List Mgmt. 2022 Trade and Free Agency Thread

Going off that article ZoBlitz just posted in the Compendium, interesting to note that Jaxon Prior has re-signed for 2 years. Surprised the club hasn't announced it yet.

Maybe tomorrow 4pm

Anyone got the actual article? Refuse to give Murdoch money and it's behind a paywall.

ZoBlitz posted it in the Compendium.

Anyone got the actual article? Refuse to give Murdoch money and it's behind a paywall.
Brisbane-bound midfielder Josh Dunkley says he is confident Chris Fagan will be his coach at the Lions next year as he denied a culture issue was at play in his second trade request in two years.
Dunkley will move to Brisbane if the Lions can broker a trade with the Western Bulldogs, but says after 18 goals in his outstanding 2022 season he is prepared to play mid-forward in an onball unit that includes Lachie Neale and Hugh McCluggage.

The Herald Sun revealed last week Dunkley would sign a six-year deal worth $750,000 per year, and Dunkley said he had genuinely been unsure about his decision until last Monday when he officially asked for a trade.

Watch every match of the AFLW Season LIVE on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

He told the Herald Sun at the TAB Spring Racing launch that while Fagan could not go into details about the accusations from First Nations players about conduct in his time at Hawthorn, Dunkley believes will would coach the Lions next year.

“It was a tough decision and something I had to think about a lot,” he said of his trade request.

“Weighing up my life here (in Melbourne) and in Adelaide with my partner Tippah and my life in Brisbane as well. So at the end of the day I feel like it’s a good lifestyle decision and they have an exciting list up there.

“Fages was really good. He is really disappointed and everyone knows that. It’s been on the public record that he has been struggling with it, but he’s a great person and we didn’t talk too much about it. He just wanted to reassure me that he feels like he hasn’t done too much wrong and with the situation that is going on, it’s hard to talk about.

“It definitely didn’t make me second guess. Everyone has backed him in and all the news reports have backed him in, and from what I have had to do with him in such little time he’s such a good human being and he’s really cared for me, and I am looking forward to that relationship and getting up and meeting him.”

Josh Dunkley says he is moving to Brisbane for lifestyle reasons. Picture: Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)

Treloar’s great mate Adam Treloar’s partner Kim Ravaillion is in Brisbane playing Super Netball, and he is likely to join her once his AFL career is finished.
It means that while it will be difficult for Dunkley to leave his best friend, they will be reunited in Queensland in coming years, with the 25-year-old adamant the decision was based around lifestyle.
His partner Tippah plays Super Netball with Adelaide and while all contracts in the league are up at the end of next year, she loves the exciting young side she is playing with.
But in the long-term they will settle in Queensland, with 2016 premiership player Dunkley describing it as an offer too good to refuse.
Dunkley asked for a trade to Essendon at the end of 2020 amid the turbulent finish to the club’s hub experience in Queensland, but is adamant the Dogs culture is sound.
It is no secret the ultra-professional Dunkley led the charge on that front at the Dogs, but he said his relationship with coach Luke Beveridge was good.
“I think that was never an issue. It was more for me the on-field stuff and my role and the lifestyle. I feel like I can improve my footy again in the team up there. The culture stuff never came into my decision making.
“The culture is really good at the (Bulldogs) footy club. The boys are really close
“This year has been the best year out of all of them. It was a good step in the right direction after the grand final, so there is no bad blood.
“Bevo was really good to speak to on the phone. We have had a great relationship from day one and before I was drafted he spoke to me about how much I can be a role model and leader, so Bevo has been great for me and he’s like a father figure.
“I said to Bevo it was more of a lifestyle choice. He backed it in and said he completely understands the long-term deal was appealing.”

Yes, and I'd be very surprised if the Lions matched a bid on him in the first round if one came.

If you actually went and watched him play football, you would realise he is a 3rd round prospect and I'd be staggered if he played at AFL level in 2023 no matter where he ends up.

A previous Lions Academy prospect (without the benefit of a surname/father son) in Saxon Crozier as one example, was a far superior player to Jaspa at the same age, more accomplished at every level of football and he was not drafted at all, and doesn't even play anymore.

Saxon was fine at getting up and down the park and I think is a much more natural winger than Jaspa. He finds space more easily and I think probably has a more natural feel for the position.

Jaspa though is a far superior kick of the ball and navigates through traffic at a much high level than Saxon does. I also think Jaspa's onball work is also better than Saxon's was by a fair margin (admittedly not hard given Saxon was not very good inside). Put them on a half back flank and I also think Jaspa would be much the better player. Better kick and better under pressure.

I would not have Jaspa in the first round either but I think he is certainly a better prospect than Crozier was.

Good news that Prior has re-signed and I like that it seems McFadyen is likely to be kept at least another year, he's shown a lot of improvement as a defender imo.
Yes i hope we keep McFadyen for another year, did do an ACL a couple of years ago, probably downgraded to the Rookie list though for 2023.
Wonder what is the status with a few of the fringe players
Fullarton
T.Berry
Not that I think Dev or Payne are fringe players but although both contracted will either of them request a trade? Seems to be a few mids joining us next year (although Ashcroft probably not thrown in there immediately) and IF Adams returns and Gardner signs the apparent multi year deal, I reckon Payne is starting to look around so he can get a decent crack at it.
good that Zorko is going around again but I believe this is his last year, and I would hope we appoint Neal as captain for 2023.

