Yarra Valley - Mountain District FL Forum 2

The Kinglake Football and Netball Club presents Containment Lines, A Night of Entertainment Gala Dinner. Saturday 28th of March from 7pm at Crown Palladium. All proceeds go to the Kinglake Community.

http://www.ecgroup.net.au/extra/files/Containment Lines Flyer v3.pdf

Please come along and help us support those in our community that have been directly affected by this tragic event.

Hi All,

Further to my previous post, here is the list of main auction items for tomorrow nights function:

1. THE HARNESS RACING SPONSORSHIP EXPERIENCE – Get your company name up in lights! Promote your company name nationally whilst entertaining clients in style on a Friday night at Moonee Valley. This fantastic package includes naming rights to a race, full page racebook ad, all-inclusive dinner for
10 people in the Committee Room, a ride in the mobile barrier to start your race plus an opportunity to join Dan Mielicki for the call of a race. Valid on May 1, 8, 15 or 22, 2009. – Donated by Harness Racing Victoria

2. GEELONG PREMIERSHIP PACK – The ultimate prize for a Geelong supporter. A 2007 Team signed jersey – THE premiership year. In addition you will also receive 4 passes to the AFL Corporate Function (includes 3 course meal & beverage) and 4 dressing room passes into the rooms after the game for the
Round 21 – Geelong vs. Western Bulldogs @ Docklands on Friday 21st August. – Donated by AFL

3. NED’S PEDRO – Here’s your chance to experience the thrill of winning! It’s a 50% share in the regallybred greyhound Ned’s Pedro to be prepared by the doyen of trainer Darren McDonald (winner of 3 of the last 5 Melbourne Cups). His sire Where’s Pedro is the sire of Australia’s champion greyhound El Galo. The unraced Ned’s Pedro is scheduled make his debut this Thursday! No training fees, to be prepared on halfstakes. It’s your chance to race with the best and get an instant return. – Donated by Darren McDonald

4. 10% SHARE OF HARNESS RACING YEARLING - Experience the thrill and excitement of racing your own horse by purchasing a 10% share in a regally bred yearling filly by champion USA sire Artsplace out of Our Vittoria – a sister to an NZ Oaks winner. She will be trained and driven by six-time Australian champion Chris Alford. Your on-going costs for training etc. are just $160 per month. – Donated by www.raceapacer.com.au and Harness Racing Victoria

5. $10,000 of HERALD SUN ADVERTISING – Here’s the perfect chance to promote your company or event via the nation’s number one selling newspaper, the Herald Sun. This fantastic package includes $10,000 worth of advertising space to be split into a minimum of four advertisements between now and December 31, 2009. Why not help the cause and your company at the same time? – Donated by Herald and Weekly Times

6. THE ULTIMATE SPRING RACING CARNIVAL PACKAGE – Enjoy all the colour, glamour and excitement of one of the world’s greatest carnivals, the Spring Racing Carnival. Your Ultimate Spring Racing Carnival package includes:
• 2 x tickets as guests of Tabcorp at the Melbourne Cup Carnival on either Oaks or Stakes Day (day TBC)
• 6 x entry and members tickets to Group 1 Caulfield Guineas Day
• 4 x Dining Box tickets on Group 1 Manikato Stakes Night/AFL Grand Final Eve at Moonee Valley (includes 3 course meal & beverage)
• 4 x tickets to racing’s night of nights, the Victorian Thoroughbred Racing Awards (includes 3 course meal & beverages)
• 4 x passes to a VIP Fashion Marquee on Mornington Peninsula Cup Day (includes lunch & beverages)
• 2 x admits to Luxbet.com Cranbourne Cup Day
• $500 TAB Account – back a winner during your Spring Carnival tour!
• Invitation for 4 x to David Hayes Racing Stable at Flemington to meet David, his stable of spring stars, watch morning trackwork and enjoy a gourmet BBQ brekkie with the team. An experience money can’t buy! – Donated by Tabcorp, Melbourne Racing Club, Moonee Valley Racing Club, Mornington Racing Club and Racing Victoria Limited

7. U2 GUITAR – The world's biggest rock band in the modern era has been U2. This guitar has been classically framed featuring all the signatures of the members of the band including Bono and The Edge. To complement the piece is an authentic vinyl cover from one of their back catalogue and COA. A must
for any music fan. – Donated by Entertainment Consulting Group

8. 10% of a RACEHORSE – Your once in a lifetime chance to race a horse with Australian Racing Hall of Fame trainer, David Hayes. 10% share in a 3YO filly - includes 12 months training fees waived. By Melbourne Cup winning stallion Jeune, Sky Journey has had four starts for 1 win and a 2nd. This smart
staying filly is nominated for the Group 3 $100,000 South Australia Fillies Classic to be run on Saturday 4 April.
“She’s a good, sound, staying filly and up to Melbourne metropolitan class ”
Tony McEvoy, Assistant Trainer Lindsay Park – Donated by David Hayes Racing

