No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 4

Gets even worse when you see that pick 4 ended up being rising star winner Nick Daicos too!
Yeah, but in no world would they have ended up with Daicos as he was never going anywhere except Pies. Same with Darcy. But they could have got a great haul with those rejected picks.

It is funny though, their board has gone from vehemently defending Clarkson to dumping on JHF, as if an 18/19yo is making this decision independently of his manager/step-father/other influences. Even funnier, most of them think Port will surrender Butters or Georgiades or some other gun AS WELL AS multiple first rounders.

It's like several posters on here in the Trade thread saying "well, if (based on Freo posters on their board!) are asking a first for Lobb, we will just walk away". Actually, no we won't. Lobb nominated us because his management and both clubs are well aware that will be the outcome, and we won't be doing a Dodoro-on-Dunkley and setting him up to request a trade, than fail to negotiate the actual trade. It won't be a first, but it will be done (or else Power and the club will look like a bunch of d1cks).

Yeah, but in no world would they have ended up with Daicos as he was never going anywhere except Pies. Same with Darcy. But they could have got a great haul with those rejected picks.

It is funny though, their board has gone from vehemently defending Clarkson to dumping on JHF, as if an 18/19yo is making this decision independently of his manager/step-father/other influences. Even funnier, most of them think Port will surrender Butters or Georgiades or some other gun AS WELL AS multiple first rounders.

It's like several posters on here in the Trade thread saying "well, if (based on Freo posters on their board!) are asking a first for Lobb, we will just walk away". Actually, no we won't. Lobb nominated us because his management and both clubs are well aware that will be the outcome, and we won't be doing a Dodoro-on-Dunkley and setting him up to request a trade, than fail to negotiate the actual trade. It won't be a first, but it will be done (or else Power and the club will look like a bunch of d1cks).
Yeah I know Daicos was never theirs, I was just taking the piss.

The North board's complete meltdown is a sight to behold. I do feel sorry for them given how hard they're being hit at all angles (but that Clarkson thread is abhorrent, particularly post 6749 and surrounding discussion, amongst many other shockers).

Yeah I know Daicos was never theirs, I was just taking the piss.

The North board's complete meltdown is a sight to behold. I do feel sorry for them given how hard they're being hit at all angles (but that Clarkson thread is abhorrent, particularly post 6749 and surrounding discussion, amongst many other shockers).
No worries. Yeah the Clarkson thread has plumbed new depths. Apart from a few posters trying to maintain civility and even-handedness, there are few worse footy threads I've seen on BF.

It's not even Clarkson directly, posters are openly displaying their own racism and bigotry with how they are unloading on the players in the report, the ABC journo and now anyone else who is sticking their head above the parapet to report behaviour that is reinforcing rather than refuting the report. Abhorrent is not a strong enough word for some of those posts. :(

I'm almost reluctant to post this, as it really doesn't add much to anything, but FWIW:

I'm not claiming this is some sort of ITK tid-bit, as it's second-hand, but a mate who is a former fringe (he won't mind me saying that as he doesn't read BF - according to him anyway! :D) player (not WB) and was briefly in player management after retiring, still catches up with existing industry contacts. Said the chat in his industry circle wasn't aware JHF would be seeking a trade out (this year at least!), but talk has ramped-up that North's Thomas was more likely to seek an end-of-season move (to northern states, not another Vic club), even after Clarkson was appointed. Again, this is second-hand, but he thinks even if/when Clarkson returns, North still have a few years of pain ahead, due to how the club management in general is perceived in player manager circles - "not viewed as incompetent, more as in-experienced/out of their depth in high profile negotiations" (specifically to player negotiations, separate to luring Clarkson as coach). I'm not trying to pile on to North here btw, and not really anything concrete, just sharing what I heard. He said it goes back to their big $$$ plays for Martin/Gaff/Kelly apparently - allegedly a fair whiff of desperation at the time, and some poor choices in over-paying remaining players as a consequence of missing out on targets (no real surprises there), even if some list management personnel have changed. That's all I've got though, he claims he has nothing to add to media speculation regarding our trades, as we run a very tight ship these days! :think: Imagine the North board though if Thomas suddenly wanted out - not dissimilar to our 2014 end-of-season exits and BF melts!

Anyway, grain of salt and all that, and most of it is already common knowledge (Thomas rumour seems to be getting stronger today anyway, see SEN, etc), more just reinforcing what is out there. If you want to refute it, or shoot it down, knock yourself out.

I'm almost reluctant to post this, as it really doesn't add much to anything, but FWIW:

I'm not claiming this is some sort of ITK tid-bit, as it's second-hand, but a mate who is a former fringe (he won't mind me saying that as he doesn't read BF - according to him anyway! :D) player (not WB) and was briefly in player management after retiring, still catches up with existing industry contacts. Said the chat in his industry circle wasn't aware JHF would be seeking a trade out (this year at least!), but talk has ramped-up that North's Thomas was more likely to seek an end-of-season move (to northern states, not another Vic club), even after Clarkson was appointed. Again, this is second-hand, but he thinks even if/when Clarkson returns, North still have a few years of pain ahead, due to how the club management in general is perceived in player manager circles - "not viewed as incompetent, more as in-experienced/out of their depth in high profile negotiations" (specifically to player negotiations, separate to luring Clarkson as coach). I'm not trying to pile on to North here btw, and not really anything concrete, just sharing what I heard. He said it goes back to their big $$$ plays for Martin/Gaff/Kelly apparently - allegedly a fair whiff of desperation at the time, and some poor choices in over-paying remaining players as a consequence of missing out on targets (no real surprises there), even if some list management personnel have changed. That's all I've got though, he claims he has nothing to add to media speculation regarding our trades, as we run a very tight ship these days! :think: Imagine the North board though if Thomas suddenly wanted out - not dissimilar to our 2014 end-of-season exits and BF melts!

Anyway, grain of salt and all that, and most of it is already common knowledge (Thomas rumour seems to be getting stronger today anyway, see SEN, etc), more just reinforcing what is out there. If you want to refute it, or shoot it down, knock yourself out.
Yeah, I thought it was nuts the way they chased the big names when they had nothing to offer them. I don’t like seeing ing any club kicked in the teeth, especially one if the smaller ones, but it would appear they are bringing it upon themselves.

Their $$$ offers were certainly substantial (and similarly to us at times, had to be to even trigger a conversation), but I'm told in at least one case the player was (allegedly) strongly advised to take less money and stay at their existing club by their management.

Lot of talk about North's shit luck and how they should bend Port over backwards at the trade table and/or receive additional AFL compensation for losing a #1 pick. At what point do you have to take responsibility for being a shit club that nobody wants to play for?

For those (like me) who often complain about the lack of genuine analysis amongst football media in this country, here is some pretty decent analysis:

Great article! The sort of analysis most footy followers crave.

Now I'm off to pore over the Bummers fluff pieces in the HUN.

So much great reading, and all on one day!

Funny GIF