Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

Richmond said it was the hardest one they'd won because of what the players had to go through. Think it deserves some credence.
Yeah absolutely. I find it a completely nonsense argument to suggest that that year doesn’t count, and frankly an insult to those who kept busting a gut despite being away from their homes for such a long time.

That argument might hold some weight though if a whole lot of teams who had been poor in previous years finished up the top, while the top teams in recent years fell well down, and then it reset to “normal” again the following year, but the fact of the matter is that 4 of the top 5 teams from 2019 (end of H&A season) finished the 2020 H&A season in the top 5 again, while 6 of the teams who played finals in 2019 played finals again in 2020, while one of the teams who missed the 8 from 2019 finished 10th, while a team that made the prelim two years earlier and who won the flag the following year finished 9th! Then the premiership was won by the team that won it the previous year, and also a couple of years prior to that.

So not only was it not a whole lot of changes, but it was pretty much exactly like every other year, with the top 4 or 5 staying mostly the same, the top 8 and 10 staying mostly the same, and a team from a fair way down the previous year finishing top 5 (in this case us)- which happens pretty much every year.

Then the following year (2021) 3 of the top 4 from the supposed * year finished the H&A season top 4 again, while another of the previous year’s top 8 finished 5th.

I would suggest the evidence that that year counts just as much as any other year far outweighs any that it doesn’t.

World is ——ed

I'm feeling very triggered by your patriarchal disdain towards my right to be offended by **** all. The Essendon logo does offend me greatly and they should have a royal commission into the aggressive name and see if they can force them to take on title of the Genderless Sugar-gliders or some kind of name that makes me feel better about never having meaningful employment because of my dreadlocks and bong habit.

Yeah absolutely. I find it a completely nonsense argument to suggest that that year doesn’t count, and frankly an insult to those who kept busting a gut despite being away from their homes for such a long time.

That argument might hold some weight though if a whole lot of teams who had been poor in previous years finished up the top, while the top teams in recent years fell well down, and then it reset to “normal” again the following year, but the fact of the matter is that 4 of the top 5 teams from 2019 (end of H&A season) finished the 2020 H&A season in the top 5 again, while 6 of the teams who played finals in 2019 played finals again in 2020, while one of the teams who missed the 8 from 2019 finished 10th, while a team that made the prelim two years earlier and who won the flag the following year finished 9th! Then the premiership was won by the team that won it the previous year, and also a couple of years prior to that.

So not only was it not a whole lot of changes, but it was pretty much exactly like every other year, with the top 4 or 5 staying mostly the same, the top 8 and 10 staying mostly the same, and a team from a fair way down the previous year finishing top 5 (in this case us)- which happens pretty much every year.

Then the following year (2021) 3 of the top 4 from the supposed * year finished the H&A season top 4 again, while another of the previous year’s top 8 finished 5th.

I would suggest the evidence that that year counts just as much as any other year far outweighs any that it doesn’t.

My Richmond mates don't even rate it but they do have a couple of others to not have to give a ****.

Funny a few mates and I were discussing this not long ago. A bizarre old team identity when you think about it, could probably do with a refresh but I doubt many will go for that idea - change is just too damn scary

Less scary, more unnecessary
Gave me a good laugh especially given the clubs history. ~6 months ago they hired a guy who compared abortion to the Holocaust and openly hates the gays, yet a logo is apparently offensive. Circus out at Tullamarine.

Anyway, time to work on my toxic masculinity in the gym whilst listening to some offensive 90's rap. Don't tell Essendon.

Funny a few mates and I were discussing this not long ago. A bizarre old team identity when you think about it, could probably do with a refresh but I doubt many will go for that idea - change is just too damn scary
If they change the bombers identity because it’s supposedly offensive or old, St Kilda will be next.

No thanks. Let Essendon keep their mascot. It’s harmless, hurts no one. And has worked fine for a long time.
Change for the sake of change is silly.

I'd prefer a mosquito

lets see..... bombers.

They could change it to a guy in a turban with TNT strapped to his vest, would that be less offensive?

Seriously its hard to come up with a logo for a "Bomber" when there really isn't a connotation of bomber that doesn't include bombs.
That means that Essendon really need to change their team name to avoid offending people, or better yet, just go away.

In the USA the Battle Creek Bombers , changed their name to the Battle Creek Battle Jacks, Ok, that seems stupid but they are American.

There aren't many other meanings for "Bomber". It can be slang for a computer virus, but that is because it sort of "bombs" your system.
There is a beer bottle in the USA that gets called a Bomber. If they could get people in Australia to start using the term, they could change their logo to a beer bottle.