9. CHRISTMAS POLO PACKAGE – Throw the perfect Christmas Party for your company this year at the Christmas Polo on Saturday 28th November. Everyone wants to be seen at the Polo and it’s definitely the most fun you’ll have entertaining your clients and employees. The Werribee Park Mansion provides the perfect location to spend the day in your marquee enjoying not only the action on the field, but the “polo lifestyle” off it. – Donated by Entertainment Consulting Group
• Your own personal marquee of 25 at the Christmas Polo
• Entry to the Christmas Polo for all your guests
• Gourmet Food & Beverage package for 25 guests
• Garden furniture package provided including marquee and market Umbrellas
• Company marquee signage
• Live music, entertainment and access to Official Polo after-party
• A guest to throw the ball into play to start a Chukka

10. SILKS CELEBRITY LUNCH – The best long lunch ever! Held at Silks, you and four mates will be joined by Melbourne Cup winning champion jockey Glen Boss, AFL legend Wayne “The King” Carey, Melbourne Victory and Socceroos captain Kevin Muscat, Olympic Gold Medallist Michael Klim and champion boxer
Sam Soliman. Lunch for the afternoon, stories for a lifetime! – Donated by Silks & Entertainment Consulting Group

11. THE CRICKET PACKAGE – The history of Australian cricket is documented here with the signatures of twenty of Australia’s past captains all captured here in the one memorabilia piece. From the great Don Bradman through to the current skipper Ricky Ponting many greats have signed these bats including Bill
Lawry, Richie Benaud, Ian Chappell, Bob Simpson, Neil Harvey, Alan Border, Steve Waugh and Adam Gilchrist. Framed to exceed expectations the piece features photos of all of the captains who have signed as well as a certificate of authenticity. In addition to the memorabilia item the package also includes four corporate passes to the 2009 Boxing Day Test, the ultimate in corporate entertaining at the feature day on the cricketing calendar. – Donated by Entertainment Consulting Group

12. GREYHOUND PUP – Buy now while it’s young and reap the rewards in the future! You’ll get the choice of one of five beautifully bred greyhound pups by star USA sire Kiowa Sweet Trey out of the flying bitch Hermione Holly (a Meadows & Albion Park winner and a full-sister to star greyhound Migrate). Pups are vaccinated and paid up for lucrative Gobis scheme. Ready for collection at 12 weeks of age (currently two weeks old). Come and experience the thrill of racing! – Donated by Steve Hawkins

13. TRIPLE M ADVERTISING PACKAGE – Triple M Rocks Football and now it can rock your company with this fantastic advertising package. Take your brand to the people with 32 x 30 second commercials on leading Melbourne radio station Triple M. Package includes all creative and production fees and is valid
until March 30, 2010. – Donated by Triple M

There will also be several silent auctions including 5 x Corporate Boxes at the footy.

All money raised from this event will be donated back in to the Kinglake community.

Thanks for your support.

Big thanks to all the guys & girls of the Thornton-Eildon FC for an enjoyable day of footy & netball. All games were contested in fantastic spirit & Id be confident to suggest all coaches got something out of it as we head into season 2009.

Best wishes to a former B&F winner at our club in Bernie Hourigan for his first year at the helm & also to the footballers & netballers at Thornton this year :thumbsu:

Chris Nolan
Broadford FNC

Some umpiring news;

The YVMDFL and DRJFL are pleased to announce the appointment of Mr David Bullen as ‘Junior Umpire Director’ for 2009.

YVMDFL CEO Mr Stephen Walter says “David is a dedicated umpire with many years of service to the YVMDFL & DRJFL. He has a passion for junior development and is ideally suited to both develop our junior umpires and to facilitate the important role of umpire appointments within the DRJFL”.

President of the DRJFL Mr Doug Evans says “David is an excellent candidate for the job at hand and I look forward to working with him during the 2009 season”.

Also, please note that umpire training is held at Knox Park Athletics Centre on Monday and Wednesday commencing at 5.45pm.

Great news on the netball front regarding our expanding competition. Netball has been a great asset to our competition;

The YVMDFL are pleased to announce the creation of 'C' grade netball in division 1 for the 2009 season. The interest show by all clubs is fantastic and further reinforces the prominence of netball in the YVMDFL.

Does anyone have any news on how the YVMDFL Under 18s went against the EFL Under 18s in the curtain raiser to the VAFA v EFL Bushfire Relief match yesterday?

