Oppo Camp The Loony Bin - Lead Sponsor of Crazy Topkent's Alternate Adventures

Richmond are shithouse but what Carlton did in the last forty minutes of that game was pretty scary without Walsh. Of course our backline is beyond miles better than Richmond’s and they’ve never been a strong clearance team but you wouldn’t want the Blues to improve too much with those weapons.

I’m bullish on Carlton but Richmond’s midfield might be the worst going around when Prestia isn’t there.

Blues look the goods. I do want to see them against other opposition before I commit though. Round one every year is famous for wild predictions

They walked it out of the middle five times in a row they just have terrible forwards. We didn’t take an uncontested mark for like 10 minutes
Regardless the point is we can get swarmed very quickly even if our strength is matching or smashing sides at post clearance ground ball over four quarters and it always seems to come down to Trac and Oliver going missing in second quarters. If the coaches are willing to make that concession hopefully there’s a plan to at least control the tap by putting someone like Sparrow, Kossie or Harmes in there to provide a physical presence at the defensive side of the centre circle.

Blues look the goods. I do want to see them against other opposition before I commit though. Round one every year is famous for wild predictions
I still expect them to flop and fail overall but I’d be wary of losing to them regardless. Especially given it’ll be our attempt to break the single season record by winning our 21st consecutive game

Me too.

I don’t even know what I am saying or even thinking about football anymore. It’s been so long that the slightest hint of confidence feels like a jinx

Fantastic.

This one is from a Western TM poster in response to a Carlton poster

Their are some good Carlton fans unlike the trashy Melbourne ones

Well done all. We’ve arrived!

Also the dude needs to learn to spell

Geelong autopsy thread

Didn't watch the game much, but a lot of people are saying the Swans are going to be very good this year. On the up.

I still have Carlton as the team to beat, as weird as that sounds.
Two games in and Carlton are the team to beat. At least they admit it's weird statement.

Regardless the point is we can get swarmed very quickly even if our strength is matching or smashing sides at post clearance ground ball over four quarters and it always seems to come down to Trac and Oliver going missing in second quarters. If the coaches are willing to make that concession hopefully there’s a plan to at least control the tap by putting someone like Sparrow, Kossie or Harmes in there to provide a physical presence at the defensive side of the centre circle.
And/or making sure the wings sprint in to protect the defensive side of the centre square bounce if the opposition are getting on top. If as a result their opponent wing then get an easy possession it should at least be wider and out on the flank.

It’s a real roll of the dice because Melbourne are equally adept, in recent games, or torching teams the exact same way with a centre square clearance.

What I’ve noticed with Carlton is Hewett is super disciplined in centre square bounces and him keeping depth on the defensive side has been critical. He’s been there to receive the initial quick hand pass and then hand pass over the rucks and into the path of a streaming forward team mate, or to protect against the opposition waltzing straight out the front.

It’s so long before Melbourne play Carlton things will have likely changed by then, but if it was next week and I’m Yze I reckon I’d let Cripps have the ball in the centre square. If he wants to run a little and mung a shallow forward 50 kick under harassment (but not necessarily tackle) pressure, let him. The dangerous scenario is Cripps getting it, having two players try to bring him down, and he dumps the hand pass off to a team mate with good foot disposal who gets an almost no pressure kick into the 6-6-6 forward line.

The other thing I’ve noticed with Melbourne and Carlton (and any team getting great centre clearances) is “cheating” by backing your team mate in to be clean and not fumble as soon as it looks like they will get that first possession, and paying little defensive pressure as they stream forward to receive the handball.

Geelong autopsy thread

Two games in and Carlton are the team to beat. At least they admit it's weird statement.
Carlton will be good but will get shown up a few times by better sides. Nearly choked against the Dogs, similar to the praccy match vs us. They are still learning how to be a decent side like we were in 2018.

Sydney probably scare me more than any other team at the moment. I can't see any glaring weaknesses in their team, they're well-drilled, play a style of football that's likely to hold up in finals, and I think they'd match up pretty well against us. I think we have the measure of Brisbane, Port, Geelong and The Western on our day, and Carlton haven't proven anything yet, but Sydney are already a super competent team with plenty of scope for improvement given all the young players they've got. GWS could be a dark horse too if they can keep everyone fit.

Swans have given up 27 shots on goal in both games. Very good side but again way off premiership level defending like that. Accuracy is good footy but when you concede 27 shots you're gonna lose a few
Like Carlton can't call it after two games but their scoring power is very scary, papley to come into the team as well. I must admit I have a soft spot for Sydney, hard not to admire a club that's been bloody consistent over two decades.

I love em and they could do top 4 but 27 is alot

Swans have given up 27 shots on goal in both games. Very good side but again way off premiership level defending like that. Accuracy is good footy but when you concede 27 shots you're gonna lose a few
They are the best attack though, so that's the natural trade off. I seriously rate Sydney, I have them behind us and Brisbane. They probably do have to tinker with it though to make it work in finals

We were the 5th best attack last year and the best in 2018. Attacking isnt everything if you can't defend. If the cats had kicked accurately and the swans not nailed every thing they could have lost by 5 goals. That's what happens in high scoring games results are gonna swing week to week.

Now if they tighten up the defence a little sure they can go all the way but unless they're Geelong 07 they aren't just gonna beat everyone through sheer force

We were the 5th best attack last year and the best in 2018. Attacking isnt everything if you can't defend. If the cats had kicked accurately and the swans not nailed every thing they could have lost by 5 goals. That's what happens in high scoring games results are gonna swing week to week.

Now if they tighten up the defence a little sure they can go all the way but unless they're Geelong 07 they aren't just gonna beat everyone through sheer force

Yep. No doubt swans looked good last night but like Carlton on Thursday night they couldn’t miss and conceded a bunch of shots at the other end, the opposition just couldn’t convert. Play that game again today and Geelong probably win.

Yup same why I'm not gonna shit on the cats, they win that more often than not

We didn't concede 27 shots once last season, and only 3x more than 20.
In hindsight I never should have worried about us even our bad games teams only got close because we kicked badly.

Geelong 07 had an amazing backline as well. They were a complete team.

Yup, I preferred the way the Brisbane teams played but Geelong 07/08 are the best home and away teams I've seen. Their 22 was a sick joke

Remembered this today from this website's 'draft expert' in 2019:

View attachment 1355550

View attachment 1355551
To be fair, some of that is spot on around what positions Jackson has ended up playing. Credit to (I’m guessing Knightmare) for sticking their neck out.

A big miss on the quality and impact side of Jackson, clearly. And the two years from now bit a monumental miss too.

Oppo Camp The Loony Bin - Lead Sponsor of Crazy Topkent's Alternate Adventures

Write your reply...