Media Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc) - Part IV

Our club in the Media

Buts Teague’s decision to put Curnow and Murphy back in the midfield whilst he was caretaker coach won him the job and set us back 2 years as a result.

Agree it helped win him the job but disagree that in itself set us back 2 years. I think there is a happy medium approach we could have taken. Bolton was to focused on development over wins and Teague was the other extreme.

If Teague had left SPS, Dow and Fisher fulltime in the middle as Bolts did we would barely have won a game in 2019. They would have been smashed up every week. Doubt that would have been good for anyones development.

I think Bolton had the right approach. He just went too hard and too early.

That said, I still think Voss is the better coach so have won out in the end.

cliff-falling.gif

I'll tell you the differences between the coaches... we finally have a coherent ******* gameplan!!!

Now obviously our squad is more mature and talented than previous years. And of course the best gameplan can fail unless the players buy in.

But the obvious difference to me is the clarity of what is happening on the field. The players know what they are supposed to be doing and seem to always know where their teammates are. That comes from understanding and trust in the gameplan.

I believe the players understood the Teague gameplan, but it just wasn't workable and or sustainable, hence buy in was inconsistent

Voss and Co have merely simplified it back to basics, to a style that has stood the test of time, contested footy.

To be a contender, layers will be added, but that basic baseline is a great starting point

I believe the players understood the Teague gameplan, but it just wasn't workable and or sustainable, hence buy in was inconsistent

Voss and Co have merely simplified it back to basics, to a style that has stood the test of time, contested footy.

To be a contender, layers will be added, but that basic baseline is a great starting point
exactly what kingy is saying - fair dinkum, to listen to him talk about us you'd reckon we were the horrible hawks from the 60s & 70's - he says we take the field saying "let's bash this mob up" how long has it been since that was said about a team in navy?

I recall them saying that about our three peat team, so yes its been awhile

Don't get me started on the celebrations of the 1907 flag. Some rascal pinched my top hat and I also smashed my monocle.
It still doesn't fit me!!

Top-four surprise packets: Which teams are youngest this season?

That's an interesting article, but also lazy.

Pegs us as the second youngest team in the top 4 by (my most eye-rolling metric) average age.

There's not enough information in an average age to say whether a team is young, aging, etc.

This is a "=AVERAGE(A1:A42)" job by the vacation work student.

Gotta look at standard deviations, variance, kurtosis and skew. Only then does the bell curve and "average age" have context.

I think when you put those metrics together, you'd find Carlton is probably the strongest club in regards to the age of our core players, with a skew to the younger side. That is a side primed for sustained success.

Lift AFL.com.au

Top-four surprise packets: Which teams are youngest this season?

That's an interesting article, but also lazy.

Pegs us as the second youngest team in the top 4 by (my most eye-rolling metric) average age.

There's not enough information in an average age to say whether a team is young, aging, etc.

This is a "=AVERAGE(A1:A42)" job by the vacation work student.

Gotta look at standard deviations, variance, kurtosis and skew. Only then does the bell curve and "average age" have context.

I think when you put those metrics together, you'd find Carlton is probably the strongest club in regards to the age of our core players, with a skew to the younger side. That is a side primed for sustained success.

Lift AFL.com.au
Think I'll take mine without all that extraneous nonsense, thanks.

The thing that sometimes goes unmentioned about Bolton and his tenure here is that he instilled a much welcome level of professional standards for our players and their conduct, especially off field

How many of our players have made the media headlines for all the wrong reasons during and after the time that Bolts was coach?

Media Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc) - Part IV