Player Watch #13 Clayton Oliver – UNPRECEDENTED 4x B&F, 3x AA, 2x AFLCA Winner and Premiership Player (formerly)

OK, I've removed about three pages of posts.

Please do not use this thread to speculate about Oliver's private life – medical or otherwise.

Regardless of the veracity of your rumour, or what you know/have heard, if it's not public knowledge, just don't post it.

I don't want to turn this place into Demonland, but if you can't see the potential harm that this sort of rumour-spreading can cause (regardless of your intentions), then perhaps it's best if you take a bit of a break.

Thanks.

G'day champ, took ya off ignore to fill you in on a couple of things here:

1. This isn't for inside 50s. It's for overall kick rating. Ironically enough a stat based on 'expected accuracy'.

2. Kick rating is based on averages, so playing a whole season wouldn't have made any difference to the ranking.

You're welcome old mate.

PS - No comment on Gawn? Just Oliver? Righto.
Why You have me on ignore? Because I kept calling you out for making up lies on here?? How's that "Adam Tomlinson won't play another game for the season again" comment after the Collingwood game he was dropped after?

I have zero expectations on Ruckman who are very well renown for being poor kick.

What I do have is high expectation on elite midfielders such as Viney and Oliver who have shown to burst out of stoppage in open space only to then bomb away to no man's land or on the top of our forwards heads.

Oliver this year alone for kicking efficiency was 52.2% which is rated 'below average'. There's no sugar coating it, it's very poor for an elite midfielder.

why would you include it? Playing 2 top 4 teams isnt exactly equal to beating north melbourne or west coast is it.

lol fancy losing to the premiers by 7 points and the blues by 2 points coz our forwards kicked 378 behinds and pinning it on Oliver who was in our best.

Funny you bring that up. We beat both GF teams without Oliver and lost to them with him in.

Posted about it numerous times throughout the season, I'm not preparing dinner until 6:30 so here you go:

All stats are based off differentials.

WITH Oliver:

R1: -7 clearances
R2: -28! clearances
R3: equal clearances
R4: +10 clearance
R5: +10 clearance
R6: +6 clearance
R7: +3 clearance
R8: -6 clearance
R9: -3 clearance
R10: -9 clearance
R22: +2 clearance
R23: -9 clearance
R24: +3 clearance
QF: +4 clearance
EF: +3 clearance

-21 clearances over 15 games, won the count 7 times, lost it 7 times and drew it once

WITHOUT Oliver:

R11: -2 clearance
R12: +9 clearance
R13: +4 clearance
R15: +12 clearance
R16: +19 clearance
R17: equal clearances
R18: +13 clearances
R19: +7 clearances
R20: +9 clearances
R21: equal clearances

+71 over 10 games, won the count 7 times, lost it once and drew it twice

Beauty, thanks for doing that. Love me some stats.

Let's call out though, Gawn went down at the start of round 2 so I reckon that might account for the massive difference there.

Also worth mentioning we lost in round 15 to a Geelong team whose game plan is about post-clearance and rebound football, and in round 16 to GWS mostly due to them setting up a game plan based on rebounding also.

We also seemed to be a bit all over the place with our game plan in terms of how much we valued clearances week to week.

Bit more to it when you go into the context I reckon.

Given Clarry was our number 1 clearance player for the year, I find it strange we're now blaming him for losing clearances tbh.

Win differential in 2023 with no Oliver -10%
Win differential in 2023 with no Fritsch -%22

Honestly, it's getting stupid. Critique Clarry's decision making, but pulling out blame on one player for wins and losses is the dumbest shit imaginable.

I'm responding to danster purposely omitting stats to prove his point, I don't actually think Oliver is the only issue.

That's fair enough then, can see what you mean.

Just reckon a lot of posters in this thread have gone into 'protecting their feelings' mode. They reckon Clarry is done, so now he's apparently a dud who we're better off without. It's embarrassing.

why would you include it? Playing 2 top 4 teams isnt exactly equal to beating north melbourne or west coast is it.

lol fancy losing to the premiers by 7 points and the blues by 2 points coz our forwards kicked 378 behinds and pinning it on Oliver who was in our best.
So you're now picking and choosing when to suit your narrative now?

Yep, you really are a plonker.

The right decision by the club. He needs to sort himself out before he worries about playing again. Good to see we arent desperate, putting the person and the integrity of the club above everything else.

Gawn didn't apparently... He said last week he was expecting Oliver back in training pretty soon.
I thought he said later this month.

Extended leave sounds like it will be much longer than that. When Gawn said "hopefully we get the best version of Clarry" it didnt exactly inspire confidence.

Player Watch #13 Clayton Oliver – UNPRECEDENTED 4x B&F, 3x AA, 2x AFLCA Winner and Premiership Player (formerly)