Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

PoppedCorn
This is for you, seen parked in a city car park on Southbank close to The Langham.
A classic and in magnificent condition.
Note how far over it is parked, as far away from other cars as possible.

View attachment 1710610
Nice. My uncle, back in the day had a metallic brown one of these with the same black stripes and same wheels.
When I was a kid he drove me down to Hastings (from StKilda) to go fishing. Hit the 100 mph mark at one point.
Few years later he traded it for a ....... a new Sigma. Lol.

PoppedCorn
This is for you, seen parked in a city car park on Southbank close to The Langham.
A classic and in magnificent condition.
Note how far over it is parked, as far away from other cars as possible.

View attachment 1710610
Must be 20 years since I last saw one of those steering wheel locks on a car.

Anywhere from $100k to $200k
And maybe a bit more restored if it's a V8.

A mate had a rare HK GTS 350 Bathurst special and sold it back when they were worth nothing. It was still like a new car and never touched. It would be worth probably $300k plus now, hardly any were made. I think he sold it for $20k or something back when that was a lot for one but crazy how much it would be worth now.

This is what my mum used to drive around in back when i was in high school , well it was the same model 1973 less the blower , Lowered to the shizenhousen and the wheels ,
Power steering , AC and even a wind back sunroof was pretty cool back then , I lived just out of Ballarat and dad used to let me drive it about 2km to the local servo to get him smokes and milk for mum
A 351 engine in the hands of a nutty 15 yo could have ended badly , Oh the good old days ford-zf-fairlane-4.jpg

This is what my mum used to drive around in back when i was in high school , well it was the same model 1973 less the blower , Lowered to the shizenhousen and the wheels ,
Power steering , AC and even a wind back sunroof was pretty cool back then , I lived just out of Ballarat and dad used to let me drive it about 2km to the local servo to get him smokes and milk for mum
A 351 engine in the hands of a nutty 15 yo could have ended badly , Oh the good old days View attachment 1710898

My grandfather used to have Fairlaines and LTDs back in the day. They were a country person's limo.

One of my mates dads was well off to say the least , he got his son a brand new LTD for his 21st , Geez they were a great car , hammered too

And maybe a bit more restored if it's a V8.

A mate had a rare HK GTS 350 Bathurst special and sold it back when they were worth nothing. It was still like a new car and never touched. It would be worth probably $300k plus now, hardly any were made. I think he sold it for $20k or something back when that was a lot for one but crazy how much it would be worth now.
Market has cooled just a little the last 18 months

Many years ago I was leaving local pub and stuck the thumb out to get home, HK gts pulls in sideways I jump in and he guns it. Shit this goes ok mate what’s it running ?
No idea maté only stole it 15 minutes ago 😂

Many years ago I was leaving local pub and stuck the thumb out to get home, HK gts pulls in sideways I jump in and he guns it. s**t this goes ok mate what’s it running ?

Better than the time an ex hitched home from the city, took her about 15 minutes to realise he wasn't wearing pants.

Venting.
Go from fine and dandy to a 70+yo who decided to break the hot water tap in the kitchen.
So now I have no water and no discernible location for a leak which probably means it's a seal somewhere in a splitter.
And it's never, not a once, me that breaks taps. Always him.
Moments like this where I now get to suffer without running water, is a time time where I hate my job as primary carer.

Able to ascertain air is somehow going into the tap, likely in our laundry, did have mini success by going slightly under house and no knocking my head, will give no shits and have shower in morning as F that noise.
/vent

Snapped this old Falcon today.
Nowhere near the value of the rig from yesterday, but I do love the old colours, shapes, and chrome on 60’s & 70’s stuff 😎

View attachment 1712069
ted-bundy-serial-killer.gif

I spent 18 months in Sydney in Wollahra (work was in Double Bay, yes i was a w***er consultant) and the trail start at Bondi was about 1km from my door, glorious way to spend the arvo. Right near the cemetary is one of the worlds most picturesque footy grounds too, overlooking the water.

Just shut up Garry, you got a teenage girl dead, overdosed on your drugs.
Take your bible and shove it.
I agree. Should have done hard time. Told her it was cocaine when it was heroin from memory. Absolute low
3779351308_c1c9ed7152_b.jpg

This was our family car (obviously not exactly this one!) when i was kid that my mother drove. She was a conservative primary school head master - looking back it was quite a statement. It was a bit darker than this almost mustard

Clearly remember the black leather seats that would get damn hot in summer (yep in Tassie it occasionally gets warm) and the fights I had with my brother to sit in the front.
3779351308_c1c9ed7152_b.jpg

This was our family car (obviously not exactly this one!) when i was kid that my mother drove. She was a conservative primary school head master - looking back it was quite a statement. It was a bit darker than this almost mustard

Clearly remember the black leather seats that would get damn hot in summer (yep in Tassie it occasionally gets warm) and the fights I had with my brother to sit in the front.
I had one nearly the same. HQ two door GTS. 253 V8 metalic gold in colour White panels. dark green seats in fake leather.

