krakouers
Certified with Bonz Tick of Approval
- Sep 13, 2011
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
- Other Teams
- Claremont
Looking into the crystal ball I conclude Brady is either out shopping for a new blouse or he's going to recruit that guy from Trailer Park Boys
t wasn’t Phoenix’s height that was the problem. It was his heart.If we go for Watson, I just hope he doesn't have a career like Spicer where he just seemed too small for AFL football (yes, I am aware they are vastly different in talent levels), Currently listed as 1+inch shorter and lighter than Phoenix.
Anyone got any insight as to how he's gone playing against men?
I would go Reid Curtin if they took Mckertcher. That being said Watson is a perfect fit for us.If we're at 2 & 3 then I'd be happy with McKercher and Duursma.
But if we're at 1 & 3, and Eagles take McKercher, then I'd go Reid and Watson.
I know that it doesn't make sense but
To the draft watchers who does he compare with from the previous drafts?
Souup roos_fanatic08 Sphynx
I was thinking Jarrod Berry, plays multiple positions, strong overhead and good athleticism. Not elite in any categories, but very good in all.
Looks better by foot than Berry though.
From shifters tall defender profiles
Zane Zakostelsky
Pronunciation: Zac-oh-stel-ski
State: Western Australia
State League Club: Claremont
Community Club: North Beach
Date of Birth: 14/12/05
Height: 196cm
Tall defender and ruckman who developed rapidly as the year progressed. Was selected in the final two games for Western Australia at the National Championships with his incept marking a feature. Was a consistent performer for Claremont at Colts level averaging 15.2 disposals in 13 matches and was best on ground in the club’s Grand Final win with 22 disposals and 14 hitouts. Followed up that performance by being one of the athletic stars of the National Combine. His standing vertical jump of 80cm ranked number one overall along with producing top-six times in the agility test (8.23 seconds) and 20m sprint (2.95 seconds). Potential Draft bolter who doesn’t turn 18 years until mid-December so has plenty of upside.
I knew he only played footy for 2 years from bball but I didn’t realise he is also a December bday. That’s Uber underdeveloped, matched with his Uber athletic profile and you are really looking at the POTENTIAL for something special. I haven’t seen much of him, infact I’ve only seen his best on ground WAFL colts game and the WA games. But his body work in the ruck in the final was eye catching. He really knew what he was doing in one on one body work. Bodes very well as a full back when you consider his insane leap and speed. Has to be a contender for pick 18 imo.
Wil Dawson
State: Victoria Country
State League Club: Gippsland Power
Community Club: Leongatha
Date of Birth: 20/12/05
Height: 200cm
Developed as a potential tall defender throughout the year but also played up forward and in the ruck. Still developing physically having grown 20cm in the past two years but has maintained his ability at ground level, where he is clean below the knees. Doesn’t turn 18 until late December making him only just eligible for this year’s Draft. Showed distinct promise in his 13 games for the Gippsland Power in the Coates Talent League as well as for Victoria Country, where he displayed aggression and intensity in the way he attacked the ball.
20cm in the last two years? Borderline too young for the draft? 200cm defender that also kicked 3 up forward for vic country? A very good contested mark? Aggression and intensity?
Me likey
THE ‘FOOTY HEAD’ IN KANGAROOS’ SIGHTS
How bad do you want him WCE?THE ‘FOOTY HEAD’ IN KANGAROOS’ SIGHTS
Top-five draft prospect Colby McKercher raised eyebrows when he said at a press conference during the draft combine that he didn’t have a favourite AFL team anymore.
However, that is not to say that the 180cm Tasmanian midfielder does not watch much footy.
Quite the opposite is the case for the self-proclaimed “footy head”.
“I’ve been pretty busy with travelling this year so I’ve probably only watched probably three or four games (a week) but when I was playing footy at home or had a week off I’d probably watch nearly seven,” McKercher said.
“I kind of take bits out of Nick Dacos’ game, Zac Butters, Connor Rozee, Errol Gulden, Chad Warner – those kind of guys. They’re quite dynamic midfielders and I watch them quite closely.”
McKercher sat out testing at the national draft combine earlier this month due to minor foot injury, but clubs already knew just want an athlete he is with his speed and agility.
The left-footer has firmly sat as a top-five prospect since the start of the year given his athletic attributes, elite decision making and ability to be damaging inside and outside of the contest.
“Whoever gets their hands on him is going to have a beauty,” one recruiter said.
McKercher is believed to be firmly in the frame for North Melbourne, if the Kangaroos hold onto picks two and three in this year’s draft.
“I’m not too bothered about destinations or picks or anything like that,” McKercher said.
“I’m just going to go with the flow and keep training and wherever I end up, I end up. I’m going to be over the moon.”
Colby McKercher doesn’t support a single team but loves watching AFL footy. Picture: Michael Klein
I’d much rather Dawson than Zakostelsky.
ZZ’s athletic profile is good, but his footy fundamentals like kicking, handballing and decision making are terrible. Yes they can improve but what you are starting with as a base is so low. When he has any pressure on him it’s just dump kicks and handballs to no one. It takes so much to unteach those sorts of things.
