Player Watch #13 Clayton Oliver – UNPRECEDENTED 4x B&F, 3x AA, 2x AFLCA Winner and Premiership Player (formerly)

OK, I've removed about three pages of posts.

Please do not use this thread to speculate about Oliver's private life – medical or otherwise.

Regardless of the veracity of your rumour, or what you know/have heard, if it's not public knowledge, just don't post it.

I don't want to turn this place into Demonland, but if you can't see the potential harm that this sort of rumour-spreading can cause (regardless of your intentions), then perhaps it's best if you take a bit of a break.

Thanks.

Hardly bad though. He's never been a ripped bloke. But he's there over a week early which is great signs. Onya Clarry

Also, its really hard to look "ripped" without a tan. Bodybuilders can attest to that.

He's off the gear too. Plus most likely on some form of medication. He doesn't look anywhere near as bad as last year. Full preseason unlike last year. Reckon he'll be fine. Great to see him return early. Great signs.

Well hopefully he has the season of his life next year. Still not entirely convinced. Maybe I am a bit of a harsh taskmaster that way.

Mate, it's AFL. Everyone gets a dozen chances. Get behind the red headed campaigner. Gets anywhere near his best at the very least his trade stocks go up.
I'm behind the club... I'll give the new board a chance to prove they are football minded, more then board and Mcc minded.

And I'll trust the likes of Langers, who only really had one OFF year.

Gawn, Tracca, Viney, tMc, May, are the ones I'll put my trust into... and the rest have something to prove. Oli keeping the tail grouped up.

How anyone thinks he's come back in an acceptable shape is beyond me and shows the mentality of supporters still. The guy is a full time athlete getting paid over a mil a year and yet he looks like a ressie country footballer that's just hopped out of a local having smashed a parma and a few pots for lunch.

Watch Patrick Cripps, Bontempelli, Petracca Daicos and the likes come back in ripping nick because they're dedicated to their jobs and get paid to work hard over the off season. Not spend countless days at the races and uploading slabs of alcohol and then boasting about it on social media.

Look at Taj Woewodin, who's come back from 8 weeks off and looks absolutely ripped.

One is dedicated, the other just takes the piss.

Hopefully he doesn’t cook up 2025 so we can get something decent when we flog him off to Geelong. Would take there 2026/27 first rounders regardless how shit they are.

Well aware there 27 first rounder will probably be pick 35 with Tassie coming in.

I think he mentioned in that recent podcast he was cooked due to lack of fitness. Also played injured throughout the year. Really should have been put through a mini preseason with petty instead of being rushed back in. If he does a full pre season and still has a lack of effort then it will get messy with his contract situation.

How anyone thinks he's come back in an acceptable shape is beyond me and shows the mentality of supporters still. The guy is a full time athlete getting paid over a mil a year and yet he looks like a ressie country footballer that's just hopped out of a local having smashed a parma and a few pots for lunch.

Watch Patrick Cripps, Bontempelli, Petracca Daicos and the likes come back in ripping nick because they're dedicated to their jobs and get paid to work hard over the off season. Not spend countless days at the races and uploading slabs of alcohol and then boasting about it on social media.

Look at Taj Woewodin, who's come back from 8 weeks off and looks absolutely ripped.

One is dedicated, the other just takes the piss.
What mentality are you referring to? I don't think anyone has said he's come back in great shape at all. If they have i haven't seen it.

I think he mentioned in that recent podcast he was cooked due to lack of fitness. Also played injured throughout the year. Really should have been put through a mini preseason with petty instead of being rushed back in. If he does a full pre season and still has a lack of effort then it will get messy with his contract situation.
Could quite possibly be the gear he was on helped him with the weight. Guessing of course. Same with any new (rumoured) medication he's on. If he's on what he's rumoured to be on, it's hard to not be bloated. At the end of the day it's the clubs f*d up decision to hand this guy a mil a year contract. By all reports he's been training his a$$ off. He looks nowhere near as bad as some are making him out to be. He's always gonna be a little large. Same with Sean Darcy. Clubs throwing money around at these blokes run the risk of them getting too comfortable i guess. Injury, partying, lack of commitment once they have that paycheck. Supposedly we knew about Clayton's issues and Lamb still signed him with that contract. If he puts in a season like last, then he's gone at seasons end for a packet of chips and we move on. I for one am hoping he can turn it around. Good to see him back early.

Player Watch #13 Clayton Oliver – UNPRECEDENTED 4x B&F, 3x AA, 2x AFLCA Winner and Premiership Player (formerly)