Preview 2023 National Draft Preview Thread [currently: #2, #14 (PA), #19 (PP) #40, #52, #60]

KP’s: Daniel Curtain, Archer Reid, Connor O’Sullivan and Riley Weatherill. Jed Walter as well (but he is a GC academy player).

Classy/Fast small forwards: Nick Watson & Jack Dealan.

X-Factor types: Ashton Moir and Zane Duursma

Skilful Mids/Half Back: Colby McKercher & Nathan Philactides.
How high in the draft do you reckon Walter might attract a bid?

BFNAAK

TOP PROSPECT FIRING EARLY

A top AFL draft prospect and running machine has made a blistering start to the Coates Talent League season with the Murray Bushrangers.

Darcy Wilson, who is part of the AFL Academy squad, produced another big performance against the GWS Academy side last weekend as he logged 23 disposals, eight marks, nine score involvements and kicked three goals for a total of 151 ranking points.

Wilson has been playing as a forward who pushes hard up the field and has also spent time through the midfield.

He finished ninth in the Yo-Yo test at the Coates Talent League pre-season testing day last month with a score of 21.08.

“Running, endurance and speed are some of my strengths,” Wilson said.

“I like to take on the game and like to think I have pretty good footy IQ so they would be other strengths.

“I’m a bit of an inside-outside mid who can use my running ability and then go down forward and hopefully kick a few goals.”

Wilson, who is attending the Alex Rance Academy in Wangaratta, supports North Melbourne where his great uncle Mick Nolan played.

However, he looks up to a Port Adelaide young gun.

“I try and take bits and pieces from everyone but Connor Rozee is one that comes to mind,” Wilson said.

“He plays similar to me. I like the way he plays so I try and take bits from his game.”

BFNAAK

TOP PROSPECT FIRING EARLY

A top AFL draft prospect and running machine has made a blistering start to the Coates Talent League season with the Murray Bushrangers.

Darcy Wilson, who is part of the AFL Academy squad, produced another big performance against the GWS Academy side last weekend as he logged 23 disposals, eight marks, nine score involvements and kicked three goals for a total of 151 ranking points.

Wilson has been playing as a forward who pushes hard up the field and has also spent time through the midfield.

He finished ninth in the Yo-Yo test at the Coates Talent League pre-season testing day last month with a score of 21.08.

“Running, endurance and speed are some of my strengths,” Wilson said.

“I like to take on the game and like to think I have pretty good footy IQ so they would be other strengths.

“I’m a bit of an inside-outside mid who can use my running ability and then go down forward and hopefully kick a few goals.”

Wilson, who is attending the Alex Rance Academy in Wangaratta, supports North Melbourne where his great uncle Mick Nolan played.

However, he looks up to a Port Adelaide young gun.

“I try and take bits and pieces from everyone but Connor Rozee is one that comes to mind,” Wilson said.

“He plays similar to me. I like the way he plays so I try and take bits from his game.”
Love a BFNAAK. He’s a quality player from what I’ve seen, super classy which is useful no matter the position.

The wizard compared to rankine Souup roos_fanatic08 Sphynx

Different players mate. Bit hard to explain but they both have freakish agility/movement but how they use it is totally different.

I’d say Watson would be quicker and more explosive. I’d be pretty confident He’d also have Rankine with leap too.

1681425632674.png

Wilson has always been a prodigious athletic talent.

“He’s a running-type player, one of his strengths is his ability to cover the ground, he’s more of a hybrid half-forward so he can cover both ends of the ground pretty easily,” Mick suggested.

2023 AFL Academy squad

#NAMESURNAMESTATESTATE LEAGUE CLUBCOMMUNITY CLUB
1NickWatsonVIC MEastern RangesEast Ringwood
2JackCallinanTASTasmania DevilsClarence
3CaidenClearyNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademySydney University
4JackDeleanSASouth AdelaideReynella
5RileyHardemanWASwan DistrictsCaversham
6ColbyMcKercherTASTasmania DevilsLaunceston
7HarleyReidVIC CBendigo PioneersTongala
8ArchieRobertsVIC MSandringham DragonsHampton Rovers
9JakeRogersQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyBroadbeach
10RyleySandersTASSandringham DragonsNorth Launceston
11OrlandoTurnerNTNorwoodSouth Alice Springs
12DarcyWilsonVIC CMurray BushrangersWangaratta Rovers
17LachlanCaborNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyShellharbour
18NateCaddyVIC MNorthern KnightsYarrambat
19ZaneDuursmaVIC CGippsland PowerFoster
20WilliamLorenzVIC MOakleigh ChargersBoroondara Hawks
21KaneMcAuliffeSANorth AdelaideCentral Augusta
22AshtonMoirSAGlenelgPlympton
23ConnorO'SullivanNSW/ACTMurray BushrangersAlbury
24WilliamPattonSAWest AdelaideMitcham
25NathanPhilactidesVIC MOakleigh ChargersBlackburn
26CooperSimpsonVIC CDandenong StingraysMount Martha
27GeorgeStevensVIC CGWV RebelsSouth Warrnambool
28KoltynTholstrupWASubiacoNewtown-Condingup
29DanielCurtinWAClaremontWest Coast
30MitchellEdwardsWAPeel ThunderSouth Mandurah
31WilliamGreenVIC MNorthern KnightsNorthcote
32EthanReadQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Currumbin
33ArcherReidVIC CGippsland PowerInverloch-Kongwak
34JedWalterQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Currumbin