Must be 20 years since I last saw one of those steering wheel locks on a car.

But i call bullshit and tend to believe this over people who are trying to sell you crap.

And yeah i'm sure you could use scientific scanning and decoding devices to hack the new systems, but those car thieves are way too dumb for that.

Olden days were funny.
An apprentice showed us how you could pop the bonnet on a HQ, then use the dip stick to open the door and then start the engine just by poking the end in the keyholes .
We thought he was talking crap, but nope , he did it.

I had a White Nissan Pintara , one day i was parked in Clayton, went into a shop, got back to the car and got in not particularly paying attention , and sat down then thought, "this car doesn't smell like mine". Thew white Pintara 2 up from mine had a deodoriser thing in it.
A couple of years earlier a student worker at GM Proving ground had locked the keys in his 200B.
The 200B was fairly advanced with its anti-theft, it had rounded lock buttons ( so you couldn't use packing tape ) , and the guys were getting no-where poking wire under the door handles. I could see his key in the ignition, and it looked just like my Pintara key. Just for shits and giggles i tried the Pintara key in the door lock. Yep , like it was made for it.

But i call bullshit and tend to believe this over people who are trying to sell you crap.

And yeah i'm sure you could use scientific scanning and decoding devices to hack the new systems, but those car thieves are way too dumb for that.

Olden days were funny.
An apprentice showed us how you could pop the bonnet on a HQ, then use the dip stick to open the door and then start the engine just by poking the end in the keyholes .
We thought he was talking crap, but nope , he did it.

I had a White Nissan Pintara , one day i was parked in Clayton, went into a shop, got back to the car and got in not particularly paying attention , and sat down then thought, "this car doesn't smell like mine". Thew white Pintara 2 up from mine had a deodoriser thing in it.
A couple of years earlier a student worker at GM Proving ground had locked the keys in his 200B.
The 200B was fairly advanced with its anti-theft, it had rounded lock buttons ( so you couldn't use packing tape ) , and the guys were getting no-where poking wire under the door handles. I could see his key in the ignition, and it looked just like my Pintara key. Just for shits and giggles i tried the Pintara key in the door lock. Yep , like it was made for it.

A guy laughed at me putting one of those old locks on back when I had nice old cars. He reckoned he was an ex car thief and said they carry a piece of pipe which would snap them in half with every little force. I stopped bothering. On one of my good cars I had an immobiliser fitted but not sure it did much either but had a flashing light to looks like it did.

Still very few cars are actually stolen when you consider how many cars are owned in vic.

So day 2 update.

Would be plumber boyfriend of younger sister CBF.
Younger sister CBF.
I CBF going without so showered at 6am after pulling an allnighter and used the drip to fill 2 sinks full of water just in case we needed to use any for anything not edible.
Worked 8 hours on a short day where team of 6 got reduced to 4 with me on 7 phone lines of a 9 line system as I straight refuse reception, you are not paying me enough to deal with that crap.
Got off work an hour and half ago.
Grabbed a 24mm spanner.
Grabbed a blacksmith hammer.
Put the spanner on the tap.
Beat the shit out of the spanner with the hammer.
As I work with these tools daily, I know their tolerances, it could take it, EAD AEG Impact driver torque.
Noticed the valve was missing a piece.
Plugged new valve in, cranked water to 1 past off for trickle effect.
Immediate trickle of air + water punch + partial remnant of previous valve out of spout.
Have summarily deduced two things; 1) 70+yo is too forceful in usage of hot tap and 2) laundry hot tap is probably one stiff hammer swing away from flying off the wall into a window.
This was all after I went under the house to check both splitters for the hot water systems across one wall and summarily I am now sore at the wrists and knees and covered in spider webs and dust.
But I now have water.
Because I had a spanner, and a hammer, and wasn't afraid to use them with violence.
My next step if this was a day three was busting out the tomahawk and Hassan...

As an aside, when I was trying to sleep last night, my hot water system made the most awful racket, almost as loud as a gunshot or car exhaust rolling coal as water was turned off at the time. Wouldn't recomend a day 2 for plumbing things with water and air build up.

I spent 18 months in Sydney in Wollahra (work was in Double Bay, yes i was a w***er consultant) and the trail start at Bondi was about 1km from my door, glorious way to spend the arvo. Right near the cemetary is one of the worlds most picturesque footy grounds too, overlooking the water.
Very very beautiful spot

Many years ago I was leaving local pub and stuck the thumb out to get home, HK gts pulls in sideways I jump in and he guns it. s**t this goes ok mate what’s it running ?
I like to think that by the time l retire classics will have tanked in value coz the millennials won't care about them.