cap".

So, in answer to your question - we haven't recruited a large number of players from outside our club - we've recruited three, plus a highly regarded top quality senior coach in Travis Marsham. Two of the three playing recruits - Ricky Clark and Aussie Jones - are playing assistants and have already contributed a great deal in our first four or five weeks of pre-season training.

Which is precisely why we were so thrilled to get them to our club.

Good info Pup!

Havent been down to training yet because of work but i have heard Seville have had 40+ on the track and have picked up a few handy players. We had about 7 or 8 second year unders play in the 1sts last year and with the exception of Nath O'Keffe they are all down there and apparantley getting better... Have heard a couple of good players are comin back out of the woodwork to play again this year as well. Things are lookin pretty good for us at the moment but ya never know, we thought the same when we signed Scotty Hunter as coach and a few new players 2 years ago and we didnt even make finals... Hopefully our depth is the difference this year.

Spoke to Gatesy before christmas at an undislosed nightclub in Ringwood and he reckons Junction are lookin really good as well. Good choice pickin up a local bloke in Trav Selby as their coach im sure he would be able to get them a few extra players from up the road. His old man is a superstar, not sure if he is helpin him out but would be a massive bonus for them if he was... Cant see them finishing bottom again.

Silky is still at Yarra Glen and ive heard the picked up his mate Ryan Richards from Coldy who will be a pretty handy big man for 2nd div footy. Look out tho he doesnt mind liftin the elbows :D. Pretty sure Silks told me they havent lost any.

I have heard the new blokes at Powely are absolute guns. As long as they hang on to the blokes they had running around in their midfield last year then no reason why they wont be a good side.

Looking at all the players coming into the better sides in First Divy its seems like the standand is becoming increasingly better than 2nd div each year... By the sounds of it Alex have their work cut out for them. Makes you wonder if they were better off staying down in 2nd?

I like the look of the new website. Less cluttered and quite easy to navigate around. Will clubs be able to put decent sized photographs on now?

Interested to know pup who are the players that alex have supposedly lost to warby and which imports from last year have left??

i heard mckinlay and someone else ?? to warby and maatman, oakley, geddes[/quote]

Were they all part of the GF side, what type of players are they and how big of a hole does that leave for alex going to div 1?

just surfing around other country footy league forums and seen a post on moorcroft apperantly going to barham up in the central murry prob just another rumour though

i heard mckinlay and someone else ?? to warby and maatman, oakley, geddes

Were they all part of the GF side, what type of players are they and how big of a hole does that leave for alex going to div 1?[/quote]

All played in senior Grand Final last year. Biggest loss would be Adam Oakley a very handy midfielder, McKinlay and Maatman are both 6'4 ish and play ruck and Geddes is a chb or fb. Bit of a hole to fill if they are leaving

owen weatherly i think played down your way this year has been linked to several om clubs- can the fella play? and can anyone confirm whether he will be leaving

Watched him half a doz times last year, and I reckon he goes alright. Big aggressive forward, would have kicked a ton if they didn't have Moorecroft.

Twenty20 Cricket - The AFL ALL STARS v Gembrook Cockatoo Footy Boys
Proudly sponsored by Mighty Helpful Mitre 10 - Emerald Co-op

Sunday 1st February - 12-30 start
Gembrook Sports Ground (melways 312;F9)
$5 entry(Children Under 16 Free)

BBQ and refreshments available ( Strictly no BYO alcohol)

Arrive at the ground 12noon to enter a raffle to win a place on the AFL ALL star team!!!!

Live Music, Prizes for Crowd Catches

Brendan Fevola, Aussie Jones, Stephen Milne, Corey Jones, Daniel Pratt, Mick Firrito ,Brady Rawlings,Leigh Harding, Josh Gibson and others.

On the subject of NFL, im not from this league but i hear Powelltown have signed two massive recruits in their playing/coach Barry and R.Collins from Thomastown. This is a huge bonus for a club i hear was non existant not long ago. Two gun footballers (both played TAC Cup and R.Collins also in the VFL) and both very good leaders, no doubt more will follow and i will surely be keeping an eye on the club and their results.
Congrats Powelltown and good luck to the both of them.

Definitely no Collins at Powelltown, staying at Thomastown and no others from last years premiership team at Thomstown are following

The Lyndale Football Club in the SFL division 2 are seeking practice matches on March 21st & 28th. Games can be played at either home or away. Any inquiries please PM me with your contact details and I will be in touch.

From the YVMDFL website - the new site is a big improvement too!

Heard good things are happening on the umpiring front too with the return of a number of guys from other leagues and the return of an umpiring legend and former a AFL umpire to be involved with the new umpire coaching hierarchy.

