Media Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc) - Part IV

Our club in the Media

Dermie: "There he is. The great man".

OIP.lOJ_pmWQaNkFP8kBzNAUxQAAAA

Just listened to Corey Durdin on 360 … best part of the interview was one of his comments on Voss … said that after Voss gives his pre-game address he feels like he’s ready to go to war … love it … 💪
Though voss was a peaceful man

Josh Honey spoiling at the 37sec mark. That's what I want to see:)

Oooooh - good spot!

Injury report for Honey:

Experienced tightness when he underwent a fitness test to play VFL.
Will be given a couple more weeks of conditioning to put him in the best position upon return: expected to return after next week's VFL bye.
(Update: 3 May)

Looks like he's back in full training, so hopefully he's on track and we'll see him at VFL level this week.

Crazy Vossy... how did he ever get in the door...
Came in through the secret mongrel entrance and had to machete his way through a forest of cobwebs, dust and forgotten values - currently disguised as a cuddly teddy bear - the little beady eyed feral look gives him away to fellow mongrels.

Really loving everything he and the players are putting on the field in 2022 - something to support is better than supporting nothing.

Came in through the secret mongrel entrance and had to machete his way through a forest of cobwebs, dust and forgotten values - currently disguised as a cuddly teddy bear - the little beady eyed feral look gives him away to fellow mongrels.

Really loving everything he and the players are putting on the field in 2022 - something to support is better than supporting nothing.

I was one of those mugs who wanted Ross Lyon. Never been happier to be proven wrong.

The players clearly love Vossy and the positive but also accountable message he preaches in his coaching.

Funny how blokes in the media like Ralphie shredded us for the process we did in appointing Voss.

Have to give (unfortunately) Damien Barrett credit, he said Vossy's appointment was a shrewd appointment by us, best possible candidate once Clarkson withdrew.

Honestly wouldn't swap Voss for Clarko or any other coach now. He definitely has our next premiership coach vibe about him (although probably not this year)

Got a decent support staff too (Ash Hansen will be a senior AFL Coach sooner or later)

I was told when he was appointed by a Geelong supporting friend of mine (whom went to Kindergarten with him) that Aaron Greaves would be a terrific appointment for us too (has such a cerebral/high footy brain/IQ) and i would back her (my friend Anita's) judgement 110 %

Luke Sayers is no mug, gets the best people in for their respective roles, Brian Cook for example (loved his recent interview in the Sunday Herald-Sun, a consumate pro if I ever saw one)

Not overly fussed if we don't get positive puff pieces and coverage in the media or not (we have not achieved anything yet) just really enjoying the Essingtin implosion in the media though.

I don't know if this is true or not but part of the reason I wanted Voss was that he's revered as a captain and regarded as an all time great player. For that alone I thought the players would respond, I wonder if there's an air of arrogance (for lack of better term) at times whereby they thought they could perhaps ignore Bolts or Teague a little because they didn't have the presence of "that" guy. Tbh I feel like I could fall asleep half the time Teague speaks.

Not many have the presence of someone like Voss. It's a little like his coach, Matthews. His presence alone commands respect.

Please visual this conversation:
"Hey, Fuddy?"
"Yes, Anita?"
"Reckon that Aaron Greaves would go well at Carlton".
"What makes you think that?"
"Went to kindy with him. We were both 3".
"Oh man! Yes!"

I don't know if this is true or not but part of the reason I wanted Voss was that he's revered as a captain and regarded as an all time great player. For that alone I thought the players would respond, I wonder if there's an air of arrogance (for lack of better term) at times whereby they thought they could perhaps ignore Bolts or Teague a little because they didn't have the presence of "that" guy. Tbh I feel like I could fall asleep half the time Teague speaks.

Not many have the presence of someone like Voss. It's a little like his coach, Matthews. His presence alone commands respect.

Bolton was half coach/half teacher. He had mixed priorities in that he was trying to build a list while at the same time shaping boys into mature and professional young men, whilst shielding them from expectations and external criticism.

Teague's issue was that he was more concerned with the aesthetics of the gameplan than the outcome. He wanted fast, "attractive" football that was exciting to watch. Winning was the preferred result, sure, but he seemed somewhat content with exciting losses.

Voss has come in and forced the players to embrace the expectations that Bolton shied away from, and implemented a results-driven attitude instead of a brand-driven one. I don't think it's his "stature" as a player that has made the difference (though I'm sure that helps), it's that he has a completely different philosophy to the previous two coaches.

Bolton was half coach/half teacher. He had mixed priorities in that he was trying to build a list while at the same time shaping boys into mature and professional young men, whilst shielding them from expectations and external criticism.

Teague's issue was that he was more concerned with the aesthetics of the gameplan than the outcome. He wanted fast, "attractive" football that was exciting to watch. Winning was the preferred result, sure, but he seemed somewhat content with exciting losses.

Voss has come in and forced the players to embrace the expectations that Bolton shied away from, and implemented a results-driven attitude instead of a brand-driven one. I don't think it's his "stature" as a player that has made the difference (though I'm sure that helps), it's that he has a completely different philosophy to the previous two coaches.
I'd agree with that. It's more my personal musing as to whether a message delivered from Voss would carry more weight than one from Teague and/or Bolton.

I still don't think Bolton was bad for the team, I think he was exactly what we needed at the time and did a wonderful job. Ultimately wasn't the coach to take us to the next level but I think he was great for what we needed at the time.

I'd agree with that. It's more my personal musing as to whether a message delivered from Voss would carry more weight than one from Teague and/or Bolton.

I still don't think Bolton was bad for the team, I think he was exactly what we needed at the time and did a wonderful job. Ultimately wasn't the coach to take us to the next level but I think he was great for what we needed at the time.

And I agree with all of that. Very appreciative of what Bolts was able to do - kept the young core together through years of shellackings. Many other coaches would have lost players to other teams, but he fostered their investment while SOS put the pieces in place.

On that note, ditto for SOS. Exactly what we needed at the time. Didn't do everything right, but played the game we needed him to play. Baton gets passed to guys with different specialties and they're kicking goals as well.

Media Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc) - Part IV