Brisbane-bound midfielder Josh Dunkley says he is confident Chris Fagan will be his coach at the Lions next year as he denied a culture issue was at play in his second trade request in two years.
Dunkley will move to Brisbane if the Lions can broker a trade with the Western Bulldogs, but says after 18 goals in his outstanding 2022 season he is prepared to play mid-forward in an onball unit that includes Lachie Neale and Hugh McCluggage.

The Herald Sun revealed last week Dunkley would sign a six-year deal worth $750,000 per year, and Dunkley said he had genuinely been unsure about his decision until last Monday when he officially asked for a trade.

Watch every match of the AFLW Season LIVE on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

He told the Herald Sun at the TAB Spring Racing launch that while Fagan could not go into details about the accusations from First Nations players about conduct in his time at Hawthorn, Dunkley believes will would coach the Lions next year.

“It was a tough decision and something I had to think about a lot,” he said of his trade request.

“Weighing up my life here (in Melbourne) and in Adelaide with my partner Tippah and my life in Brisbane as well. So at the end of the day I feel like it’s a good lifestyle decision and they have an exciting list up there.

“Fages was really good. He is really disappointed and everyone knows that. It’s been on the public record that he has been struggling with it, but he’s a great person and we didn’t talk too much about it. He just wanted to reassure me that he feels like he hasn’t done too much wrong and with the situation that is going on, it’s hard to talk about.

“It definitely didn’t make me second guess. Everyone has backed him in and all the news reports have backed him in, and from what I have had to do with him in such little time he’s such a good human being and he’s really cared for me, and I am looking forward to that relationship and getting up and meeting him.”

Treloar’s great mate Adam Treloar’s partner Kim Ravaillion is in Brisbane playing Super Netball, and he is likely to join her once his AFL career is finished.
It means that while it will be difficult for Dunkley to leave his best friend, they will be reunited in Queensland in coming years, with the 25-year-old adamant the decision was based around lifestyle.
His partner Tippah plays Super Netball with Adelaide and while all contracts in the league are up at the end of next year, she loves the exciting young side she is playing with.
But in the long-term they will settle in Queensland, with 2016 premiership player Dunkley describing it as an offer too good to refuse.
Dunkley asked for a trade to Essendon at the end of 2020 amid the turbulent finish to the club’s hub experience in Queensland, but is adamant the Dogs culture is sound.
It is no secret the ultra-professional Dunkley led the charge on that front at the Dogs, but he said his relationship with coach Luke Beveridge was good.
“I think that was never an issue. It was more for me the on-field stuff and my role and the lifestyle. I feel like I can improve my footy again in the team up there. The culture stuff never came into my decision making.
“The culture is really good at the (Bulldogs) footy club. The boys are really close
“This year has been the best year out of all of them. It was a good step in the right direction after the grand final, so there is no bad blood.
“Bevo was really good to speak to on the phone. We have had a great relationship from day one and before I was drafted he spoke to me about how much I can be a role model and leader, so Bevo has been great for me and he’s like a father figure.
“I said to Bevo it was more of a lifestyle choice. He backed it in and said he completely understands the long-term deal was appealing.”
fantastic news that Dunkley still wants to come

Yes i hope we keep McFadyen for another year, did do an ACL a couple of years ago, probably downgraded to the Rookie list though for 2023.
Wonder what is the status with a few of the fringe players
Fullarton
T.Berry
Not that I think Dev or Payne are fringe players but although both contracted will either of them request a trade? Seems to be a few mids joining us next year (although Ashcroft probably not thrown in there immediately) and IF Adams returns and Gardner signs the apparent multi year deal, I reckon Payne is starting to look around so he can get a decent crack at it.
good that Zorko is going around again but I believe this is his last year, and I would hope we appoint Neal as captain for 2023.

That article referenced earlier did say Fullarton likely to be kept along with McFadyen, B. Coleman and Michael. No mention of Tom Berry. Does seem we'll be really tight for list spots. Would think we'd need at least four list spots for points matching at the draft but don't see how that will be feasible with no more retirements or outgoing players. If we retain everyone currently on our list (moving one to the rookie list) and bring in Dunkley that's only leaves three senior spots, two if we bring in Gunston.

Reportedly we are interested in Jack Bowes and pick 7 (see trade compendium thread) from the Suns, how the hell could we get that done?

Suns also interested in Tom Berry although it does say we have offered him a contract.

Reportedly we are interested in Jack Bowes and pick 7 (see trade compendium thread) from the Suns, how the hell could we get that done?

Suns also interested in Tom Berry although it does say we have offered him a contract.
We trade them our Future first and 2nd round picks and possibly Berry for 7 and Bowes

Jack Bowes as well?

Can we afford to absorb the salary dump?
as someone mentioned earlier in this thread or in another thread, you could do a deal with Bowes to extend the deal and reduce the cap hit to each season to a degree, maybe convince GC to pay some depending on what we send them, etc. There are options to make it "better" if we wanted to go down that path.

Wouldn’t the Suns also be able to restructure his deal and then not lose pick 7?

I’m not against it as he’s an ok player and adds to our depth but some of our kids will need upgrades eventually plus Dunkley coming in. Our cap has to be tight if we absorb his salary and space it out even.

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade and Free Agency Thread