Radio 'You cannot be serious' podcast with Sam Newman, Don Scott and Rod Law

It's interesting the full evolution of Newman from the early Footy Show days to the bitter, angry, down the rabbit hole individual he is these days.
i have met and spoken with sam a few times. Face to face, he is real nice, inviting and welcoming. A diff persona to what transpires on the pod. HOwever, certainly comes across as you have described yes absolutely.

He finally had enough and stormed out during the Ken Piesse interview. Pity cause he is usually in his element when interviewing guest about sport.
This has been brewing since forever. You can tell with how Don retailiates to Sam‘s barbs….”you just use me as your punching bag” etc etc. He clearly has his friends getting in his ear and wondering why he subjects himself to being humiliated weekly.
It is bullying, shocking bullying. Sam tried to pass it off a few weeks ago after receiving feedback in regards to his behaviour towards Don and responded with “people love our banter”
Its not banter , it’s a one way street, Don tries to respond and fails miserably, and here we are.

This has been brewing since forever. You can tell with how Don retailiates to Sam‘s barbs….”you just use me as your punching bag” etc etc. He clearly has his friends getting in his ear and wondering why he subjects himself to being humiliated weekly.
It is bullying, shocking bullying. Sam tried to pass it off a few weeks ago after receiving feedback in regards to his behaviour towards Don and responded with “people love our banter”
Its not banter , it’s a one way street, Don tries to respond and fails miserably, and here we are.
I don't know how it could be called bullying. Sam almost has the patience of a saint and has politely asked him to stop eating, fiddling and dismantling things, bring in topics and such. Then he started asking him firmly to stop.

Don is very much the instigator and sooks like a child while Sam tries (and fails) to make the podcast professional.

Love the conflict, but they probably need a break from each other.

Who is left to replace Don?

The Sam & Ivan show?

It would do Don some good to host his own little pod once a month where he can bang on about horses, bees and the mornington shire at his own pace. Allow some creative outlet while still being the antagonistic buffoon on the YCBS pod which is what we all love. Would be an out-and-out shame if Don left, I would stop listening

Don proably should leave, there’s little in it for him at this point. Even when he does bring up a topic Sam just waits for him to finish so he can move on to one of his pet right wing talking points, or scoffs and makes fun of him. There is no engaging adult conversation whatsoever. It’s still good for a couple of laughs an episode but the rest of the time I want to throw my phone at the wall. I wonder what the next obsession will be after welcome to country/voice referendum? We just move from one to another. Trump, transgender athletes, Covid/Andrews, Winwar saga and on and on.

As has been the case on and off a third wheel who can act as a proper mediator and also contribute (in the mold of the rocket) is needed badly once again. Don will probably not leave as he appears loyal as anything to Sam. As he always says: ‘You couldn’t work alone you need someone else to hang sh1t on.’

Don proably should leave, there’s little in it for him at this point. Even when he does bring up a topic Sam just waits for him to finish so he can move on to one of his pet right wing talking points, or scoffs and makes fun of him. There is no engaging adult conversation whatsoever. It’s still good for a couple of laughs an episode but the rest of the time I want to throw my phone at the wall. I wonder what the next obsession will be after welcome to country/voice referendum? We just move from one to another. Trump, transgender athletes, Covid/Andrews, Winwar saga and on and on.

As has been the case on and off a third wheel who can act as a proper mediator and also contribute (in the mold of the rocket) is needed badly once again. Don will probably not leave as he appears loyal as anything to Sam. As he always says: ‘You couldn’t work alone you need someone else to hang sh1t on.’
I reckon Sam thinks the antagonism is much funnier than it is. I suspect his boomer mates tell him it's amusing

I don't know how it could be called bullying. Sam almost has the patience of a saint and has politely asked him to stop eating, fiddling and dismantling things, bring in topics and such. Then he started asking him firmly to stop.

Don is very much the instigator and sooks like a child while Sam tries (and fails) to make the podcast professional.

Love the conflict, but they probably need a break from each other.

Who is left to replace Don?

The Sam & Ivan show?
Dons, old school, stuck in his ways. Yes Sam gets frustrated, but there’s banter and then there’s humiliating a bloke. That’s bullying.

I haven't listened to the Ken Piesse one yet, sounds like I'll have to get on it.
I enjoyed it. Ken must be around 80 years old, but still sounds so enthusiastic and engaged with his work.

Sam conducting the interview on his own actually made the interview flow much better, although he clearly hadn't done much prep for it. Sam & Don have the worst synergy when it comes to interviews.

I reckon Sam thinks the antagonism is much funnier than it is. I suspect his boomer mates tell him it's amusing

I think it's worked quite well for the show, but it used to be laughing with you mocking. Lately it's just been Sam incensed at Don and yelling down the mic. Although in saying that, I'd be furious too if my mate kept wrecking my equipment. That sh!t ain't cheap.

Come on down Chicken Nixon

That would be the end if Nixon got a chair. Pretty much got the vibe from Fordham that he was over it as well. Listened on the way down to the city this afternoon and killed part 1 half way through, just terrible. Part 2 was where the action happened. Geez Sam on a mental bender, Ivan and the senile bloke selling hats is not my type of listening.

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com

Radio 'You cannot be serious' podcast with Sam Newman, Don Scott and Rod Law