Past #12: Lindsay Thomas - released by NM to pursue rookie list spot at PA - thx4 everything Lindsay

He gets a game purely on the basis that he's in our dozen best players.

Who is he keeping out of the side?

You had better sober up and have an honest look at our list.
While he continues to miss them from 20m out almost directly in front his spot in the team will always be in doubt. Its not like this is something new. Its been going on for years. Its basic sh_t that should have been remedied by now.

Mate, he could kick 0 goals, 257 behinds and he'd STILL be in our best 22.

A North supporter arguing to drop Lindsay over average goalkicking is a bit like a pauper bitching about a million dollar gift because it is made up of 5 buck notes.

As a few others have alluded to... Thomas is easily in our best players most weeks. It's up to him to improve the goal kicking 20% or it's up to someone else to show they can even come close to the amount of dangerous possessions he gets. Other than Petrie he is our forward line more often than not.

As I was walking back to the car tonight, I was staggered at the number of comments I heard directed at this bloke in a negative sense. Some were blaming him for the loss, others were just criticising his ability.

I was shocked, as I thought he played quite well.

In the car (brother was driving) I started to read Big Footy and even more negative feedback was being directed at the bloke.

Now that I'm home, I thought I'd check the stats to see if maybe I was being too easy on him. But no, apparently he did ok:

17 kicks, 1 handball, 7 marks (2nd best Roo), 6 tackles (equal best Roo), 1 free for, 1 free against and 2 goals 2 behinds. Dream Team points were 110, which was the highest for us and third highest for the game.

This bloke puts in every week and, while he has his flaws (goal kicking and going to ground too easily come to mind), he is a vital part of our lineup.

He also bleeds blue and white. When he kicked his first tonight, he ran past the members, stared into the crowd and kissed the logo on his jumper. It was as if he was saying, "I love this club, don't give up on me yet".

I was very close to putting him in my votes tonight and may have been swayed by the seed of doubt planted by others, but I'm glad I have seen the numbers to prove myself right.

Give the guy a break. We need him in our side and he needs us to stick by him.
Yeah, I know, but he plays for frees and waves his arms around too much. Get rid of.

18 possessions
17 kicks
1 handball
39 % effective
7 marks
10 contested
6 tackles
6 clangers
6 inside 50s
19 pressure acts
2 goals
2 behinds
7 score involvements

So you've chosen to highlight the negatives. You could have highlighted the 6 tackles (equal highest) or the 19 pressure acts (wtf? Is that a Chris Judd tribute stat?), or the two goals but no, you've picked the numbers that back up your relentless Lindsay hate.

The really irritating thing about statistics is that you don't get to just pick the ones that support your argument and ignore the rest of them. Unless you're Tony Abbott or Caroline Wilson. Or just another hater trying to flog a point to death.

Are you going to do the same thing for everyone else? Pretty hard to find a game that was 100% upside last night, and Lindsay was no exception. But he was absolutely a strong contributor last night.

So you've chosen to highlight the negatives. You could have highlighted the 6 tackles (equal highest) or the 19 pressure acts (wtf? Is that a Chris Judd tribute stat?), or the two goals but no, you've picked the numbers that back up your relentless Lindsay hate.

The really irritating thing about statistics is that you don't get to just pick the ones that support your argument and ignore the rest of them. Unless you're Tony Abbott or Caroline Wilson. Or just another hater trying to flog a point to death.

Are you going to do the same thing for everyone else? Pretty hard to find a game that was 100% upside last night, and Lindsay was no exception. But he was absolutely a strong contributor last night.

I thought LT was in our best three.
With virtually no support, he won some crucial 1-on-1s and created opportunities out of almost nothing.

18 possessions
17 kicks
1 handball
39 % effective
7 marks
10 contested
6 tackles
6 clangers
6 inside 50s
19 pressure acts
2 goals
2 behinds (1 snap, 1 set shot and one out on full)
7 score involvements

Fixed. Positives in green, negatives in red, rest in yellow.

Haven't had my eyes tested for a while, but I see a lot more green than red.

Hate to point out the obvious but having 18 possessions is not really a positive if only 39% of them are actually effective.

You are right, but I suppose I am a optimist. The point is stats can support your argument either way if you highlight the numbers that work in your favour.

Forget stats, watch the game and I challenge anyone to suggest we'd have been better off without him out there.

Woopdie ****in doo

Dustin Fletcher scored 51 dt yet scored 93 in sc.

SC is more an accurate tale of possessions worth. Dreamteam system = pffft... BS accountability.

So you've chosen to highlight the negatives.

Thought his game was pretty good as was 2 of his last 3 last year when he was played a little higher up the ground.

Highlighting the negatives shows that he is not far off from being a gun.

LT is like the anti-Rioli the only thing people seem to remember is the 4 things he stuffed up.

Rd 22 and 24 last year he got about 20 touches about 10 inside 50s in both and kicked 2.3 and 2.2 in those games.

