Past #12: Lindsay Thomas - released by NM to pursue rookie list spot at PA - thx4 everything Lindsay

tazaa;23750281[B said:
]Harper, Wells and Petrie whether it be by fatigue error or injury all had a hand in us losing on Saturday night.[/B]
LT did not.
Like i said if he was missing shots within 35 metres that is unforgivable.
But he didnt.
**** off for a couple of weeks.
Im astonished Brad Scott hasnt copped any criticism for what was clearly a very poor coaching performance.
c'mon, that's a stretch. He shanked a set shot in the 1st that was worse than any of the above players' misses. He also had a mark 40 out in the 2nd where he clearly didn't want to take a shot, so instead speared a short pass onto a Bomber player's chest.

He also did a lot of positive things, so I don't think he should be the scapegoat. But let's not pretend his goalkicking wasn't an issue.

c'mon, that's a stretch. He shanked a set shot in the 1st that was worse than any of the above players' misses. He also had a mark 40 out in the 2nd where he clearly didn't want to take a shot, so instead speared a short pass onto a Bomber player's chest.
That second kick from about 50 was to the fat side where HMac was attempting to lead into space. The first was unforgivable and frustrates the hell out of me because there is no excuse. The second was symptomatic of playing Ruckman at FF. Hmac had plenty of space but was simply to slow to effectively lead into it, perhaps Thomas should not have tried to hit him on the chest, but if it was Edwards or Petrie they would have been 2-3m clear of their opponent.

He also did a lot of positive things, so I don't think he should be the scapegoat. But let's not pretend his goalkicking wasn't an issue.

i definitely missed the 1st shot jacko since i got there quarter time.
But the game was still in its infancy.
His second shot was alot harder and he had no one to go to.
His pass to Hamish was good its just that the essendon player scrambling to get back turned around and the ball landed in his lap.
Harpers miss when we were up by 20, and Wells two set shots along with Petrie killing himself in the ruck all cost us.

His pass to Hamish was good its just that the essendon player scrambling to get back turned around and the ball landed in his lap.
Harpers miss when we were up by 20, and Wells two set shots along with Petrie killing himself in the ruck all cost us.

His first shet shot miss was awful - couldn't be worse actually. Thought the rest of his game was OK.

Wonder if any thought has gone into playing as a rebounding defender, bit like Johncock? Maybe a freshen up elsewhere on the ground might be just what needs, and give him a fresh start.

I'll take your word for it that he was trying to pass to H ; it wasn't apparent that he was kicking to anyone from where I sat.

I agree the others were also culpable (as were the coach & selectors!....as was the useless blonde who escorted Lovett-Murray as he had his shots at goal), so LT should not be the sole scapegoat.

It all comes down to game changing, momentum sapping moments which unfortunately for Lindsay, he is clearly our worst offender when it comes to ****ing up golden opportunities.

Campbell could have taken more steps and isolated Inspector Gadget ball watching and hit Edwards in front or on the fat side.

Harvey could have used the player steaming on his inside right and possibly would have kicked the winner over Gumby's head himself from 30.

I haven't read much of this fred, but I would have thought Lindsay Thomas was a long, long way down our list of problems on Saturday night.

It is gut wrenching when he f**** up his kicks, and we really do need him to get on top of it. But bloody hell, the guy reads the play very well, has improved his balance out of sight, and lays 2 tackles to everyone around him's collective 1.

After what has been an extraordinary few days, there has been some amazing things said and done around the Thomas-Rohan incident.
Frankly, I was quite appalled by the comments by some people who should know better...two in particular on one pay tv discussion show.
It's all very well for these two buffoons to make comments on football, but when one says "It was incumbent on the AFL to make a case for this one" because he wants it to be viewed as the same as the Goodes incident for his own reasons, when Blind Freddy can see it is not, is crossing the line.
It is not incumbent on the AFL to do anything, other than examine the case, in isolation, and determine if there is an offence.
The tribunal is there to judge guilt, it heard the evidence and found LT not guilty. Fortunately, the lynch mob these two blokes were rallying didn't get to LT first.
I wonder if the club should have a talk to these two blokes, because I believe their comments on LT painted him in a very negative light, very unfairly.
Perhaps the club should demand an apology?
They won't get one, but I think we owe LT the chance to fire a shot back across the bow.

Fair comment Scottywiper and I agree with your sentiments. I am pleased the club responded so quickly to lodge their appeal - that demonstrated real strength of commitment.
Some of the comments were bordering on hysterical especially from (former Swan) Gerard Healy. I just can't see where the Goodes and Thomas cases are similar in any way - totally different in fact. Comparisons became rather odious. However I am not sure what can be gained by any further public comment that might point back to individuals unless it is very subtle (dogwhistling). I hope the club is making their feelings known behind the scenes and think that is how it should be handled.

