List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

• This poll will close: .

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
Name a team with a shallower pool of under 23 year old talent than West Coast other than Richmond.

Maybe Collingwood, but they’re in a different stage of their cycle.

Scary thing is our rebuild hasn’t even begun yet.
The priority should be filling the stocks with genuine talent. We’re holding out hope that the likes of Archer Reid, Williams, Hough, Maric, Long turn into 150+ game players. The signs are worrying with many of them - Brockman looks miles off it. And Chesser can’t get near it.
Cringe Laughing GIF by The World's Strongest Man

I think this poster is watching replays of our 2022/2023 games, who says no?

If anyone is interested in something other than responding to Sam McClure, with the MSD approaching I think it’s probably worth looking at which players would suit our list needs. The best prospects I see for us in order of preference would be:
  1. Ben Hopkins 190cm Dandenong HBF
  2. Noah Howes 196cm South Adelaide KPF
  3. Tarkyn O’Leary 178cm Sandringham Wing
  4. Will McLachlan 185cm Geelong HFF
  5. Jack Hutchinson 190cm Collingwood HFF
  6. Dayten Uerata 185cm Bendigo MID
Hopkins has had a great start to the year in the CTL running out of defence. Needs to put a lot of work into his frame but would definitely suit a position of need for us with our lack of quality HBFs. Howes has a history of injury at the wrong time but has performed very well at SANFL level this year and is a good size. We are well stocked for KPFs but I think this is the exact type of player with a big ceiling to go for with a MSD pick. Obviously medical due diligence needs to be done. O’Leary was previously linked to us in the draft and given our lack of wingers could be a good pick up. McLachlan and Hutchinson are probably higher on most club’s boards in terms of ability but I don’t really see how they fit a need for us as high flying medium forwards. Uerata has had a good year but closer observers have indicated that he isn’t a plug and play type and will take time, which as a mid probably doesn’t fit our needs at the moment from the MSD.

Name a club with a shallower talent pool of under-23 year olds than West Coast.

We're further from a flag than North and Hawks. Maybe not Richmond.

Name a team with a shallower pool of under 23 year old talent than West Coast other than Richmond.

Maybe Collingwood, but they’re in a different stage of their cycle.

Scary thing is our rebuild hasn’t even begun yet. The priority should be filling the stocks with genuine talent. We’re holding out hope that the likes of Archer Reid, Williams, Hough, Maric, Long turn into 150+ game players. The signs are worrying with many of them - Brockman looks miles off it. And Chesser can’t get near it.

Have a third go.

MSD:

Rule Longy out for 24' and bring in:

Will Snelling former Ess player doing really well at Sturt. Leading disposal winner in SANFL and 2nd in tackles.

Bring him in for a lifeline. Pressure fwd/mid chop out

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Will have to see what clubs value, a top 4 pick is far more valuable to Gold Coast than pick 8 and 9 for example. At the end of the day if we can turn our 1R into Jagga/Draper/Moraes and Travaglia, at this stage I’m taking it.
I'd definitely be keen for Jagga Smith + Tobie Travaglia as an alternative to Finn O'Sullivan.

There is talk of big offers for Reid already and I reckon the Eagles should be serious about considering them. Arguably his value has significantly increased since draft night already. And with the drop off being so huge between him and the majority of the youth at the club (not) coming through it’s almost a no brainer to consider getting a treasure chest of high end draft picks while we can before Tassie dilutes the market, and get serious about this rebuild. It has to happen now. We could still be in for a decade of bottom feeding finishes relying on decaying seniors and dire depth of quality youth.

He’s made it pretty clear he wants to be in Victoria long term.

The nuffs who are naive/ignorant about the state of our list will disagree but this the reality - the list is stuffed and these are the type of huge decisions we need to make.
Had to be posted:

MSD:

Rule Longy out for 24' and bring in:

Will Snelling former Ess player doing really well at Sturt. Leading disposal winner in SANFL and 2nd in tackles.

Bring him in for a lifeline. Pressure fwd/mid chop out

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Hard no. He just doesnt have it afl level.

If were going to tbe MSD, pick a kid with upside.

Unless FOS explodes at the champs I think it would be a great result. You know Tobie’s game better than most, would his body and game be ready for AFL level next year or more of a slow burn?
Tobie's 187cm and still growing. He's a bit of a twig though.
Tobie's key attributes are his overhead marking as well as his elite endurance. I think that might put him in good stead to be in the frame early, however, as stated above, once he starts filling out (he's probably about 70kg atm) he'll be an entirely different prospect. That is unlikely to be early on in his first year though.

I know that Jagga Smith is getting a bit maligned in these parts.
But if you look at what our conditioning team have been able to do with Hough, Chesser and Ginbey in about one season I'd be fairly confident that both could get to a physical standard required of AFL players.

For Jagga, if that was to occur, that would alleviate one of the two main criticisms about him. The other being his field kicking, which the issues with it are overstated and he is definitely better than say a Ginbey at this point.
He is also a ball hog, which apparently we're short on. Add that to his elite work around the contests and, if he has a good Champs, I'd rate him better than Sanders and not far off McKercher.

Hard no. He just doesnt have it afl level.

If were going to tbe MSD, pick a kid with upside.
I'd say go with Oskar Smartt.
He's got awesome form on the board. Was BOG last week against Vic Country and then in the best against Vic Metro as well after great form with Essendon's VFL side. His form honestly is better than Maric's was last year.
However, his off-field behaviour was a real issue last year and the jury is out if he's turned it around in 6-8 months.

jagga smith screams chris masten clone with all those circles

Cooper Hynes had a huge game for the Stingrays against the Suns Academy and took out the rookieme player of the week as a result. Cooper is a strong and bullocking mid/fwd who knows how to use his size and strength to gain advantage in marking contests and win contested footy.

Noobermensch love your work, 1 suggestion if its avaliable have heights and weight under their names

Small inside midfielder does scream pre-draft Chris Masten, but Masten was also a premiership winger for us and played 200+ games. If you could guarantee that going in you’d be pretty happy.

Just because he might not end up in the initial position he might have played a lot of junior footy in doesn’t mean he doesn’t have AFL high level traits.

I still think he projects more like Lachie Ash and ends up off the HBF. But again, it’s probably an area we could use some shoring up in also.

Ed Allan and Angus Sheldrick both going quite well in the VFL , recommended as options to boost our list in thewest .
Cheap options if we have the spots available .

Allen in particular would not come cheap. Pies would want near enough top 20 pick for him. Sheldrick probably similar.

I'd say go with Oskar Smartt.
He's got awesome form on the board. Was BOG last week against Vic Country and then in the best against Vic Metro as well after great form with Essendon's VFL side. His form honestly is better than Maric's was last year.
However, his off-field behaviour was a real issue last year and the jury is out if he's turned it around in 6-8 months.
He's my pick, very talented. I've watched both games now of Young Guns, some talent in there but he stood out most followed by McLachlan.
What do you know of his off field behavior?