Dawson’s biggest asset is that he id a competitor, love seeing that in the big men. Again it’s not something that you can develop in a player, you either have it or you don’t. The fact that he is so young too, is a big selling point. Tonnes of upside and he does all the basics so well for someone his size. Could see him developing into a Harris Andrews style key defender (although I think he prefers to play forward)
How bad do you want him WCE?
Don't forget we hold picks 2 & 3.
If you deal with anyone else not only will you miss out on Harley, you'll miss Colby also.
I've watched a fair bit of footage of ZZ.
I don't really see "it" tbh.
He's played most of his footy as an undersized ruck. He moves like a mobile ruck like Bailey Williams rather than a hyper athletic KPD.
He's going to be an extremely slow burn.
I think I'd rather others with the capital it will cost. He's probably a good selection for WCE, as he can play plenty of WAFL and learn off Barrass and McGovern in his first 2 years on a list.
I didn't really like Rawlings explanations around our ruck stocks, It really seems like either Clarko or the recruiting staff have gone cold on the ruck position in general. Rawlings has seemed to indicate that he's happy with Xerri, CCJ, Free and Biggie as break glass backup.
I think that's a massive mistake. Xerri is a backup AFL ruckman, at best imo.
There's 3 really excellent ruck prospects that will be likely available at our last pick. All with really elite athletic profiles for their size.
Edwards is 206cm with a 94cm running vertical and a 3.00 second 20m. That means he has close to the same running vertical reach as Nic Natanui with that height and that vertical combo.
His speed is then similar to Zane Duursma and Harley Reid.
I think we are insane to pass up all of Edwards, Green or Goad.
Our pick 15 will be 19 based on that order.If Darcy Wilson goes at 15 we should be all over him. Another developing hard runner would be amazing.
I really rate Windsor, but I don't see any scenario where he gets picked before Wilson.
I also don't understand the love for Charlie Edwards, I don't think his game transitions well into the AFL, he isn't a big strong bash and crash inside mid and he isn't all that damaging on the outside, his height is his point of difference but fellow tall mids Clay Hall and Joel Freijah are far superior to him and have better athletic profiles.
I know they all can't fit, but it's interesting that in his top 30 he doesn't have the following players:
Joel Freijah, Clay Hall, Arie Schoemaker, Angus Hastie, Jack Delean, or Lual Luamon
The Nostradamus and I are really keen!Any appetite out there for a gathering at Brew Pub in Clifton Hill for draft night? Beers at happy hour prices and door prizes, would be out the back in the Roo Room? Just an idea at this stage, if it’s going ahead I’ll post info in the Clifton Hill Roo Pub Thread
Once again how the media hype tries to influence the draft. The media and Twomey gets on someone then 99% start talking about the player like they’ve seen heaps of footage and back the hype. I agree with Sphynx I said 3 or 4 weeks ago he was undersized and had no real weapons that I have seen. Having said this no doubt the kid has got some upside but pls, let’s be real folks. We should start hype on here about a backend draft prospect and the media will probably jump on it. Tew is another one. If his brother wasn’t CJ he would not be in the top 50.I've watched a fair bit of footage of ZZ.
I don't really see "it" tbh.
He's played most of his footy as an undersized ruck. He moves like a mobile ruck like Bailey Williams rather than a hyper athletic KPD.
He's going to be an extremely slow burn.
I think I'd rather others with the capital it will cost. He's probably a good selection for WCE, as he can play plenty of WAFL and learn off Barrass and McGovern in his first 2 years on a list.
I didn't really like Rawlings explanations around our ruck stocks, It really seems like either Clarko or the recruiting staff have gone cold on the ruck position in general. Rawlings has seemed to indicate that he's happy with Xerri, CCJ, Free and Biggie as break glass backup.
I think that's a massive mistake. Xerri is a backup AFL ruckman, at best imo. CCJ has played maybe 6 qtrs in his entire AFL career as a first ruck and Free has never played an AFL game.
There's 3 really excellent ruck prospects that will be likely available at our last pick. All with really elite athletic profiles for their size.
Edwards is 206cm with a 94cm running vertical and a 3.00 second 20m. That means he has close to the same running vertical reach as Nic Natanui with that height and that vertical combo.
His speed is then similar to Zane Duursma and Harley Reid.
I think we are insane to pass up all of Edwards, Green or Goad.
Now none of these will make a difference next year, but they will in 3-4 years when we are finals contenders.
I reckon Twomey is on the mark with the top 15 but after that it’s a raffle. After this I would question his opinion.If Darcy Wilson goes at 15 we should be all over him. Another developing hard runner would be amazing.
I really rate Windsor, but I don't see any scenario where he gets picked before Wilson.
I also don't understand the love for Charlie Edwards, I don't think his game transitions well into the AFL, he isn't a big strong bash and crash inside mid and he isn't all that damaging on the outside, his height is his point of difference but fellow tall mids Clay Hall and Joel Freijah are far superior to him and have better athletic profiles.
I know they all can't fit, but it's interesting that in his top 30 he doesn't have the following players:
Joel Freijah, Clay Hall, Arie Schoemaker, Angus Hastie, Jack Delean, or Lual Luamon
You two can have yourselves a playdate.The Nostradamus and I are really keen!
It'd be less Twomey's actual opinion and moreso information he's getting in the industry.I reckon Twomey is on the mark with the top 15 but after that it’s a raffle. After this I would question his opinion.