Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin - 2025 Sole Captain

Dont remind me of that trade. Getting more frustrated at it every week.
CCJ may come good soon. Lets be honest I didn't think Xerri would do what he has done and in that context CCJ was a good move. We needed someone to cover for Goldy.

Correct, but theres a joker in the pack in Edwards too.

Im keen to give CCJ time, but his round 1 effort was deplorable.

In reality, the trade has benefited Xerri to no end. He has obviously taken it as a rocket and improved dramatically, which says a lot about his character.

Correct, but theres a joker in the pack in Edwards too.

Im keen to give CCJ time, but his round 1 effort was deplorable.

In reality, the trade has benefited Xerri to no end. He has obviously taken it as a rocket and improved dramatically, which says a lot about his character.

Now its going to be a battle to keep him.

Jy Simpkin – 100 games
The 131st player to play 100 AFL/VFL games for the North Melbourne Football Club

Played: 99 Won: 33 Drawn: 1 Lost: 65

Game 1 – Round 1, 2017 v West Coast (Docklands). West Coast 21.10-136 d. North Melbourne 13.15-93
Game 50 – Round 17, 2019 v Essendon (Docklands). Essendon 12.14-86 d. North Melbourne 12.9-81

Disposals
Game High: 38 (Round 9, 2021 v Hawthorn)
Season High: 592 (2021)

Kicks
Game High: 23 (Round 17, 2021 v West Coast)
Season High: 325 (2021)

Handballs
Game High: 20 (Round 7 2019 v Carlton, Round 16 2019 v St.Kilda, Round 18 2020 v West Coast)
Season High: 267 (2021)

Marks
Game High: 9 (Round 3, 2021 v Western Bulldogs)
Season High: 96 (2021)

Goals: 38 Behinds: 31​

Brownlow Medal Games
Round 16, 2019 v St.Kilda – 1 vote
Round 1, 2020 v St.Kilda – 2 votes
Round 3, 2020 v Sydney – 3 votes
Round 4, 2020 v Hawthorn – 2 votes
Round 10, 2020 v Geelong – 1 vote
Round 19, 2021 v Carlton – 1 vote

Finals:
Nil (The first NMFC player to reach 100 games without playing a final since Leigh Adams – 2014)

Most Consecutive Games: 59 (Round 7, 2019 v Carlton to - )
Has played 99 of 109 games since debut

Honours

Club Brownlow Best 2020 (8 votes)
Club Vice-Captain 2020-
Best & Fairest 2021

Indigenous Australians to play 100 games for NMFC
Daniel Wells - 243 games (2002-16)
Lindsay Thomas – 205 games (2007-17)
Phil Krakouer – 141 games (1982-89)
Jim Krakouer – 134 games (1982-89)
Byron Pickett – 120 games (1997-2002)
Barry Cable – 115 games (1970-77)

Jy Simpkin – 100 games
The 131st player to play 100 AFL/VFL games for the North Melbourne Football Club

Game 1 – Round 1, 2017 v West Coast (Docklands). West Coast 21.10-136 d. North Melbourne 13.15-93
Game 50 – Round 17, 2019 v Essendon (Docklands). Essendon 12.14-86 d. North Melbourne 12.9-81

Disposals
Game High: 38 (Round 9, 2021 v Hawthorn)
Season High: 592 (2021)

Kicks
Game High: 23 (Round 17, 2021 v West Coast)
Season High: 325 (2021)

Handballs
Game High: 20 (Round 7 2019 v Carlton, Round 16 2019 v St.Kilda, Round 18 2020 v West Coast)
Season High: 267 (2021)

Marks
Game High: 9 (Round 3, 2021 v Western Bulldogs)
Season High: 96 (2021)

Goals: 38 Behinds: 31​

Brownlow Medal Games

Finals:
Nil (The first NMFC player to reach 100 games without playing a final since Leigh Adams – 2014)

Most Consecutive Games: 59 (Round 7, 2019 v Carlton to - )
Has played 99 of 109 games since debut

Honours

Club Brownlow Best 2020 (8 votes)
Club Vice-Captain 2020-
Best & Fairest 2021

What an awesome list of players:

I wonder which club has the most indigenous players to reach 100 games? Just tried to check but couldn’t find anything.
Have to be us or Essendon perhaps?
Def not the Hawks.
In hindsight, you see why Jed left the Hawks… and came here.

