Your fave lazy/undisciplined player

Originally posted by Foxtrot

GRENVIL DEITRICH (sp?)
SA's greatest ever pie eater - I remember him kicking arse in an old state of origin game and thinking "has this bloke ever been to training?" Maybe Porthos or Macca could fill in the blanks as I don't know much else about him.

Wouldnt call him lazy really. Was a pretty good player...one of the SANFLs best goalkickers. 517 goals from 127 games. Kicked the ton twice. A man mountain!

I'm not really convinced that Fabulous Phil Carman deserves to be in this category.

Yes, he certainly had "white line fever", but his aggro on field was usually done with panache, he had style even when belting someone.

However I don't see Carman as an inconsistent player, when he was out there, he was usually magical, maybe violent and distracted at times, but he seemed to be able to regain focus to do something to invoke awe.

Perhaps Phil Carman might be better described as an unfulfilled talent, he had it all, but distractions were maybe too distracting for him.

Originally posted by cjwalkley
Step on up.....

DOUGIE BARWICK!!!

We were pretty happy with him at Collingwood, but he was older by the time he moved our way.

Aaron James was beuty at Collingwood. He seems to have just become useless since he left, though, and lost the ability to ever turn it on at all.

Darren Jarman during his early days with the Hawks.

Would look like he wasnt even awake half the time then simply unleash for a five/ten minute spell the most sublime football talent there has ever been. Incredible talent that just couldnt be harenessed in the convential way.

Others that spring to mind, Crosswell, Keckovich, Antrobus, Muir, Super Macpherson, Rickman (ahh that goal outta the centre to sink Clearys boys), Gary Ablett (Hawthorn days), Dermie (fits the undisciplined part of the question on occasions), LORDY, someone said Lindner and they were so right (top game in that GF except for the fact his man kicked four), M. Pickering (always tore us apart once a year in the early/mid-eighties), Abraham probably many more that I cant think of at the minute.

Chad Liddell - had something, but we never saw it because he never put more than 20% effort in.

Heath Shepherd could've been anything (ah probably not ;) ), and Terry Keays nowhere near fulfilled his potential.

Originally posted by Rocco Jones
Tony Liberatre, the guy's gotta learn to put in.

Good point Rocco. When I think of players at the Dogs who are lazy and weak he comes straight to mind. When I think of toughness I instantly think Eagleton

****, I love Libba :)

For the Dockers - Clive Waterhouse.

When he's playing well, he can do some pretty amazing things, but all too often, he goes missing during a game, has a brain explosion and ends up somehow knocking out his own teammates.

If Clive's had a dirty day, watch out other dockers :D

A guy by the name of Steven Jackson played for Richmond during the 90's, he came across from the Eagles after he played the only decent game of his life against Richmond out at Waverly one day.
All he would do is stand in the goal square and expect it to be kicked to him, if he ever moved at all it was always within the goal square.

This should lead onto another topic of DUD's your team has picked up because they once played a good game against your side.

Originally posted by TMcC

This should lead onto another topic of DUD's your team has picked up because they once played a good game against your side.

Damn good point there TMcC! This is the sole reason we got players like Aaron James (vs Richo in '95) and John Rombotis (vs Brodders in '96 where he put in a decent half of footy at the Whitten Oval)

Originally posted by Shinboners
Corey McKernan (post-'96 version). Just watch how well he plays when facing Geelong, and then watch him disappear when it's any other team.

Never mind disappear Shinners, I went to a game last year where he didn't actually even appear!

John McCarthy played 92 games with us across about 6 years. Was kept on the list so long basically for his one or two good games a year, but when he turned it on, he was superb. Ironic that he was traded in almost a direct swap for Mr.Consistency, John Blakey.

Where to start for Melbourne...
Used to be the Wiz, but now he's gone..
So Robbo would be the current leader, followed by Vardy and Biz (based on performances at other clubs) then Bruce and Green.

BILLY

BILLY BROWNLESS IS A PRIME CANDIDATE FOR SUPERSTAR 1 DAY
ORDINARY THE NEXT
ON HIS DAY COULD TAKE A BIG GRAB, COULD KICK IT A LONG WAY
AS WELL BUT DIDNT PRODUCE AS MUCH AS HE SHOULD HAVE
HE PLAYED IN GRAND FINALS IN 89,92 AND 94 AND WAS MADE TO LOOK VERY ORDINARY IN ALL OF THEM.

Re: BILLY

Originally posted by BLACK CAT
BILLY BROWNLESS IS A PRIME CANDIDATE FOR SUPERSTAR 1 DAY
ORDINARY THE NEXT
ON HIS DAY COULD TAKE A BIG GRAB, COULD KICK IT A LONG WAY
AS WELL BUT DIDNT PRODUCE AS MUCH AS HE SHOULD HAVE
HE PLAYED IN GRAND FINALS IN 89,92 AND 94 AND WAS MADE TO LOOK VERY ORDINARY IN ALL OF THEM.
Thought Billy went OK in the '94 GF...or is it '95 I'm thinking of? :confused:

Originally posted by TMcC
A guy by the name of Steven Jackson played for Richmond during the 90's, he came across from the Eagles after he played the only decent game of his life against Richmond out at Waverly one day.
All he would do is stand in the goal square and expect it to be kicked to him, if he ever moved at all it was always within the goal square.

I reckon there were Hawks scouts at that match cause we picked him up on our rookie list. Last I heard he was playing for Ballarat in the VFL.

Never like correcting you Gren, but you're on the wrong horse.

Stevan Jackson was the log-like Eagle/Tiger who a school mate of mine had as a favourite player (totally mystifying as to why). The complete no-hoper you are thinking of is Steven Jurica.

Easy mistake to make though.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Never like correcting you Gren, but you're on the wrong horse.

Stevan Jackson was the log-like Eagle/Tiger who a school mate of mine had as a favourite player (totally mystifying as to why). The complete no-hoper you are thinking of is Steven Jurica.

Easy mistake to make though.

DOH! Actually they looked like twins! well thats my story an im stickin to it

for the blues

cureent players i'd have to sy Brendan Fevola great potential, could be anything when he's up he is hot, when he's not he is usually ****e! but only 21 yrs old so pretty tough for the kid

Have to agree with the other Port supporters posts about Dew and P Burgoyne...........

I'd love to see them play 4 quarters of good footy on the one day instead of spread out over a month..........at their best they are brilliant but at times they appear to coast a little and not go in as hard as they could...........

both are capable of doing it......maybe 2002 will be their year.....

Your fave lazy/undisciplined player