News 2023 St Kilda Media Thread

Garbage, it was Elshaug. Lethlean sacked Elshaug. Thank god.

Elshaugh's guys were mostly moved on in that time. We don't have heaps left from that period, Lethlean made a masses of list changes.

I think there is 9 players left from the year before SL arrived. He reviewed that list and chased established players to replace guys like Bruce, Newnes, Acres, Hickey, Lonie etc. The jury's out on how much of an upgrade it was. Hill, Howard, Butler and plenty of older state league players like Hind, Parker, Highmore etc.

Probably would have been better going hard at the draft with such a small core to work off. I guess his idea was to stay competitive while doing a pretty serious rebuild. If that was the case he's been somewhat successful because we've sat mid table for a long time.

Gun VFL player. He just lacked speed, kicking penetration, and body size for the next level up. Otherwise, he would have done it at the AFL level too.

I reckon he could have been a good player in a better side. He used to go back to Sandy and play outside the forward 50 and dominate. If he'd had a more creative coach he probably could have been a player.

Alright I know we've had a bad run of form but Kornes and Buckley openly laughing at the fact we are still in the 8 and smugly saying that it would basically be a bye for the team that gets us in the finals makes me desperately want us to make finals now. Ross said one of the reasons to come back was to try and bring some respect back to the club, well it hasn't happened yet.

Agree with what you’ve said and Max Laughton with his stupid “power rankings” can jam it too… 15th position pfft

15. ST KILDA (11-8, 106.5%)

Last week’s ranking:

We’re still comfortable putting the Saints all the way down here - partially because we can’t exactly move them up when Gold Coast and Fremantle just beat much better teams than Hawthorn. It was great to finally see them kick a big score, but a lot of that was the opposition, and so they remain in this really weird position. As we tweeted on Sunday, there’s a massive gap between their reality (5th with four rounds left, haven’t been outside the top six all year) and perception (they’re not playing well). In a way it’s simple - they sured up their position by starting 6-2, and since then they’ve beaten the bottom three plus gotten somewhat lucky in close wins over GWS (who were a worse side at the time) and Sydney (who gave up a bunch of 50s late). The response from a few people to that tweet was “the ladder doesn’t lie”. We think any sensible person would argue it does. That doesn’t mean St Kilda wouldn’t deserve to play finals if they qualify - just that, in our view, they’re not good enough to actually do anything come September.

The response from a few people to that tweet was “the ladder doesn’t lie”. We think any sensible person would argue it does. That doesn’t mean St Kilda wouldn’t deserve to play finals if they qualify - just that, in our view, they’re not good enough to actually do anything come September.
What's dumb about that statement is if we are good enough to beat two of Carlton, Richmond or Geelong to make finals, then we are good enough to beat the team we would face week one of the finals since those are the types of teams we would be up against.

Agree with what you’ve said and Max Laughton with his stupid “power rankings” can jam it too… 15th position pfft

Last week’s ranking:

We’re still comfortable putting the Saints all the way down here - partially because we can’t exactly move them up when Gold Coast and Fremantle just beat much better teams than Hawthorn. It was great to finally see them kick a big score, but a lot of that was the opposition, and so they remain in this really weird position. As we tweeted on Sunday, there’s a massive gap between their reality (5th with four rounds left, haven’t been outside the top six all year) and perception (they’re not playing well). In a way it’s simple - they sured up their position by starting 6-2, and since then they’ve beaten the bottom three plus gotten somewhat lucky in close wins over GWS (who were a worse side at the time) and Sydney (who gave up a bunch of 50s late). The response from a few people to that tweet was “the ladder doesn’t lie”. We think any sensible person would argue it does. That doesn’t mean St Kilda wouldn’t deserve to play finals if they qualify - just that, in our view, they’re not good enough to actually do anything come September.
Yeah just completely dismiss our good wins to suit his narrative. GWS were not a worse side at the time, they played well that day, we were just better. I bet he thought Richmond's win against the Giants the week after we played them was good as well as the Tigers win against Hawthorn last week as well. We also dominated the last quarter against Sydney in Buddy's 350th and those 50's were absolutely legitimate.

We are usually much better after being completely written off and the underdog so it should suit us in the run in.

I am afraid that I have quite a divergence of views with you re Wilson.
There’s no such thing as “quality” journalism in the AFL world, particularly in the mainstream media.
She is the avatar for that lack of quality.
Though if Patrick Smythe was still around, he would rival her.
Her pitch, brand if you will, is to represent that “quality” niche in the AFL world.
Yet her journalism consists of unattributed innuendo and moralistic pontification.
Personality driven, Hollywood gossip.
Which is exactly what she delivered in that article.
She is worse than the Kane Cornes of this world.
At least Cornes is unashamedly tabloid click bait.
Wilson clothes her journalism in broadsheet faux high morality and outrage.

