Preview Round 7, 2023: St.Kilda v Port Adelaide - Marvel Stadium, Friday 28th April, 7:50PM AEST *WOOD 100TH*

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 59 90.8%
  • Power

Votes: 6 9.2%

He gets mentioned every week, Cordy's going no where Ross mentioned him in the presser taking pressure off the young guy's.

He must be the new whipping boy.
Whipping boy? He had 7 touches and we don't need the extra height given Port missing their talls. Pretty simple.

I feel a tight game coming. The next few weeks before the bye will be one of our easiest patches, so I think we may reach the bye 9-2, and this may be the one that we drop. Carlton had three days extra break than us, and Port will have an extra day with us only having 5 this week, so I think that will play a role.

Was a sweet victory yesterday after the blues challenged us for most of the game. Port as usual is an annoying emotional mess. I haven't watched any game time but have seen they have come back from well behind v Sydney. Charlie seems to love us and Alir is in decent form have to watch the long bombs into the 50. Does anyone think they are much chop? That's not intended to be taking them lightly.

Their midfield has multiple AAs - Wines, Rozee, Boak - and I rate Butters too. Looks like that's where the game would be won and lost.

No reason to boo JHF , we have lots of players from other clubs so whats the big deal. We would have been very happy if he choose to play for us . Besides who wouldnt want to leave North at the start of their career.
We should cheer him for leaving the tin rattling, pseudo tough guys.

Yes we are, not because he's been a sook but because Hinkley is a flog for telling people what to do when they pay money to go and voice their opinions.
If you have a shit opinion like that, you're the one who deserves to get booed.

Yes we are, not because he's been a sook but because Hinkley is a flog for telling people what to do when they pay money to go and voice their opinions.
We should boo Ken Hinkley.

Although judging from Port supporters they will boo him first.

Mate it's ******* professional sport.

We're not talking about the nuffies who spend 24/7 on twitter hounding the life out of individuals for pathetic reasons, be they disgusting or ridiculous.

It's performance theatre: the live audience is and should be an active and contributing part of the game and not sanitised out.

I wouldn't boo him myself, I couldn't have handled the media attention while being away from my support systems at 18/19 either, but his choices are pretty much about a perfect example of the weird phenomenon of things over here that get labeled "unaustralian" as I can think of: and it's to no surprise that a lot of fans would let him know what they think of his character.

Plenty of careers and lifestyles out there where you don't have to deal with that s**t if you don't want.
I've got issue with booing. I get it's part of the game. No issue with North fans wanting to have a crack when they play him.

But to single out one 19 year old kid that you don't particularly like and has had nothing to do with you or your clubs just to jump on a bandwagon, well it just becomes bullying.

We wouldn't even be talking about booing him if Collingwood didn't start it a few weeks back. Now all the degenerates have a sniff of blood and feel like they need to get involved 😂

Laugh at it if you like but it's embarrassing for all involved.

We'd be complete idiots if we weren't planning for how we give ourselves the best possible chance in September.

I'm a natural pessismist- but denying we're playing finals this year would be superstitious jumping at shadows at this point.

Good (flag winning) teams know where they are headed- so they aren't surprised and overwhelmed when they get there.

Fun fact, we played Port at a similar stage last year after having a similar W/L record, and they were coming into it after cruising past a depleted West Coast (their first W of the season). Thankfully for us the difference is that we’re not in Cairns this time!

I feel a tight game coming. The next few weeks before the bye will be one of our easiest patches, so I think we may reach the bye 9-2, and this may be the one that we drop. Carlton had three days extra break than us, and Port will have an extra day with us only having 5 this week, so I think that will play a role.
This is why you have to love RtB though. He yanked Marshall early in the GC game to keep him fresh and effectively yanked the entire team with ~15 mins to go yesterday to allow for the short turnaround.

No Jonas Georgiades Marshall and potentially Charlie Dixon.

Even if the last one plays.

We need to beat these clowns.

The captain who said himself he was fine in his post match interview

As if he would say any different.

Steele was looking hobbled during preseason and before his collarbone too.
He's come back in now and is clearly still hampered one way or another.
His performance on field says more than the words from his mouth.

Same with Phillipou- ask him how he's feeling and I'm sure he'd say "fresh as a daisy, 110%, could run a marathon a week"

Noone wants to miss a game- but for the longer term good (ie finals), it could well be worth doing some targeted player management imo.