2023 AFL Academy squad

#NAMESURNAMESTATESTATE LEAGUE CLUBCOMMUNITY CLUB
1NickWatsonVIC MEastern RangesEast Ringwood
2JackCallinanTASTasmania DevilsClarence
3CaidenClearyNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademySydney University
4JackDeleanSASouth AdelaideReynella
5RileyHardemanWASwan DistrictsCaversham
6ColbyMcKercherTASTasmania DevilsLaunceston
7HarleyReidVIC CBendigo PioneersTongala
8ArchieRobertsVIC MSandringham DragonsHampton Rovers
9JakeRogersQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyBroadbeach
10RyleySandersTASSandringham DragonsNorth Launceston
11OrlandoTurnerNTNorwoodSouth Alice Springs
12DarcyWilsonVIC CMurray BushrangersWangaratta Rovers
17LachlanCaborNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyShellharbour
18NateCaddyVIC MNorthern KnightsYarrambat
19ZaneDuursmaVIC CGippsland PowerFoster
20WilliamLorenzVIC MOakleigh ChargersBoroondara Hawks
21KaneMcAuliffeSANorth AdelaideCentral Augusta
22AshtonMoirSAGlenelgPlympton
23ConnorO'SullivanNSW/ACTMurray BushrangersAlbury
24WilliamPattonSAWest AdelaideMitcham
25NathanPhilactidesVIC MOakleigh ChargersBlackburn
26CooperSimpsonVIC CDandenong StingraysMount Martha
27GeorgeStevensVIC CGWV RebelsSouth Warrnambool
28KoltynTholstrupWASubiacoNewtown-Condingup
29DanielCurtinWAClaremontWest Coast
30MitchellEdwardsWAPeel ThunderSouth Mandurah
31WilliamGreenVIC MNorthern KnightsNorthcote
32EthanReadQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Currumbin
33ArcherReidVIC CGippsland PowerInverloch-Kongwak
34JedWalterQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Currumbin

Good that we’ll be able to watch the game straight after ours! I thought I was going to miss out on it.

Is Darcy Fogarty a KPF at 193 cm? I’d say yes, he is. Here’s his draft profile

I’d argue Caddy can be a more accomplished forward prospect come draft time than Fogarty was.

Jack darling is a KPF at 191 cm

Charlie Curnow is a KPF at 194 cm

Brody miohcheck is a KPF at 192 cm

Jack Gunston whilst not be a KPF at 193 cm will end up around 500 afl goals when he retires

I hope we don’t discount caddy based on height

Is Darcy Fogarty a KPF at 193 cm? I’d say yes, he is. Here’s his draft profile

I’d argue Caddy can be a more accomplished forward prospect come draft time than Fogarty was.

Jack darling is a KPF at 191 cm

Charlie Curnow is a KPF at 194 cm

Brody miohcheck is a KPF at 192 cm

Jack Gunston whilst not be a KPF at 193 cm will end up around 500 afl goals when he retires

I hope we don’t discount caddy based on height
If Charlie Curnow is 194 then Harry McKay is 210.
Curnow is about 190, at most.

images (12).jpeg

But the ultimate thing that matters is standing reach. Curnow has long arms. If Caddy has long arms then he'll be fine as a key forward.

If Charlie Curnow is 194 then Harry McKay is 210.
Curnow is about 190, at most.

View attachment 1660688

But the ultimate thing that matters is standing reach. Curnow has long arms. If Caddy has long arms then he'll be fine as a key forward.
I did ask that question

Thats great then. You get the mobility of a mid but the reach of a KPF in the narking contests. Next to Larkey and Comben I think that is a good fit.

He doesn't have the mobility of a midfielder, or else he would have played there.

He moves well for a forward, but please settle down a bit.

Lets see where he settles after the champs, before getting our hearts set on him.

It's a good story, being friends with the Harvey's, big BFNAAK and North family etc, but this is a critical pick for us,,,

He doesn't have the mobility of a midfielder, or else he would have played there.

He moves well for a forward, but please settle down a bit.

Lets see where he settles after the champs, before getting our hearts set on him.

It's a good story, being friends with the Harvey's, big BFNAAK and North family etc, but this is a critical pick for us,,,

How would he compare to mason wood?