Brownlow Medal Games

Finals:

Takeaways:

We really don't like milestone games these days
A very good young North player probably has the same career Brownlow votes as some random Carlton tagger
Jy must be thrilled to take that title off Patch

Takeaways:

We really don't like milestone games these days
A very good young North player probably has the same career Brownlow votes as some random Carlton tagger
Jy must be thrilled to take that title off Patch

At least Patch was part of a team that made the 2007, 2008 and 2012 final even if he didn't play in any of them. The last player to reach 100 games for NMFC before NMFC could make finals at all was John Longmire in 1993.

Herald sun
I WANT TO LEAD ROOVIVAL
100-game Jy ready to step up
MARC McGOWAN
NORTH Melbourne vice-captain Jy Simpkin wants to play a leading role in the Kangaroos no longer being “pushovers”.

Simpkin knows what people say after results like the 108-point defeat to Brisbane a fortnight ago, or last year’s 128-point Good Friday massacre at the Western Bulldogs’ hands.

At age 24, he is already one of North’s best footballers, evidenced in consecutive top-two finishes in the club’s Syd Barker Medal, including winning it last year.

But Simpkin, who will play his 100th game in the rebranded Good Friday Super- Clash with the Dogs, craves team success to go with the individual accolades.

“I turned 24 only a couple of weeks ago but there’s no doubt I feel like an older guy at the club,” he said.

“I have to lead the way for these younger guys. I was talking to someone not long ago and they were saying how the younger guys go in and out of games.

“But you look back to the older guys at the end of the day and if they’re not leading by example and not playing good footy, then the younger guys don’t have much hope.”

It’s words like those, as well as his daily actions at Arden Street, that have convinced Kangaroos insiders that Simpkin could be Jack Ziebell’s successor as captain as soon as next season.

Luke McDonald shares the vice-captaincy with Simpkin, who would relish the opportunity to be the next face of the football club.

“I do have leadership ambitions but I don’t get too caught up in who’s captain or who’s going to be the next captain,” he said.

“I love ‘Ziebs’ as my captain and I’d back him in every day to keep being skipper.

“We’ve also got guys like Luke McDonald, who’s also respected very highly within the group and very easily could be our next captain as well. I’m not looking too far into the future with that stuff.”

Simpkin is the centrepiece of a new-age North Melbourne midfield brimming with talent, including No.1 draft pick Jason Horne-Francis and fellow firstround selections Luke Davies- Uniacke, Will Phillips and Tarryn Thomas.

Like him, he expects they will take time to blossom but will eventually form a “damaging” centre-square combination.

Simpkin, fresh from winning 30-plus disposals in backto-back games, has designs on joining the game’s elite midfielders and was typically frank about what he needed to do to get there.

“I find a bit of the footy but at times it’s not very damaging,” he said. “You see all the best midfielders run and carry and hit the scoreboard, so I’m trying to incorporate that into my game a bit more.

“I’ve already hit the scoreboard more this year (three goals in four matches) than I did for the whole season last year, which is a positive sign.

“It’s a mindset change, too. Growing up, I’ve never really been one to run and carry with the ball as much, whereas now I feel like I have the ability with my running capacity to be able to do that.” marc.mcgowan@news.com.au

Attachments

• 0C451197-4860-47BF-8D08-09A684E4C8BF.jpeg
    0C451197-4860-47BF-8D08-09A684E4C8BF.jpeg
    347.1 KB · Views: 34
Herald sun
I WANT TO LEAD ROOVIVAL
100-game Jy ready to step up
MARC McGOWAN
NORTH Melbourne vice-captain Jy Simpkin wants to play a leading role in the Kangaroos no longer being “pushovers”.