LT should leave it at that, he has come out of this well. The guys you are complaining about are there to give an opinion and just because it isn't pro North, doesn't mean they owe an apology at all. Otherwise everyone in the media would be apologising for crap every day.

Might serve them well to actually have to think about the implications of what they say, for once.
That said, it is probably best for the club, and LT, to just move on...I just wanted to throw it out there and see what others reckon.

"It was incumbent on the AFL to make a case for this one"

This is reckless character assassination in the name of television ratings. Period.

If clubs have to maintain a silence policy in relation to the tribunal, then it's time the reckless self serving cretins in the media were forced to follow suit.

FFS, Tony Mokbel can get his right against prejudice upheld in the Supreme Court of Victoria, but half witted so called AFL "journalists" can go on pre concieved lynching expeditions?

It's ****ing disgraceful!

The answer is YES, the club should step forward on this issue. A public apology at the very minimum is required here.

Thankfully LT got off that ridiculous charge. However, one interesting thing LT said in his defence was that he 'slipped', which does seem to be the case BUT what I'd like to know, was why was LT slipping over a lot more frequently than any other player for the rest of the game? What sort of footwear was he wearing? Any time he had to change direction, over he went and then he was out of the contest. Hopefully this is something he and the club can rectify. But yeah, very happy to see common sense prevail for a change.

What happened to not showing incidents till after the case is heard? I thought the idea was, at least in part, to avoid 'trial by media'. (In this case, however, the trial by social media probably helped LT.)

No point calling for a public apology. It wouldn't be forthcoming ; even if it were forced out of them, it would be blatantly insincere.

It's probably enough that the flogs who wanted to see Thomas punished finish up with egg on their face.

eg
* Robbo doing a clumsy backslip
* Healy & Roos looking as ill-researched, biased, uninformed and uninformative as ever.

Not sure why you can't just be happy with outcome and let it go. At the end of the day LT's actions snapped someone's ankle. The football world now view it as an 'accident' and you can move on.

It's alright for you to state that. If Thomas was an Essendon player the media lynching would never have occurred. Just look at Lonergan FFS.

But that ain't about to happen.

I'll tell you what mate, it DEFINATELY won't happen if we do nothing about it, and it is almost garaunteed to happen again if we do nothing about it.

I'm not buying any of this defeatist, "well, we should just be grateful" drivel. Lindsay should never have gone up in the first place, much less been exposed to having aspersions cast upon his character.

Hatters gonna hat.

Really, none of these guys are going to apologize. They get paid to voice there opinions and regardless of how generally shortsighted and crap those opinions may be they are entitled to them. Responsibility of the media is an oxymoron when it comes to football and I'm sure the club feels the same way too.

Move on, we'll just end up being made to look like sooks as the media rally's around itself anyway.

Really, none of these guys are going to apologize.

I'm content to see their credibility attacked further by the club, and the issue put further under the microscope.

Learn some political tactics.

When your enemy comes at you with a weapon and drops it, you don't pick it up, dust it off and hand it back to them. You point that weapon at them and chase them all the way in to the abyss.

I have learnt that a vast number of Sydney fans have NFI. They were the only ones who couldn't see the difference between the LT & Goodes incidents.

I don't want their insincere apology.

I want them sued for defamation - subject to any of their hysterical rantings crossing the line. This is an issue for LT and his manager to investigate, with counsel from Eugene and JB. Could be a nice little earner for LT post-season.

I want someone with a credible voice in the media (e.g. one of the journos who writes articles for OUR website at NMFC) to highlight these flogs and speculate on a few possible reasons for them getting it so wrong.

- One poll of mugs like me was running 72%/28% that LT would get off.
- Jon Ralph interviewed Gary Rohan's Dad on Monday morning and didn't even think to ask if LT should be reported let alone suspended.
- KB said a guilty verdict might have ruined the game as we know it.

What are the possible reasons for these other string him up ''experts'' (like Roos, Healy and Yobbo) being so far off the mark?

Blinded by a pro-Swans bias, blinded by an anti-North bias, ignorance of the rules, lack of empathy with the MODERN game, pandering to the AFL, just a poor judge on most things.

Any other reasons?

Whatever the reason(s), the ongoing employment of some people should be seriously questioned.

Past #12: Lindsay Thomas - released by NM to pursue rookie list spot at PA - thx4 everything Lindsay