Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

I know you are a fan but his kicking has always been pretty ordinary for a small midfielder. RTB has given him plenty of chances to find form, he just has no tank and the required two way running has exposed him.

His first half of last year was on the way to being elite. This season he's a shell of the player he was. I don't know what happened but he's not looking like a good fit for either party. Pretty happy for him to walk but still a shame not to get a decent return on investment and talent. We are selling at his lowest point. Just hope some remember what he was when they pay him.

I watched him closely in that Brisbane match. His two way running has improved from early in the year but he just looks like he's playing confused footy. He seems to have lost his instincts to play without overthinking it. He seems to be doing everything badly right now.

I have never known definitively which it is. Some pretty learned people say it as "Dower" including myself who I believe to be the most learned of them all. I reckon we'd be half a dozen Asahis down and be fist fighting about it.
If you're gonna be learned, you might as well sound it!
Give the traditional way a try at least, might be life changing. Hot girls especially dig it.

If you're gonna be learned, you might as well sound it!
Give the traditional way a try at least, might be life changing. Hot girls especially dig it.

They'll think that I'm saying doer. That said if these pedantic women are attractive, I'm very flexible with my pronunciation.

I know I'm fighting a losing battle and will die alone on this small sized hill, but the way commentators pronounce "dour" does my head in.
Rhymes with "tour" FFS.

F*** you all with your bogan variant pronunciations.
I guess you could take your pick?

Does dour rhyme with tour?

Or does dour rhyme with sour?

:laughing:

I guess you could take your pick?

Does dour rhyme with tour?

Or does dour rhyme with sour?

:laughing:

I ended up having a google looks like both are right but Luca might be right that it's more common to say "Dower" in the last century but originally it was rhyming with Tour.

The speaker on my dictionary app on my phone pronounces it as per “tour.“

In honour of our little Essendon thread flashback we have Mr Shiel bringing further embarrassment to himself and the club

pC7Q2ti.gif

I know I'm fighting a losing battle and will die alone on this small sized hill, but the way commentators pronounce "dour" does my head in.
Rhymes with "tour" FFS.

F*** you all with your bogan variant pronunciations.
Listen to Whateley then he pronounces it do-er

Cracking Up Lol GIF

Adam Kingsley clearly attended the Brett Ratten coaching masterclass

1690454670384.png