Preview Round 10 - Hawthorn Hawks vs Brisbane Lions, York Park Sunday 3:20pm

Hawthorn jumped out of the blocks as a bit of a surprise packet this year, with a new and aggressive gameplan under new coach Sam Mitchell. It's true, their early wins against the Roos and Port were probably a bit overvalued against at the time given how bad the Roos are (and Port were). After that, they played a good second half to challenge Carlton, got belted by the Saints, and then, in their most impressive win, jumped out in the first and then recovered from a third quarter challenge to win a 12 point victory over the Cats. Since then, they've struggled though, losing 4 on the trot to oppositions both strong and weak.

Hawthorn this year have been very much a momentum team, with the possibility to both score and concede prolifically. Should be a fun high-scoring game, honestly.

As the season has worn on Hawthorn have been vulnerable late in games, conceding a run of goals in the last eighth to lose games against both Sydney and Essendon. A late challenge against Richmond was creditable, granted.

Hawthorn Hawks: 13th, 91%, WLLLL
Brisbane Lions: 2nd, 152%, WWWWW

Last time
We've had some success at York Park recently, breaking through what is normally a Hawk fortress in 2019 and 2018, but have lost our two most recent games against the Hawks - 2020's opener at the G and a shock loss late last year at York, an attempted late comeback notwithstanding.

Mitchell Lewis
He seemed like a meme when recruited but Mitch Lewis has been a fantastic pickup for the Hawks. He's booted18 goals from 6 games this year and the Hawks were clearly missing him when he was out with a hammy. Kicked three goals in his return against Richmond.

Jai Newcombe
The Hawks picked up Newcombe in last year's midseason draft and he immediately won attention as a tackling machine. This season has seen Jai as a more conventional engine room midfielder and he's clearly a beast around the contest. With O'Meara hitting some form and Titchell presumably coming back in the Hawks should have a strong engine room this week.

Weather
Screenshot 2022-05-17 at 00-43-39 Launceston Forecast.png

Prediction:
I'm predicting a rollicking, high scoring game, entertaining for neutral viewers, and a comfortable but not blowout Lions win.

(assuming no changes)
Screenshot 2022-05-17 at 00-46-53 - Upcoming Games.png

While I've got your attention, we've got a brand spanking new goalkicking competition so please go ahead and get your picks in! You must vote this round if you want to play!

Backing Cam Rayner for a big game.
He generally plays pretty well against the Hawks and he is just starting to show some glimpses of his best form and show a bit of hard nose (bull) potential around the ball.

Fagan to remind the players about our poor recent performances against the Hawks. I expect a response and Robbo back in the team. Lions by 31 pts.
Not sure I am expecting him back this week after having a week off and the birth of his baby.
But it is in Tassie, so anything is possible. Maybe the travelling emergency/23rd man.

Backing Cam Rayner for a big game.
He generally plays pretty well against the Hawks and he is just starting to show some glimpses of his best form and show a bit of hard nose (bull) potential around the ball.

He's had a career best month of footy.

The best part? He's got plenty of growth left in him!

Flying down from Qld for this game, a win of any sort would be great. Weather looks fine, such a change from the drenching my farm has got up here. Would be good to see Robbo back, his fire and energy after a couple of weeks out would be good for any complacency. Good to see Cam continuing his development into a real weapon and Hippy's continued recovery from the knee. Let's just get the points, anyway how and come on home.

Fagan to remind the players about our poor recent performances against the Hawks. I expect a response and Robbo back in the team. Lions by 31 pts.
About how I feel. Defiantly a danger game as last year I think my attitude going into the game was perhaps the same as the players. Thought we'd just win easily and got found out quickly but I think it was more attitude. I reckon we are more mature and wont fall for the same thing this time round but should absolutely respect the Hawks anyway.

Lions by 4-6 goals and Mitch to play one more time in his homeland and DevRob as medical sub. Prior out and TBerry to play full ressies game.

Just hope it's nothing like the last time we played. 53 points down at three quarter time...

Surely Mitch Robbo gets up for this game? Plays his absolute best in Tassie.

How do we end up with 4 in 5 away games in a row, we've dropped one at the end of runs like this in previous years. Big test I reckon. Hawthorn are a decent team.
Very confident of a win this weekend, the one that I am a little worried about is the away game against the Dockers after the next home game v the Giants, then another tricky home game off a 6 day break v the Saints.

If all goes well we will go into the bye at 12-1 with a blockbuster at the MCG on a Thursday night after that with the Demons likely to be 13-0 at that stage, will be a massive build up to that game if that is how it pans out, would be the biggest H&A matchup since IIRC the Saints and Cats were something like 14-0 when they met a decade or so ago.

Very confident of a win this weekend, the one that I am a little worried about is the away game against the Dockers after the next home game v the Giants, then another tricky home game off a 6 day break v the Saints.

If all goes well we will go into the bye at 12-1 with a blockbuster at the MCG on a Thursday night after that with the Demons likely to be 13-0 at that stage, will be a massive build up to that game if that is how it pans out, would be the biggest H&A matchup since IIRC the Saints and Cats were something like 14-0 when they met a decade or so ago.
When we played Richmond at the G a year or 2 ago (memory is shot) it was just under 80K and the biggest crowd ever for a Melb side vs Interstate H&A game. Knowing Melb's drawing power though it'll be half that if we're lucky for the crowd.

And half of them will be Lions supporters.

How do we end up with 4 in 5 away games in a row, we've dropped one at the end of runs like this in previous years. Big test I reckon. Hawthorn are a decent team.
We haven’t had 4/5 away games in a row.

We played West Coast a couple of weeks ago, throw in Gold Coast which is a short trip and not that draining.

They've had a couple of 50000s v Sydney in the past, including one on a Monday night. Decent weather should go close to that (factoring in covid fall-off).

Dockers should go in as favourites because of the home ground advantage. Their defence is looking as good as the Demon's so far and generally when the best attacking team comes up against the best defensive team, the better defensive team wins. I wouldn't be surprised if we lost to Dockers and Demons but I hope that we then tighten up our defence. Too leaky at times.

it also snow season in June.. so be a few demons supporters missing he he