YVMDFL Director of Umpire Appointment

The YVMDFL are pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Gerard Moore as Umpire Director for 2009. Gerard replaces Peter Cameron who is taking a well earned break. Peter has made a significant contribution to the YVMDFL umpiring fraternity and we wish Peter all the very best.

Gerard Moore previously umpired in the YVMDFL from 1999 to 2001. Gerard has had vast experience with several major leagues and together with his passion & professionalism, will make a major contribution to the development of all YVMDFL umpires. Mr Stephen Walter, CEO of the YVMDFL has been impressed with Gerard’s drive & vision and anticipates 2009 under Gerard Moore’s leadership will be a year not to be missed if you are an umpire.

With the return of a number of umpires back to the YVMDFL and the continued development of the junior umpires, the YVMDFL is well placed for 2009.

Letters & emails will be sent out in coming days to all umpires. Briefly, key training information is detailed below.

For further information, please contact Stephen Walter on 59615611

SEASON COMMENCEMENT & TRAINING VENUE

Div 2 commences 4/4/09 & Div 1 after Easter on 18/4/09

Training commences from 5.45 – 6.45pm every Wednesday from 18/2/09* and “ in - season” meetings from 7.30 – 8.15pm (Knox Athletics Track – Melways 73 D7)
*Prior to our training formally commencing on 18/2/09 we will be running two optional Sunday sessions details are:

8/2/08 – Grants Picnic Ground - Kallista Melways 75K4 meet outside the Kiosk 7.30am for a 7.45am departure

15/2/08 – 1000 steps / Tremont - Melways 74H1 meet outside the Café @ 7.30am for a 7.45am departure

Definitely no Collins at Powelltown, staying at Thomastown and no others from last years premiership team at Thomstown are following

Not what I have heard or seen Thirsty - think there may be other NFL players also suiting up with the Demons in 2009.

McDonald is doing a tremendous job so far and its only pre season.

just surfing around other country footy league forums and seen a post on moorcroft apperantly going to barham up in the central murry prob just another rumour though

Another junk rumor - will be playing at Silvan alongside Weatherley who was rumored to be a target of Ovens and Murray clubs.

Not what I have heard or seen Thirsty - think there may be other NFL players also suiting up with the Demons in 2009.

McDonald is doing a tremendous job so far and its only pre season.

There are a few players who haven't played at Thomastown for a few years who are there, Collins is still contracted for two years I've been told and has committed to it. Barry will always do a good job.

Have heard the same thing a while back about Collins and his contract, had also heard that the powelly boys were trying to find a way around it. Dont know how iron clad local footy contracts are.
One thing with Baz is that he will have the boys as fit as they ever have been (providing he doesnt kill them). Apparently have been getting good numbers and training has been punishing but enjoyable (i never thought those words went together, a bit like fun run)

"The YVMDFL are pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Gerard Moore as Umpire Director for 2009. Gerard replaces Peter Cameron who is taking a well earned break. Peter has made a significant contribution to the YVMDFL umpiring fraternity and we wish Peter all the very best."

The appointment of Gerard Moore has taken me by surprise. Does anyone know what became of Jason McNiece, supposedly appointed to this position last December?

When do clearances start to be processed? Could be some interesting reading.

Think they open on the 1st of February. As per your thoughts Totally and what I am hearing (bar the crap rumors) there will be some interesting comings and goings. Some good players are going to be in the league (especially 1st Division) in 2009.

The appointment of Gerard Moore has taken me by surprise. Does anyone know what became of Jason McNiece, supposedly appointed to this position last December?[/QUOTE]

Can't answer that myself but my opinion is that McNiece would be better suited to just umpiring - going by his demeanour on the football field at times, I certainly wouldn't want him coaching umpires.

I would have thought some new blood from outside the league is the best thing that could happen to the umpiring group.

Footy puts Olinda on the map
Matt Burgan 2:50 PM Mon 12 May, 2008

Listen up boys

NOT QUITE the suburbs, not quite the country. The place in question is Olinda, nestled in the picturesque environs of the Dandenong Ranges, 45 kilometers east of Melbourne.

The township, which borders Mt Dandenong and Sassafras, is a thriving tourist destination, best known for the Cuckoo restaurant, the National Rhododendron Garden and for some of the closest snowfalls to Melbourne.

At 10am on Sunday, the main street was typically populated with visitors enjoying the cafes and arts and crafts on offer, while just out of the shopping strip, Olinda Reserve was equally prominent for the start of the day's junior football matches.