José Rizal University Heavy Bombers use an actual logo depicting a bomb.
I don't know what the Ithaca college Lacrosse team use for a logo.

I guess we should keep it simple, change their name to Essendon cheating scum and use James Hird as a logo.

lets see..... bombers.

They could change it to a guy in a turban with TNT strapped to his vest, would that be less offensive?

Seriously its hard to come up with a logo for a "Bomber" when there really isn't a connotation of bomber that doesn't include bombs.
That means that Essendon really need to change their team name to avoid offending people, or better yet, just go away.

In the USA the Battle Creek Bombers , changed their name to the Battle Creek Battle Jacks, Ok, that seems stupid but they are American.

There aren't many other meanings for "Bomber". It can be slang for a computer virus, but that is because it sort of "bombs" your system.
There is a beer bottle in the USA that gets called a Bomber. If they could get people in Australia to start using the term, they could change their logo to a beer bottle.

I guess we should keep it simple, change their name to Essendon cheating scum and use James Hird as a logo.
gringo2011 Mentioned sugar gliders, which can actually be quite vicious creatures eating baby birds.

Gave me a good laugh especially given the clubs history. ~6 months ago they hired a guy who compared abortion to the Holocaust and openly hates the gays, yet a logo is apparently offensive. Circus out at Tullamarine.

Anyway, time to work on my toxic masculinity in the gym whilst listening to some offensive 90's rap. Don't tell Essendon.

They once had our old GM rocking up with Brissie Lions plates to join admin, hence my inside scoop at the joint that I thoroughly enjoyed, especially the noise about what some thought of the Blues given rivalries.

Circus is an understatement and a half, if the Dodo wasn't emulating the namesake and being a dire ******* half the time they'd almost surpass the Blues level of knives out with the factionalism. Only since he is a moron of the highest order, it's more a shit dance off akin to Pitch Perfect only with fat white blokes and no sense of rhythm.

Only question mark flags for me are the challenge flags as lets face it, that system was trash and it rewarded people for sucking the fat one but since they did well 4 weeks ago lets have another chance v the mob that might be buggered from days prior yeah? Great idea! And the second one is actually '09, as all involved knew well in advance what procedures were getting banned for what reasons and the AFL had the foresight to be "I know, I'll shift the GF to just before it's illegal for the lols" so that 3 years later they can act surprised when the Dons injected everyone and went "I have NFI what I'm doing but this chair spinning is fun!" to care about.

All this just after the Eagles went and won things whilst going "these white lines are tasty" and Cousins got to run away from uniforms to the Tigers to be a bastion of good bloke status with alcohol intake, we got the actual good bloke in Gardiner and Mainwaring went waaay to hard for the AFL to be all "we have no inherent drug problem in our systems". The 00's were just fun for the AFL to be as inept and "IDGAF" re integrity and how they viewed the league as a whole.

I don't exactly bemoan the Roys countback and zoning thing from ye olden days as in the teens shit happened until the roaring 40's with shorts blokes, mustache, and a penchant to scream gimmie, it was all just a bit shit for a large period there. But the covid hub times was really our time to shine, in the mire not knowing what time and when you might be playing in what location and sometimes not even knowing who your opponent might be if they had a positive test, that's gruelling on player health both physically and mentally to gee up every week or sit out and refresh on a dime. I'm just shitty we didn't manage to nab one as we just happened to have started rebuilding things and starting again in footy dept.

Essendon Pride

Urgh but what about Carlton championing depression, GWS discriminating against little people, Melbourne's and St Kilda's out of touch religious affiliations, Port Adelaide's toxic masculinity, and Western's use of a dangerous species of dog as mascot?

No wonder right-thinking Aussie families are deserting the AFL in droves, we need more SM influencers in charge.

Essendon Pride

Urgh but what about Carlton championing depression, GWS discriminating against little people, Melbourne's and St Kilda's out of touch religious affiliations, Port Adelaide's toxic masculinity, and Western's use of a dangerous species of dog as mascot?

No wonder right-thinking Aussie families are deserting the AFL in droves, we need more SM influencers in charge.
The whole thing is ridiculous.
And the more we pander, the more often it will be demanded.
A little over some of this political correctness and cancelling of books and movies etc left, right and centre. History happened. And those who forget it are doomed to repeat it.

lets see..... bombers.

Essendon can still maintain their connection to flight while losing the toxic masculinity of warfare

xXBsIXl.jpg

Essendon Fisters 👊
Has a really strong non offensive vibe about it.

I was thinking since their move, the Tulla Tossers.

They can be like Bunnings and hold BBQ's only with sex toys to really fit the locale and vibe of the place.