From the EFL website .............. Match reports later in the week

EFL 3.1.19 3.4.22 7.6.48 19.10.124
YVMDFL 0.3.3 2.3.15 5.6.36 7.8.50

EFL Goal Kickers: Michael Condello (Montrose) 3, Tom Miles (Wav Blues) 2, Sean McManus (Mooroolbark) 2, Peter Cahill (Wantirna Sth) 2, Jack Purcell (Donvale) 2, Nick Angelopolous (Noble Park) 2, Michael Callinan (Knox) 2, Paul Wagner (Coldstream) 1, David Beasley (Warrandyte) 1, Stefan Cavalera (Mulgrave) 1, Ash Davies (Lilydale) 1

EFL Best on Ground: Joel Eddy (Upper FTG)

YVMDFL Goal Kickers: Daniel Waters (Upwey Tecoma) 2, Blake Walter (Olinda Ferny Creeky) 1, Matt Livermore (Emerald) 1, Jake Uslar (Warburton Millgrove) 1, Ben Monkhorst (Woori Yallock) 1, Callum Eade (Olinda Ferny Creek) 1

YVMDFL Best on Ground: Dylan Troutman (Olinda Ferny Creek)

Ok completely unsubstantiated and basically a stab in the dark the ladder will finish like so this year:

Kinglake............ 18 16 2 0 0 2132 1121 190.18% 64
Emerald............. 18 14 4 0 0 2011 1392 144.46% 56
Olinda................ 18 13 5 0 0 2137 1445 147.89% 52
Thornton Eildon... 18 11 6 1 0 1947 1452 134.09% 46
Yarra Glen.......... 18 10 7 1 0 2022 1665 121.44% 42
Seville............... 18 7 11 0 0 1829 1962 93.22% 28
Yea................... 18 6 12 0 0 1631 2065 78.98% 24
Yarra Junction......18 5 13 0 0 1416 2072 68.33% 20
Powelltown......... 18 5 13 0 0 1367 2316 59.02% 20
Belgrave............ 18 2 14 0 0 1282 2284 56.13% 8

Premiers: Kinglake

League B and F:
Mark Holly Seville
Runner up :
Barry McDonald Powelltown

If Tregonning from Olinda is good enough to win a first division B & F last year, you would think he would dominate division 2. And if Thornton and Yarra Glen do play a draw Hospital Pass, I want to get into a Tattslotto syndicate with you

thought the draw might spark a comment.... just looking for a bit of harmless preseason discussion, thoughts from people about season bolters and league stars

random question but does anyone know the rules regarding wearing bike shorts/ skins under footy shorts on match day?? eg skin coloured or same colour as shorts?? what length... or are not allowed to wear any at all? I have no idea what the rule is :confused:

I heard they couldnt field a 2' side last Sat and the seniors got done y 10 goals???

Didn't field a 2nds, but luckily Waverley had enough to field their own intraclub reserves game.

I think the number of Silvan people unavailable may have played a part in their loss by about 10 goals.

Seemed slow to get into it, but played some really good patches particularly as the game wore on.

Wouldn't put too much stock in practice matches unless you were there and you can see who is playing. Don't think Silvan will field a team bad enough to lose to the blues too often during the real season... but here's hoping.

Any word on player movements. Some clubs being very quiet on the transfer front with almost no movement at all. Should we expect a late flurry of lodging in the next 3 weeks?

Wouldn't put too much stock in practice matches unless you were there and you can see who is playing. Don't think Silvan will field a team bad enough to lose to the blues too often during the real season... but here's hoping.

Any word on player movements. Some clubs being very quiet on the transfer front with almost no movement at all. Should we expect a late flurry of lodging in the next 3 weeks?

I know this probably sounds pretty pathetic, but I've just cut and pasted the transfer list into Excel and it filled 374 rows! With 20 clubs in the league that's nearly 19 players per club. If some are quiet, crikey, the others must be absolutely frantic
icon10.gif

Fair point TottallyTrue but the spread isn't there. Healsville has only had 9 coming and goings (and that includes 6 juniors coming up),while Upwey has 30+ (including juniors). That's a fair descrepency from the two clubs who played in the prelim last year. Also, some clubs like Woori have a lot of movement out, but not much coming back in terms of gross numbers (though Stolli is going to be more than handy).

You also can't tell the quality of a player just by his name and former club alone and a little bit of spruiking of these blokes might get the forum going a bit more too.

I agree dont take too much notice.
For example the first couple of practice games we had 7,8,9 on the interchange with numbers overflowing. This week a couple of niggles & a fool having a wedding & we are down to a couple on the bench.

Good luck to all kicking off this weekend

Just word or two on umpires I think the umpires are in a little strife with numbers, they need some help urgently. We have had our request in for several weeks for umpires for our practice games, all was ok. But in the last 24 hrs we now have none. They are hoping to transfer some from 2nd Div to us for at least our Seniors....:confused:
Lets hope they can get some soon

Great user name but i am not sure that i understand you LOL:p:D;):eek:

upwey and the ofcfcfcfcfcnc for me