Today, Olinda Ferny Creek Football Netball Club (formed in 1946 after Olinda and nearby town Ferny Creek merged - the netball component was added in 2006) hosted Yarra Glen, the club of origin of Carlton coach Brett Ratten.

As the youngsters arrived before the 11am start, parents enjoyed the popular egg-and-bacon rolls, as others manned the gate (a heater is always nearby due to the chilly mountain conditions), fired up the canteen and bustled completing pre-match duties.

Soon it was time for under-10s coach Brett Knight to give his kids a pre-match gee-up. Knight spoke earlier of his involvement with the club, but summed it up best when he said: "It's all about the kids".

The first quarter sees Olinda Ferny Creek lead by five points, after talented youngster Daniel Raymond kicked truly. It's a positive start by the home team.

Although trailing by eight points at half-time, Knight continues to encourage his young charges, as they devour their oranges. But a third quarter blitz from Yarra Glen and a 40-point lead heading into the final change will ultimately thwart a home side victory.

Still, Knight urges his side to "win the quarter" and that is exactly what his young changes do, with Jake Swanson kicking his side's second goal for the match, as Yarra Glen adds one behind in the final term. Olinda Ferny Creek goes down by 35 points.

But at this level it's all about participation, fun and building a positive environment - something junior vice-president Marc Cottam-Starkey says is vital.

"I love coming down here to the club and seeing the kids play and be involved - that's what it's all about," Cottam-Starkey said.

"The club's in a pretty good position now … and the mythology of the club is changing with a greater emphasis on family involvement. We don't have any idiots at the club and that's rare to see in junior sport.

"The club is also in a better financial position now - in a sense the [junior] club had bottomed out - but we have some very good people at the club and it is now in a sustainable position. People are now saying: 'What can I do [to help]'?”

Today, the junior club has around 160 kids participating from Auskick to under-16 level - a staggering improvement from bygone eras - and roughly 50 families involved. Each junior home match has more than 500 people in attendance throughout the day.

It all bodes well for the future, as Olinda Ferny Creek great Tim Scott hopes.

"Lots of great juniors continue to progress through to the senior ranks and the club is doing what it always tries to do and that is to do its very best to provide local footballers with the opportunities to improve themselves and enjoy playing the game we all love," Scott said.

"Many great names of the club are life members [and it's] particularly strong in family circles; husband and wife names such as the Rankins, Fowlers, Harris's and Wicks's; Bill and Dorothy Gardiner are life members as is son Stewart; brothers including Mick and Chris Hill; Steve and Mick Scott; brothers-in-law John Faull and Sandy Gammon - family ties have always been very pertinent at Olinda Ferny Creek Football Netball Club."

'The Bloods', sporting the red and white colours, have their own proud and unique history.

The senior club has won six premierships: 1965-66-67 and 1978 in the third division of the Eastern Football League and 1988 and 2005 in the second division of the Yarra Valley Mountain District Football League. The juniors have two flags - almost 50 years apart - with its 2007 under-16 premiership their most recent.

Two players have gone on to play in the AFL - Andrew McKinnon (15 matches with Carlton in 1989-90) and Matthew Allan (140 games with Carlton from 1994-2003 and 21 appearances with Essendon from 2004-05).

The club also gained the services of ex-AFL players Graeme O'Donnell (seven matches with Geelong from 1961-62, 16 games with North Melbourne from 1963-64 and the father of former Essendon skipper Gary) and Michael Cooke, who famously made two appearances with Hawthorn in 1975 - the second semi-final and Grand Final against North Melbourne.

Former newsreader David Johnston (a member of the Under 16s 1958 Premiership), radio announcer Rick Wall and actor David Lyons, now in Sea Petrol and the movie Cactus with Bryan Brown, also played at the club. In fact, Allan, Lyons and Scott all played together at junior level and although Scott may not have the public profile, his family is synonymous with the club.

Tim and older brother Mick have won a staggering 13 club best-and-fairest awards, with the duo sharing 11 club championships from 1995-2005. In 2006, the award was renamed the Mick Scott Medal, in recognition of his club record of eight.

Mick, now senior coach, also has a division one YVMDFL best-and-fairest to his name and is the club's games record holder with 317 matches.

Although Peter Milic, Noel King and Peter Jones are other club greats, Tim said Mick will "always be one of Olinda's very best".

"Eight times best-and-fairest - I doubt that record will get broken - not anytime soon anyway,” he said. “He deserves every accolade he's received, it would've been nice to have won one [more] before I finished. We joked afterwards, [oldest brother] Steve and I, that he [Mick] now has to go to presentation nights for the rest of his life to present the medal. In truth, we're probably both a bit jealous of him. His record is exceptional."