Media Swans Talk in the Media 2022

Our club in the Media

The amazing thing about Fox is how he has completely cemented himself in the best 22. There is not even talk of "maybe player XXX would be better for the team". Fox is just an automatic selection whereas prior to this year he basically only played when we had a few injuries.
I've always thought Fox should be a lock. He typifies the skilled but hardworking Swans player. This isn't the first time Fox has used his speed and desperation to make it to a contest he had no right to impact. Fox has made desperate his MO. This example is just the most visible as he saved a certain goal that none should have been able to stop. It typifies his never give up attitude.

I'd like to see Fox using his speed in attack as well, as part of a three pronged rebound. He, Florent and Blakey all have great run, Florent is more about burst off the line and elusive running (Judd like) but Blakey and Fox both have genuine speed across the ground. All three use the ball very well and can hit up targets inside a crowded 50.

Slobbo's Tackle column on our game has two likes...

Robbie Fox, which... very much yes.

And Buddy Franklin.

Just embarrassing.
Rewatching the Fox smother(s) it's apparent that not only are Swans' players desperate but they're also quick. Within the few seconds that play took to evolve Rampe, Fox, Blakey and Gulden had run hard to get back and help out, quickly outnumbering the Demons. The players don't just all lunge desperately, they're so well drilled they take up defensive positions around the contest, so when they do win the ball back they can move it out easily

The Fox TV Guide doesn't show Bounce or First Crack in the next two days. Maybe they have been caned or stopped for finals.

I was seating down to watch First Crack and its gone somewhere else.

Sent from my SM-G990E using Tapatalk
Yeah I just realised when I switched on Foxtel tonight. Not sure why. Neither shows are scheduled anywhere.

Rewatching the Fox smother(s) it's apparent that not only are Swans' players desperate but they're also quick. Within the few seconds that play took to evolve Rampe, Fox, Blakey and Gulden had run hard to get back and help out, quickly outnumbering the Demons. The players don't just all lunge desperately, they're so well drilled they take up defensive positions around the contest, so when they do win the ball back they can move it out easily
I feel like we are just a quick team in general. Trying to think of the slowest player in our current team who weren't around back in 2012-2016. I'm thinking maybe Mills or one of the McCartins, maybe McDonald. Even they back in that 2012-2016 team would've probably been in the top half for quickest players back then, yet now they're amongst our slowest. They still play with power and athleticism. Just that extra step of pace beyond being plodders makes such a massive difference to how we want to play.

Is that why Sheldrick didn't play in the VFL side today?

Not to mention Logan in the pocket providing the outlet! Then Clarke doing the roundup and tackle OOB.
So much to like about that sequence.

A couple of good (as usual) Mongrel Punt's articles:

at that stage our hunger and determination were clearly more than melbourne's ... but i think it's harder to run and compete with tears in your eyes
as for fox, yes, he is now a key player, there's an element of a younger rampe to him, providing that extra man in a contest ...

this has been a part of our overall rise ... we move so quickly, and when you add in the improved disposal by foot, over short and longer distances, it means we're capable of moving the ball fast from anywhere on the field ...
i think it was a factor in beating c'wood a few weeks back and i'm sure it's what scares geelong the most as they prepare for a possible grand final meeting with us ... they're older and slower, and we also have mills, parker, rowbottom et al who'll make it a hard physical contest
i also think our mobility and speed out of defence will cause problems for the likes of cameron and hawkins
... but we have to get there, and so do they

Back to the media. Interesting listen to Angus Brayshaw now on with Bucks and Gaz , reckons they gave away 3 goals , what about the ones they were gifted.

Good part of winning a final is the various media shows and obliged to talk about us.

Obviously they need to dedicate most of their shows to Essendon, Jack Ginnivan, how Collingwood train late game situations, and a Victorian team being on the wrong end of a controversial umpiring decision ....

... but we should be able to sneak a few mentions in this week.

Good part of winning a final is the various media shows and obliged to talk about us.

Obviously they need to dedicate most of their shows to Essendon, Jack Ginnivan, how Collingwood train late game situations, and a Victorian team being on the wrong end of a controversial umpiring decision ....

that's finals-level optimism!

Back to the media. Interesting listen to Angus Brayshaw now on with Bucks and Gaz , reckons they gave away 3 goals , what about the ones they were gifted.
Good teams take the opportunities given. Demons giving way goals just shows they weren't up to it. Make a mistake and get punished

Plenty of SEN swans love , Bucks has liked us for a long time .
There seems to be a complex on here that we get nothing in the media !

Plenty of SEN swans love , Bucks has liked us for a long time .
There seems to be a complex on here that we get nothing in the media !
It's just a joke. I don't really care whether we are mentioned or not.

But it's a reality that shows like Classified, On the Couch, 360 spend the vast majority of their time discussing Melbourne clubs.

Compare the media coverage of one decision, that was actually correct, in an elimination final that went against a Victorian team to 25 decisions, that were all wrong, that went against an interstate team in the 2016 GF.

It's just a joke. I don't really care whether we are mentioned or not.

But it's a reality that shows like Classified, On the Couch, 360 spend the vast majority of their time discussing Melbourne clubs.

Compare the media coverage of one decision, that was actually correct, in an elimination final that went against a Victorian team to 25 decisions, that were all wrong, that went against an interstate team in the 2016 GF.
All footy classified is about is Carowhine to talk about footy politics , not the game , her and Slobbo should be sent to the russian front

Slobbo's Tackle column on our game has two likes...

Robbie Fox, which... very much yes.

And Buddy Franklin.

Just embarrassing.
In the days after we win the flag against team x the Melbourne media will be saturated with talk about.....

1. How team x lost
5. Dusty to be traded to Sydney
6. Swans can't go back to back if they lose/keep Buddy
7. Scrap academies
8. Heeney trade rumours
9. Collingwood stuff
10. Essendon/James Hird stuff
11. Hardwick complains about <insert anything>
12. Footy fans are fickle in Sydney
13. Carlton stuff
14 St Kilda stuff
15 Bulldogs stuff
16 North Melbourne stuff
17 Hawthorn stuff
18 Stuff about West Australian club
19 Stuff about South Australian club
20. COLA for Vic teams

at that stage our hunger and determination were clearly more than melbourne's ... but i think it's harder to run and compete with tears in your eyes
as for fox, yes, he is now a key player, there's an element of a younger rampe to him, providing that extra man in a contest ...
I've always seen Fox as Rampe's understudy. He's studied all the master's moves, short of post climbing but not content to wait for Rampe to retire, Fox has emerged as a beautiful Swan in his own right, flapping his great wings, hissing and fiercely attacking the opposition.

There was a point where Melbourne must have known they had little chance of winning and their thoughts would have turned to preservation for next week's final against Brisbane.

Yeah I heard that too. He sounded a bit sooky about it "whether they were there or not is another story" or something similar.

Mate... Harmes is a 50 every day of the week, as was Kozi who was clearly in the protected zone (we've been done for it plenty this year).

The May one I agree I'd probably be annoyed at if it was my team on the receiving end but it's not like it was a howler of a decision, he got shoved to the ground off the ball.

Not to mention we should have had a 4th goal from a 50 that wasn't awarded when Petraca was basically inside the elastic of Franklins underwear let alone the protected zone.

So yeah, have a sook about the May one if you want Melbourne but the rest of those are squarely on your team.