Simpkin knows what people say after results like the 108-point defeat to Brisbane a fortnight ago, or last year’s 128-point Good Friday massacre at the Western Bulldogs’ hands.

At age 24, he is already one of North’s best footballers, evidenced in consecutive top-two finishes in the club’s Syd Barker Medal, including winning it last year.

But Simpkin, who will play his 100th game in the rebranded Good Friday Super- Clash with the Dogs, craves team success to go with the individual accolades.

“I turned 24 only a couple of weeks ago but there’s no doubt I feel like an older guy at the club,” he said.

“I have to lead the way for these younger guys. I was talking to someone not long ago and they were saying how the younger guys go in and out of games.

“But you look back to the older guys at the end of the day and if they’re not leading by example and not playing good footy, then the younger guys don’t have much hope.”

It’s words like those, as well as his daily actions at Arden Street, that have convinced Kangaroos insiders that Simpkin could be Jack Ziebell’s successor as captain as soon as next season.

Luke McDonald shares the vice-captaincy with Simpkin, who would relish the opportunity to be the next face of the football club.

“I do have leadership ambitions but I don’t get too caught up in who’s captain or who’s going to be the next captain,” he said.

“I love ‘Ziebs’ as my captain and I’d back him in every day to keep being skipper.

“We’ve also got guys like Luke McDonald, who’s also respected very highly within the group and very easily could be our next captain as well. I’m not looking too far into the future with that stuff.”

Simpkin is the centrepiece of a new-age North Melbourne midfield brimming with talent, including No.1 draft pick Jason Horne-Francis and fellow firstround selections Luke Davies- Uniacke, Will Phillips and Tarryn Thomas.

Like him, he expects they will take time to blossom but will eventually form a “damaging” centre-square combination.

Simpkin, fresh from winning 30-plus disposals in backto-back games, has designs on joining the game’s elite midfielders and was typically frank about what he needed to do to get there.

“I find a bit of the footy but at times it’s not very damaging,” he said. “You see all the best midfielders run and carry and hit the scoreboard, so I’m trying to incorporate that into my game a bit more.

“I’ve already hit the scoreboard more this year (three goals in four matches) than I did for the whole season last year, which is a positive sign.

“It’s a mindset change, too. Growing up, I’ve never really been one to run and carry with the ball as much, whereas now I feel like I have the ability with my running capacity to be able to do that.” marc.mcgowan@news.com.au
Could have sunk that regular snap from 40 out that didnt make the distance last week. Still filthy on that.

I wonder if/when we will see much of Jy on the wing.

It's crazy to think that he may not be in our preferred optimal midfield rotation (for me that's Cunners - LDU - JHF, which is no insult to Jy) and he has been carrying such a huge load for a long time. I reckon the space would do him good.
Noble played him off the wing at times last year. I reckon that will return when the midfield gets up to full strength.

I wonder if/when we will see much of Jy on the wing.

It's crazy to think that he may not be in our preferred optimal midfield rotation (for me that's Cunners - LDU - JHF, which is no insult to Jy) and he has been carrying such a huge load for a long time. I reckon the space would do him good.
Oof hard disagree mate. Last year he was one of the best centre square mids in the league, not to mention the Syd Barker medallist. He's a better footballer than LDU and JHF as it stands and second only to Cunners at the club.

I think he can play a role on the wing and is more versatile than Cunners and LDU, but he's still in our best centre square mix imo.

Anyway, great to see him get to 100. Here's to a 100 more of teh absolute quality that he's produced so far. ****ing jet of a footballer.

Player Watch #12: Jy Simpkin - 2025 Sole Captain