Clearly he is doing far more than people give him credit for. Not sure what actually counts as a pressure act but he is obviously not standing around.

LT- the leap year specialist!

• • • • •

NAB Cup Round 1 Rich & Haw 1 . 1
NAB Cup Round 2 Sydney 2 . 1
NAB Cup Round 3 Footscray 0 . 3
NAB Cup Round 4 Carlton 2 . 1

Pre-season total 5 . 6

• • • • •

Round 1 Essendon 2 . 2
Round 2 GWS ? . ?
Round 3 Geelong ? . ?

Season total after 0 rounds: 0 . 0

• • • • •

NMFC BF predictions

marklovesbeer 35 . 17
The Chiefton 104
spurs 40
True North 28 . 32
jilind78 42 . 41
DarkPhoenix 27 . 27
Chadwiko 12 . 21
TennisPlayerAndy 26 . 29
B Tron 34 . 32
Old Skool 47 . 26
Twinkletoes 44 . 25
naturally north 40
boomerforbrownlow 42 . 31
TheKanga 39 . 19
Yianni 38 . 39
Artichoke 7
roobear 45 . 35
A Swallow 34 . 23
Dan 27 . 20
Kcrack 35. 20
kangarime 2 . 6
deano28 33 . 29
stoja 32 . 27
ShinbonerBaz 37 . 22
DarwinRoo 30 . 25
Ohhh Errol 25 . 21
BowWow1978 31 . 29
Steveodore 45 . 29
dan j 50 . 23
Woodson 32 . 20
Josh Barnstable 31 .19
brucespringsteen 18
Walshie 33. *34
Bigeasy 34 . 29
Private Hudson 31 . 15
Zondor 69
boat1328 . 13
BlueandWhiteElf 24 . 29
roodav 27 . 33
EnglishKangaFan 33 . 43
ArchKing Carey 46 . 23
dibikins 28 . 39
jacko57 27 . 16
Kimbo 33 . 33 * * * * **

39% efficiency not really acceptible,and the shot he missed 1/2 way thru 2nd qtr would have given us a 3 goal break,a chance to slow the tempo a bit,and essendon plenty to think about,instead he shanks it,deflates the whole team,and off go essendon to kick the next 3 and go into 1/2 time full of momentum,accountability not unexpected

Hate to point out the obvious but having 18 possessions is not really a positive if only 39% of them are actually effective.

Funny thing with stats... they don't measure 1%ers. Did you notice how Daisy Thomas 'look at me' Heppel shirked the contest when LT went for it? No possessions in that contest but it was worth mentioning. Also how often do you see players put their teammates under the pump and they have little chance to make good of their chance?

I can write a book on how 'stats' are all about shaping a story for better / for worse. Seen heaps of lower numbers hurt opposition 'when it counts' as opposed to the uncontested, harmless touches a DT ball magnet can look great on your team but reality, he does sweet FA with much of his touches.

I've seen a 22% stat count for more than a 65% stat... it's all relative to the situation/ timing. For those you know your footy, you should also know that players ain't robots and the uncanny skills are never a given on any situation.
We know LT has the yips... and so do many other 'Bigger Profile' superstars during their career. It's like saying that Buddy Franklin is the best footballer but he isn't reliable from straight on.... he and LT make up for it in other ways. I recall Boomer missing one (snap) he normally gets.

A few people have suggested playing him HBF but the main problem with that is opposition coaches will make him accountable by playing through his man as well as drawing him back deep into defence.

When I suggested last night playing him on the wing I realise that is no longer a real position but what I meant was I would play him HHF but let him roam up the wing. His kicking into the forward 50 is generally pretty good and his defensive forward pressure is excellent.

39% efficiency not really acceptible,and the shot he missed 1/2 way thru 2nd qtr would have given us a 3 goal break,a chance to slow the tempo a bit,and essendon plenty to think about,instead he shanks it,deflates the whole team,and off go essendon to kick the next 3 and go into 1/2 time full of momentum,accountability not unexpected

What about Wells' 2 set shots that he should of nailed?

One person attacks Thomas and all the sheep jump on board because they don't understand the game and want someone to blame.

What about Wells' 2 set shots that he should of nailed?

One person attacks Thomas and all the sheep jump on board because they don't understand the game and want someone to blame.

:thumbsu: Nice point of Wellsy. But I keep telling everyone, the better players will butter up for their mistakes sooner than later and wasn't Wellsy's goal a treat!!! :thumbsu:

I prefer to call 'em Monkees. Swinging from chandeliers with no balance in their discussion.

You are right, but I suppose I am a optimist. The point is stats can support your argument either way if you highlight the numbers that work in your favour.

Forget stats, watch the game and I challenge anyone to suggest we'd have been better off without him out there.
TBH I thought he was ok. Im just frustrated he cant sort out his kicking.

Past #12: Lindsay Thomas - released by NM to pursue rookie list spot at PA - thx4 everything Lindsay