If you want good football journalism, read The Mongrel Punt.
The mongrel punt is an excellent read!

Brad Crouch on RSN breakfast with Harf 2/8

Yeah just completely dismiss our good wins to suit his narrative. GWS were not a worse side at the time, they played well that day, we were just better. I bet he thought Richmond's win against the Giants the week after we played them was good as well as the Tigers win against Hawthorn last week as well. We also dominated the last quarter against Sydney in Buddy's 350th and those 50's were absolutely legitimate.

We are usually much better after being completely written off and the underdog so it should suit us in the run in.
Can we win the premiership this year - easy answer - No

If we make the finals, have a decent run with injury and can build on the game style we started to show against Hawthorn - can we win a final (or with a decent bit of luck 2) - absolutely!

Here’s one for the St Kilda sceptics who think the ladder may be lying as a different top eight seems to lob like Tattslotto numbers after every round of football.
Between rounds nine and 16 this season the Saints stayed anchored in fifth spot, despite winning just three of the seven games they played in that period and not stringing together two consecutive wins.
No one could dislodge them as they became the AFL’s Jenga masters on the fringes of the top four.

Each week they held on to the spot by percentage and each week, until the days before round 16, that percentage became smaller bit by bit – holding a lead on percentage of 18.3 over the Western Bulldogs after round nine. The percentage gap narrowed to 11.5, then 9.6 per cent, before the Bombers took up the chase from sixth spot with the gap at 8.7 per cent.
They then closed within 6.3, but the Saints held firm, somehow clinging to fifth as the gap dropped to 2.2 after round 15. The Bulldogs then jumped back into sixth as the Saints stormed clear to create a buffer of 4.1 per cent.
Can Ross Lyon lead the Saints into the finals in 2023?

Can Ross Lyon lead the Saints into the finals in 2023?CREDIT:AFL PHOTOS
Alas, it could not last, could it? The Saints then lost to Melbourne, Essendon beat Adelaide, and Collingwood beat the Bulldogs to switch positions, with Essendon taking fifth (by .03 per cent) and St Kilda sixth while the Bulldogs fell to seventh.
The Saints’ ride as the peloton leader of those scrambling for spots outside the top four appeared over when Geelong jumped to fifth, and for the first time since round eight more than mere percentage separated fifth and sixth.

Saints coach Ross Lyon could see the humour in the assumption that the Saints were tumbling down the ladder like they had landed on a snake in the board game, telling Fox Footy after defeating North Melbourne: “You hear the narrative and then I click on [to look at the ladder] and think ‘oh, we are sixth, how does that happen?’,” Lyon said. “Everyone tells me the ladder doesn’t lie. Does it lie?”
The Bulldogs claimed fifth after round 18, just ahead of St Kilda, but this mob might be tougher than we think under Lyon’s coaching and, by the end of round 20, or as Snap Shot refers to it, upsy-down-town round, the Saints reclaimed their spot in fifth place, again on the same points as sixth but this time with a lead on percentage of 4.1 over a new chaser, Greater Western Sydney.
So, it’s all there for the Saints as they play Carlton in round 21, with a loss to the Blues certain to again dislodge Lyon’s men from fifth spot.
Meanwhile, throughout that time, Collingwood, Port Adelaide, the Brisbane Lions and Melbourne have remained in the top four since round nine.
Poor Essendon got tired chasing St Kilda and are 13th after dropping three games, while neither Sydney nor Richmond have been in the top eight since round five.

What's dumb about that statement is if we are good enough to beat two of Carlton, Richmond or Geelong to make finals, then we are good enough to beat the team we would face week one of the finals since those are the types of teams we would be up against.
It’s almost the perfect draw. To make it we’ll probably have win a couple of games and none of them are going to be easy. And if we do get there we’ll be prepared for whatever happens beyond that.

Mason Wood on Sportsday with Cornes and Gerard Healy 2/8

Last week’s ranking:

F*ck me, Bucks and Cornes with their shite, and now this?
We're far from a finished product, have had injuries all year, and yes...admittedly a form drop, but NO...the ladder doesn't lie. It is specifically designed to NOT lie. If it did then GC and GWS would be multi premiership teams, and clubs such as Essendon and Carlton powerhouse versions of Geelong over the past 10 years.
Guess what...Reality.